+ Reply to Thread
Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 1 2
Results 11 to 18 of 18
  1. #11
    Super Member GE13579's Avatar
    Computer Details
    GE13579's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows XP
    Computer:
    Fujitso Siemens
    RAM:
    3.4Ghz
    Monitor:
    Samsung 19" TFT
    Using
    Mechanical 2009
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    North East England
    Posts
    1,454

    Default

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    Hmm I can't get the UCS to follow my view with it set at 1 or 0 or even using plan, and I tried with Vanilla as well, maybe I'll step out of this one...
    "To alcohol; the cause and solution to all of life's problems." - Homer Simpson

  2. #12
    Senior Member CADguy209's Avatar
    Using
    AutoCAD 2013
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    Stockton, CA
    Posts
    110

    Default

    Im still not sure what exaclty the TC is trying to accomplish.....

  3. #13
    Forum Newbie
    Using
    AutoCAD 2009
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Posts
    4

    Default

    well, the thing is, is I'm using the viewcube to navigate. and I can't draw on anything but the XY plane. I'll try that UCSFOLLOW thing. see if it works.

    I havent tried doing the traditional view>3d views>front left back etc in 2009 yet. I would doubt that it still works. I'm just talking about navigation with the viewcube.

  4. #14
    Senior Member CADguy209's Avatar
    Using
    AutoCAD 2013
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    Stockton, CA
    Posts
    110

    Default

    If youre working in 3D, and I assume making a model, and you want to draw on the XY plane why dont you try setting up and saving your ucs's in 90 degree intervals relative to your model (front face, right side, top, etc) or using ucs 3 point? If you are creating features on a model your still going to have to draw your base objects on the xy plane anyways, its really not all that different from doing a 2D drawing.

    This way you can keep your Viewpoint stationary and rotate your ucs around the model as needed in order to draw what ever features you need on their respective faces/planes. You can also save your Viewpoint and then restore it if you need to do a 3DO or some other view viewing oreintation.

    Hope that helps.

  5. #15
    Forum Newbie
    Using
    AutoCAD 2009
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Posts
    4

    Default

    okay, I tried both UCSFOLLOW to 0 and 1, and when I set it to one It immediately jumps to XY(top). same with "plan". If the viewcube doesn't set the "drawing plane" to the way I'm looking at then what is its point of it?

  6. #16
    Forum Newbie
    Using
    MEP 2010
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Posts
    1

    Default To draw on the current view

    after you have navigated with the view cube you can set the plain by entering the following commands: UCS VIEW

    that will make your current view the surface on which you are drawing and to set the depth or z, enter this command: UCS MOVE
    then select the a point.

  7. #17
    Forum Newbie
    Using
    AutoCAD 2011
    Join Date
    Jun 2015
    Posts
    3

    Default XY YZ XZ planes by pressing Function Key F5

    XY YZ XZ planes by pressing Function Key F5, snap should be ON

    in details : http://www.mechanicalengineers.co/co...tocad-keyboard

  8. #18
    Quantum Mechanic ReMark's Avatar
    Computer Details
    ReMark's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Pro 64-bit
    Computer:
    Thinkmate
    Motherboard:
    Intel DX58SO2 LGA1366 X58
    CPU:
    Intel i7-960 Quad-core 3.20GHz 8MB cache
    RAM:
    12GB (3x4GB) PC3-106000 DDR3
    Graphics:
    nVidia Quadro 4000, 2GB GDDR5
    Primary Storage:
    150GB Velocipraptor 10,000 rpm
    Secondary Storage:
    none
    Monitor:
    Dell P24LLH - 24" wide screen LCD
    Discipline
    See details...
    ReMark's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    CAD Draftsman/Designer...chemical manufacturing.
    Discipline
    See details below.
    Details
    I work for a specialty chemical manufacturer. I do a little bit of everything from P&IDs to civil to architectural and structural.
    Using
    AutoCAD 2015
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Norwalk, CT USofA
    Posts
    42,317

    Default

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    The F5 function key is used to toggle between isoplanes (left, top and right) when doing a 2D isometric drawing. It is of no use in a 3D drawing.
    "I have only come here seeking knowledge. Things they wouldn't teach me of in college." The Police

    Eat brains...gain more knowledge!

    I'm now a full member of the Society for the Promotion of Mediocrity in CAD. Standards? We don't need no stinkin' standards! Take whatever advice I offer and do the opposite.

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 5
    Last Post: 3rd Dec 2007, 02:46 pm
  2. Drawing stairs from the xy-plane
    By Siberian in forum AutoCAD General
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 2nd Jan 2007, 02:43 am
  3. Replies: 3
    Last Post: 13th Jun 2006, 12:44 pm
  4. How do I change the drawing scale?
    By Ste1978 in forum AutoCAD Drawing Management & Output
    Replies: 14
    Last Post: 17th May 2006, 10:08 pm
  5. Can I change the target for New Drawing?
    By Cadastrophic in forum AutoCAD Beginners' Area
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 8th Dec 2003, 08:14 pm

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts