+ Reply to Thread
    Forum Newbie
    Using
    AutoCAD 2008

Default Help with complex dwg?!

Registered forum members do not see this ad.

OK, this is my first post and here is my problem...I'm new to a construction based company & I have had no real introduction to the way they setup dwg's or their standards. I have been given a dwg done by one of teh other employee's & told to "clean it up". It has hundreds of layers & Xref's and about 10 layout's setup. So far my experience has been small building businesses and this new employer is doing some very large construction jobs. I have very little Xref'ing experience& this dwg has many!

All the layout views actually seem to look OK but my boss wants all the text cleaned up and some walls moved.
    My question is:
    Does anyone have suggestions on how to approach this?
    When I go into Modelspace all layers are visable and its a nightmare, I haven't had any experience with associating layers to viewports. All the work I've done so far is individual dwg's for each layout page, maybe a few dwg's in teh past I've had layers that I've turned on or off depending on which layout I wish to print BUT this job is insane...if I knew how to group layers and switch them on & off I would be able to edit the walls in modelspace.
    Its something I should know but have never learnt..I have edited the various layouts in paperspace so far for the text but I need to make sense of this soon!
    sorry for the long post

Computer Details
    chulse's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7
    Monitor:
    17" wide screen laptop w/ 22" acer
    Discipline
    See details...
    chulse's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    Senior Urban Forester
    Discipline
    See details below.
    Details
    Tree Preservation Planning for civil design and developent
    Using
    Civil 3D 2016

Several ways to approach things like this.