+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 4 of 4
  1. #1
    Forum Newbie
    Using
    AutoCAD 2008
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Posts
    3

    Default Dimensions disappear in Paperspace/Layout

    I finally figured out how to scale my viewport so that I can fit the entire drawing inside. I had a problem with the dimension text appearing really small in my paperspace and model, so I changed the scale to annotative. However, when I do this, the dim text size in model space changes correctly, but when I go to my layout, the dimensions are not there? What am I doing wrong? Also, I'm in first semester AutoCAD class so I think we have to place our dimensions in model space. I'm printing out all my drawings for my portfolio to hand in, so if I don't have time to figure this out, I'll just fake it and put them in via layout tab. But, I'd still like to know what's going on. Thanks.

  2. #2
    Banned Alan Cullen's Avatar
    Using
    Map 3D 2009
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Cairns, Queensland, Australia
    Posts
    4,181

    Default

    Once you have figured out what your plot scale will be, then set the variable DIMSCALE to a value to suit the plot scale. Then all your dimensions will be the correct size for the final plot.

    I don't know how imperial scales work, we use metric scales.

    PLOT SCALE DIMSCALE
    1:1000.............1.0
    1:500..............0.5
    1:250..............0.25
    1:100..............0.1
    1:50...............0.05

  3. #3
    Super Member
    Using
    AutoCAD not applicable
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Posts
    639

    Default

    Just an extra note,
    Make sure your Textstyle specified for your dimstyle does not have
    a default text height specified or it will override the dimscale appearance of the text in dimensions.
    If at first you don't succeed, then maybe failure is more your style.

  4. #4
    Forum Newbie
    Using
    AutoCAD 2008
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Posts
    3

    Default

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    Thanks, I knew it was something simple, just couldn't figure it out.

Similar Threads

  1. setting up layout/paperspace
    By cwlsail in forum AutoCAD Beginners' Area
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 11th May 2008, 10:50 pm
  2. The dimensions in modelspace or paperspace debate
    By andrews007 in forum AutoCAD Beginners' Area
    Replies: 14
    Last Post: 12th Nov 2007, 01:10 pm
  3. Need paperspace/Layout help
    By rbr451 in forum AutoCAD Beginners' Area
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 1st May 2007, 06:30 pm
  4. Dims disappear after closing -- layout gen'd from solid
    By THEBurg in forum AutoCAD 3D Modelling & Rendering
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 12th Oct 2005, 10:27 pm
  5. plotting from layout/ paperspace in 2000
    By Marx Dude in forum AutoCAD Drawing Management & Output
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 23rd Nov 2004, 03:05 am

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts