+ Reply to Thread
Page 3 of 4 FirstFirst 1 2 3 4 LastLast
Results 21 to 30 of 31
  1. #21
    Super Moderator SLW210's Avatar
    Computer Details
    SLW210's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 PRO 64-bit
    Computer:
    IBM Lenovo
    Motherboard:
    ACPI x64
    CPU:
    Pentium(R) i5 4570 @ 3.2GHz
    RAM:
    8 GB RAM
    Graphics:
    Nvidia Quadro 600 1GB
    Primary Storage:
    300 GB
    Secondary Storage:
    650GB
    Monitor:
    2x ThinkVision 24"
    Discipline
    Multi-disciplinary
    SLW210's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    Design Draftsman
    Discipline
    Multi-disciplinary
    Details
    Mostly do drafting related to manufacturing. From doing site layouts with proposed updates, additions and renovations to be budgeted and submitted for bid, to updating and changing existing drawings to reflect maintenance and repair/revision work done on site.
    Using
    AutoCAD 2011
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    South Florida, USA
    Posts
    11,720

    Default

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    Can you post a .dwg?
    “A narrow mind and a fat head invariably come on the same person” Zig Zigler



  2. #22
    Super Member PotGuy's Avatar
    Computer Details
    PotGuy's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Premium
    Discipline
    Civil
    PotGuy's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    Temporary Works
    Discipline
    Civil
    Details
    (Trainee) CAD Techie/Draftsman
    Using
    AutoCAD 2012
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Location
    London
    Posts
    728

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by inevelus View Post
    most importantly, i think we can all agree that splines suck.
    Quote Originally Posted by SEANT View Post
    That does seem to be the prevailing opinion, though I’m not sure why.
    Splines are too unpredictable to my liking. They never go where you're Pline was placed (Point for point) where as Fillet does a good job in both rounding off and not screwing you over!

    Angry rant over.
    This space changes a lot. Normally dependant on mood.
    Smilies are abundant in my posts.
    There's no crying in CAD but there sure is a lot of whining not to mention gnashing of teeth, pulling of hair and cursing - ReMark
    There is no crying in CAD. Only mouse slamming and keyboard smashing - RobDraw

  3. #23
    Forum Deity SEANT's Avatar
    Using
    AutoCAD 2014
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    Rhode Island
    Posts
    2,447

    Default

    I’m reading between the lines of your post; Pardon me if I’ve misinterpreted.

    If the unmodified data is in the form of a straight segment Polyline then a PEDIT – SPLINE does morph as you said. The curve no longer passes through the original vertices. It sounds like you prefer PEDIT – FIT, as it maintains a connection to the original vertex information. The path, however, can meander quite drastically from one vertex to the next.

    There are better interpolation schemes for vertex data. Splines utilize that scheme, but a CAD operator has to use the SPLINE command; specifically the FitPoint variant. Now the resultant curve will pass through the vertex. The scheme is further refined by the various Knot Parameterization options.

    See the attached example.

    The SPLINE command requires more work, but the enhanced interpolation may be worth the effort.
    Attached Files

  4. #24
    Luminous Being JD Mather's Avatar
    Using
    Inventor 2015
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Location
    Williamsport, PA
    Posts
    8,719

    Default

    Splines are used where splines are needed.
    Polylines are used where polylines are needed.
    Certified SolidWorks Professional
    Autodesk Inventor 2015 Certified Professional
    Autodesk AutoCAD 2013 Certified Professional

  5. #25
    Super Moderator SLW210's Avatar
    Computer Details
    SLW210's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 PRO 64-bit
    Computer:
    IBM Lenovo
    Motherboard:
    ACPI x64
    CPU:
    Pentium(R) i5 4570 @ 3.2GHz
    RAM:
    8 GB RAM
    Graphics:
    Nvidia Quadro 600 1GB
    Primary Storage:
    300 GB
    Secondary Storage:
    650GB
    Monitor:
    2x ThinkVision 24"
    Discipline
    Multi-disciplinary
    SLW210's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    Design Draftsman
    Discipline
    Multi-disciplinary
    Details
    Mostly do drafting related to manufacturing. From doing site layouts with proposed updates, additions and renovations to be budgeted and submitted for bid, to updating and changing existing drawings to reflect maintenance and repair/revision work done on site.
    Using
    AutoCAD 2011
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    South Florida, USA
    Posts
    11,720

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by JD Mather View Post
    Splines are used where splines are needed.
    Polylines are used where polylines are needed.
    Yes indeed!!
    “A narrow mind and a fat head invariably come on the same person” Zig Zigler



  6. #26
    Forum Deity SEANT's Avatar
    Using
    AutoCAD 2014
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    Rhode Island
    Posts
    2,447

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by JD Mather View Post
    Splines are used where splines are needed.
    Polylines are used where polylines are needed.

    That statement seems a bit incomplete. A student may find that it creates more questions than it answers.



    What are some of the determining factors that encourage the use of one entity over the other? If we were to consider intermittent elevation data (as may be pertinent to the resurrector of this thread, given the discipline designation as CIVIL), what would be the most accurate form of contour? Or, more mechanical, a limited budget needs wing cross sections CNC cut based on NACA airfoil data?

  7. #27
    Luminous Being JD Mather's Avatar
    Using
    Inventor 2015
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Location
    Williamsport, PA
    Posts
    8,719

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by SEANT View Post
    That statement seems a bit incomplete. A student may find that it creates more questions than it answers.
    ...and it should. I just didn't want to leave the previous statement that seemed to indicate there is something wrong with using splines.
    Splines are absolutely necessary where splines are required. I use them all the time (but I use a different Autodesk CAD program most of the time and it doesn't even have polylines).

    Hmmm, what entity type is a Helix in AutoCAD, well List indicates Helix - but it is a spline curve.
    Certified SolidWorks Professional
    Autodesk Inventor 2015 Certified Professional
    Autodesk AutoCAD 2013 Certified Professional

  8. #28
    Forum Deity SEANT's Avatar
    Using
    AutoCAD 2014
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    Rhode Island
    Posts
    2,447

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by JD Mather View Post
    ...and it should. . . . .

    Ah! I see, then, that we are making similar recommendations, i.e., investigate whether Spline have anything to offer a particular workflow. I think that shift in attitude would benefit many that are more familiar with the “AVOID SPLINES AT ALL COST” mentality.




    Quote Originally Posted by JD Mather View Post
    . . . . a different Autodesk CAD program most of the time and it doesn't even have polylines . . . .

    That interesting. It’s apparent that Autodesk had devoted additional resources to spline geometry. Based on AutoCAD, though, I wasn’t sure if they were fully committed due to a couple of bugs (rather obscure, fortunately) that had not received attentionin the latest release. It’s nice to see that they take the process seriously.

  9. #29
    Forum Newbie
    Using
    AutoCAD 2013
    Join Date
    Dec 2013
    Posts
    1

    Default

    select all 2dpolyline -> explode -> select all line-> join = polyline

  10. #30
    Full Member Debalance's Avatar
    Computer Details
    Debalance's Computer Details
    Motherboard:
    Asus P9X79 LE/C/SI s2011 ATX bulk
    CPU:
    Intel Core i7 3820 (BX80619I73820)
    RAM:
    Kingston DDR3 4x4096Mb PC3-17000 2133Mhz (KHX2133C11D3K4/16GX)
    Graphics:
    GIGABYTE Radeon HD7970 OC WINDFORCE (GV-R797TO-3GD)
    Primary Storage:
    Kingston SSDNow V+200 120GB (SVP200S3B7A/120G)
    Secondary Storage:
    WD WD1001FALS 1000GB
    Discipline
    See details...
    Debalance's Discipline Details
    Discipline
    See details below.
    Details
    C++ and C# programming
    Using
    AutoCAD 2010
    Join Date
    Nov 2013
    Location
    Moscow, Russia
    Posts
    75

    Default

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    Quote Originally Posted by farah View Post
    select all 2dpolyline -> explode -> select all line-> join = polyline
    In my opinion it is too complicated algorithm. Personally, I use TotalPurge utility. It automatically converts any 2DPOLYLINE into LWPOLYLINE.
    SuperBoundary • Superior replacement for the standard BOUNDARY (BPOLY) command

Similar Threads

  1. convert Spline to Polyline
    By Beadin Sabovic in forum AutoCAD 3D Modelling & Rendering
    Replies: 11
    Last Post: 26th Jun 2013, 04:39 pm
  2. Convert Spline to polyline?
    By MikeP in forum AutoCAD 2D Drafting, Object Properties & Interface
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 12th May 2008, 05:06 pm
  3. Convert a spline to polyline
    By JaketheMan in forum AutoCAD General
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 7th Aug 2007, 02:00 pm
  4. How do I convert an line to a polyline ?
    By nurquhar in forum AutoCAD Beginners' Area
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 17th Sep 2005, 02:38 pm
  5. Convert Arc to Polyline
    By cyberfreak in forum AutoCAD Drawing Management & Output
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 11th May 2005, 11:15 am

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts