+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 5 of 5
  1. #1
    Senior Member
    Using
    AutoCAD 2008
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    130

    Default Stop it asking for shx files!!!!!

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    Hi,

    Is there any way to stop a drawing always asking for a certain shx file on load?

    This drawing asks about 5 times for the same shx file when loading up. Yeah i know the file is missing as this is a drawing sent over from an architect, but can i stop the prompt or will i just have to lump it?
    Cheers,

    PaulRenegade @ hardwiredstudios..
    XP Pro / AutoCAD 2007 : Pentium Core 2 Q6600 Quad Core : ASUS P5N-E SLI Motherboard : 4GB DDR2 RAM : 2 x SLI NVIDIA 8500GT SLi 1024MB DDR2 PCI-Express Graphics Cards

  2. #2
    Quantum Mechanic ReMark's Avatar
    Computer Details
    ReMark's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Pro 64-bit
    Computer:
    Thinkmate
    Motherboard:
    Intel DX58SO2 LGA1366 X58
    CPU:
    Intel i7-960 Quad-core 3.20GHz 8MB cache
    RAM:
    12GB (3x4GB) PC3-106000 DDR3
    Graphics:
    nVidia Quadro 4000, 2GB GDDR5
    Primary Storage:
    150GB Velocipraptor 10,000 rpm
    Secondary Storage:
    none
    Monitor:
    Dell P24LLH - 24" wide screen LCD
    Discipline
    See details...
    ReMark's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    CAD Draftsman/Designer...chemical manufacturing.
    Discipline
    See details below.
    Details
    I work for a specialty chemical manufacturer. I do a little bit of everything from P&IDs to civil to architectural and structural.
    Using
    AutoCAD 2014
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Norwalk, CT USofA
    Posts
    38,295

    Default

    You could request that the architect email you a copy of the font file.
    "I have only come here seeking knowledge. Things they wouldn't teach me of in college." The Police

    Eat brains...gain more knowledge! N-E-S-T-L-E-'S, Nestle's makes the very best......chocolate.

  3. #3
    Banned Alan Cullen's Avatar
    Using
    Map 3D 2009
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Cairns, Queensland, Australia
    Posts
    4,181

    Default

    The .shx file could also be a shape file for custom linetypes.

  4. #4
    Quantum Mechanic ReMark's Avatar
    Computer Details
    ReMark's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Pro 64-bit
    Computer:
    Thinkmate
    Motherboard:
    Intel DX58SO2 LGA1366 X58
    CPU:
    Intel i7-960 Quad-core 3.20GHz 8MB cache
    RAM:
    12GB (3x4GB) PC3-106000 DDR3
    Graphics:
    nVidia Quadro 4000, 2GB GDDR5
    Primary Storage:
    150GB Velocipraptor 10,000 rpm
    Secondary Storage:
    none
    Monitor:
    Dell P24LLH - 24" wide screen LCD
    Discipline
    See details...
    ReMark's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    CAD Draftsman/Designer...chemical manufacturing.
    Discipline
    See details below.
    Details
    I work for a specialty chemical manufacturer. I do a little bit of everything from P&IDs to civil to architectural and structural.
    Using
    AutoCAD 2014
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Norwalk, CT USofA
    Posts
    38,295

    Default

    Another option. Take a look at this month's Michael's Corner by Michael Beall. Go to the bottom of the page. Note the reference to "Unrecognized Fonts" in the June issue and the posted "tip". It might save you some future headaches.
    "I have only come here seeking knowledge. Things they wouldn't teach me of in college." The Police

    Eat brains...gain more knowledge! N-E-S-T-L-E-'S, Nestle's makes the very best......chocolate.

  5. #5
    Super Moderator rkmcswain's Avatar
    Computer Details
    rkmcswain's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Pro x64
    Motherboard:
    Intel DZ77RE-75K
    CPU:
    i7-3770K 3.50GHz
    RAM:
    32GB
    Graphics:
    Nvidia Quadro 2000
    Primary Storage:
    125GB SSD
    Secondary Storage:
    500GB SATA
    Monitor:
    ASUS 27" / ASUS 24"
    Discipline
    Civil
    Using
    Civil 3D 2014
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Location
    Houston
    Posts
    3,832

    Wink

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    Quote Originally Posted by hardwired View Post
    Hi,

    Is there any way to stop a drawing always asking for a certain shx file on load?
    Sure, supply the correct shape file(s) or purge the shape file reference(s) from the drawing.

    More details here:
    http://cadpanacea.com/node/27
    Last edited by rkmcswain; 15th Dec 2008 at 12:45 am. Reason: update URL

Similar Threads

  1. Stop trimming to apparent intrsections?
    By TLRstacker in forum AutoCAD 2D Drafting, Object Properties & Interface
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 7th Apr 2008, 01:38 pm
  2. Hour Glass won't stop
    By dell in forum AutoCAD Drawing Management & Output
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 1st Jan 2008, 06:39 pm
  3. AUtoCAD typed commands stop functioning
    By Unick in forum AutoCAD Drawing Management & Output
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 12th Nov 2007, 01:30 pm
  4. stop LT06 from creating new dwg on startup
    By tamurlane6 in forum Autodesk Software General
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 13th Jun 2007, 06:34 pm
  5. can not stop txt from changing
    By BTStark in forum AutoCAD Beginners' Area
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 13th Sep 2006, 04:13 pm

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts