+ Reply to Thread
Page 4 of 5 FirstFirst ... 2 3 4 5 LastLast
Results 31 to 40 of 45
  1. #31
    Super Member
    Using
    Architecture 2009
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    London, (sunny UK)
    Posts
    686

    Default

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    Quote Originally Posted by Bloodwig80 View Post
    I can say that a person that uses shortcuts/keyboard is faster than ANY toolbar-only user.
    Having worked with 100s of CAD users, and now managing 40ish, I can tell you that again, that is untrue.
    There are guys that are quick with just command line, and there are guys that are slow with command line. There are guys that are quick with just toolbars, and guys that are slow with just toolbars.
    Last edited by CADTutor; 17th May 2008 at 10:10 am. Reason: Final statement removed

  2. #32
    Senior Member CADguy209's Avatar
    Using
    AutoCAD 2006
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    Stockton, CA
    Posts
    109

    Default

    When I learned AutoCAD there were no tool bars, and it was on dos. If you wanted short cuts you had to make your own modified pgp file and load it on the machine. When toolbars came I tried them but didnt realy care for them.

    Back when I used to tutor people learning cad if one of their tool bars or buttons was missing it was like they were dead in the water, as they got used to just clicking a button. The good thing about using the keyboard I feel is that it really forces you to pay attention to the command line and thus how the commands them self function and what they ask you for. I would always tell the students that you should try and learn the commands as much as possible on the command line/keybord first and then migrate to toolbars as you need them.

    For me personally I dont get the guys who have their screens full of toolbars. For one thing I can never remember what each little buttons image is and what command it represents. Also depending on how big your monitor is and how bad your eyes are it can be a little difficult looking at all those buttons. Secondly when your screen is cluttered with so many toolbars you have much less screen available and seemingly have to keep zooming and paning all the time. Not my cup of tea.

  3. #33
    Super Moderator Cad64's Avatar
    Computer Details
    Cad64's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Profesional x64
    Computer:
    XI Computers
    Motherboard:
    Asus P8Z77-V Pro
    CPU:
    Intel Core I7 3770K 4.1 Ghz Quad Core 3rd Gen
    RAM:
    24GB DDR3 @ 1333MHz
    Graphics:
    Nvidia GeForce GTX 570 1280MB GDDR5
    Primary Storage:
    SATAII 500GB 7200 RPM
    Secondary Storage:
    Western Digital My Book Studio Edition II - 2TB capacity
    Monitor:
    HPf2105 21" LCD Widescreen & Cintiq 21ux
    Discipline
    Multi-disciplinary
    Cad64's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    Landscape Architect
    Discipline
    Multi-disciplinary
    Using
    3ds Max 2011
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    Southern California
    Posts
    9,070

    Default

    Thread cleaned up, unnecessary posts removed.
    Personal Website: ( Updated 03/21/2014 ) ---> http://www.rdeweese.com/

    "Work Smart, Not Hard"

  4. #34
    Super Moderator SLW210's Avatar
    Computer Details
    SLW210's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 PRO
    Computer:
    IBM Lenovo
    Motherboard:
    ACPI x86
    CPU:
    Pentium(R) Dual-Core CPU E5500 @ 2.80GHz
    RAM:
    4 GB RAM
    Graphics:
    Nvidia Quadro 600 1GB
    Primary Storage:
    300 GB
    Secondary Storage:
    650GB
    Monitor:
    ThinkVision 24"
    Discipline
    Multi-disciplinary
    SLW210's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    Design Draftsman
    Discipline
    Multi-disciplinary
    Details
    Mostly do drafting related to manufacturing. From doing site layouts with proposed updates, additions and renovations to be budgeted and submitted for bid, to updating and changing existing drawings to reflect maintenance and repair/revision work done on site.
    Using
    AutoCAD 2011
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    South Florida, USA
    Posts
    10,193

    Default

    I use Ctrl+Z. Just takes one hand and about one second.
    “A narrow mind and a fat head invariably come on the same person” Zig Zigler



  5. #35
    Super Member
    Using
    Architecture 2009
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    London, (sunny UK)
    Posts
    686

    Default

    To undo, right? not deselect or cancel?

  6. #36
    Super Moderator SLW210's Avatar
    Computer Details
    SLW210's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 PRO
    Computer:
    IBM Lenovo
    Motherboard:
    ACPI x86
    CPU:
    Pentium(R) Dual-Core CPU E5500 @ 2.80GHz
    RAM:
    4 GB RAM
    Graphics:
    Nvidia Quadro 600 1GB
    Primary Storage:
    300 GB
    Secondary Storage:
    650GB
    Monitor:
    ThinkVision 24"
    Discipline
    Multi-disciplinary
    SLW210's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    Design Draftsman
    Discipline
    Multi-disciplinary
    Details
    Mostly do drafting related to manufacturing. From doing site layouts with proposed updates, additions and renovations to be budgeted and submitted for bid, to updating and changing existing drawings to reflect maintenance and repair/revision work done on site.
    Using
    AutoCAD 2011
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    South Florida, USA
    Posts
    10,193

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by LCE View Post
    To undo, right? not deselect or cancel?
    Correct, it is just easier than reaching up for Esc, since my left hand sits right at Ctrl+Z.
    “A narrow mind and a fat head invariably come on the same person” Zig Zigler



  7. #37
    Senior Member CADguy209's Avatar
    Using
    AutoCAD 2006
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    Stockton, CA
    Posts
    109

    Default

    Another way to "deselect" is to just hold down the select key while in the commands selection mode and then select the parts you want to remove from the selection set.
    Last edited by CADguy209; 17th May 2008 at 12:06 am.

  8. #38
    Super Member
    Using
    Architecture 2009
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    London, (sunny UK)
    Posts
    686

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by SLW210 View Post
    Correct, it is just easier than reaching up for Esc, since my left hand sits right at Ctrl+Z.
    Thought so, and thread title is
    Is there a deselect icon? or Esc icon?

  9. #39
    Administrator CADTutor's Avatar
    Computer Details
    CADTutor's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Home Premium 64bit
    Motherboard:
    Asus P7P55D-E PRO
    CPU:
    Intel Core i7-860
    RAM:
    4GB PC3-12800 C8 Corsair Dominator
    Graphics:
    NVIDIA Quadro FX 1800 768 MB
    Primary Storage:
    Intel X25-M SSD 160GB
    Secondary Storage:
    Samsung Spinpoint 320GB
    Monitor:
    BenQ FP241W 24" Wide
    Discipline
    Education
    CADTutor's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    Senior Lecturer (Digital Design), Landscape Architect & Web Designer
    Discipline
    Education
    Using
    AutoCAD 2015
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Location
    Hampshire, UK
    Posts
    3,691

    Default

    I must say that this thread has been very interesting and that it raises some important issues. As I stated in my earlier post, AutoCAD is an incredibly flexible tool, designed in such a way that it can be used in an amazing variety of ways. Most of us who have used AutoCAD for many years have grown to love this "freedom of expression". Why is it then that some of us are unable to celebrate this diversity of use (after all, that is the spirit of the age) and insist that all AutoCAD users conform to an accepted norm?

    Sure, in a purely commercial world there is only one way - the most efficient, time-saving and cheapest way but as with many aspects of commercial life, this denies the right to personal creativity, experimentation and (ultimately) freedom of expression.

    The "toolbars vs. keyboard" argument is facile and based on a wholly erroneous precept. My view is that AutoCAD users should be given the freedom to use whatever method they wish. Ultimately, they will naturally find their most efficient preferred method because that is human nature.
    Tip: Please do not PM or email me with CAD questions - use the forums, you'll get an answer sooner.
    AutoCAD Tutorials | How to add images to your posts | How to register successfully | Forum FAQ

  10. #40
    Super Member
    Using
    Architecture 2009
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    London, (sunny UK)
    Posts
    686

    Default

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    Quote Originally Posted by CADTutor View Post
    I must say that this thread has been very interesting and that it raises some important issues. As I stated in my earlier post, AutoCAD is an incredibly flexible tool, designed in such a way that it can be used in an amazing variety of ways. Most of us who have used AutoCAD for many years have grown to love this "freedom of expression". Why is it then that some of us are unable to celebrate this diversity of use (after all, that is the spirit of the age) and insist that all AutoCAD users conform to an accepted norm?

    Sure, in a purely commercial world there is only one way - the most efficient, time-saving and cheapest way but as with many aspects of commercial life, this denies the right to personal creativity, experimentation and (ultimately) freedom of expression.

    The "toolbars vs. keyboard" argument is facile and based on a wholly erroneous precept. My view is that AutoCAD users should be given the freedom to use whatever method they wish. Ultimately, they will naturally find their most efficient preferred method because that is human nature.
    Very, very, very well said. Thank you David.

Similar Threads

  1. Ucs Icon
    By iain9876 in forum AutoCAD Drawing Management & Output
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 20th Oct 2007, 02:10 am
  2. Icon text
    By Valerie in forum AutoCAD Beginners' Area
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 14th Oct 2006, 06:29 am
  3. Replies: 0
    Last Post: 12th Sep 2006, 08:57 pm
  4. ucs icon is...
    By carcachaca in forum AutoCAD General
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 12th Apr 2006, 01:02 am
  5. UCS ICON
    By sye in forum AutoCAD 3D Modelling & Rendering
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 15th Mar 2006, 05:44 pm

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts