+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 20
  1. #1
    Junior Member JoeOuellette's Avatar
    Computer Details
    JoeOuellette's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows Vista Home Edition v1
    Computer:
    HP Compaq Presario
    RAM:
    2 GB RAM (expandable to 4 GB)
    Graphics:
    NVIDIA GeForce 7100 Graphics
    Monitor:
    17" LCD Princeton
    Using
    AutoCAD LT 2000
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Connecticut, USA
    Posts
    15

    Default 3D Drawing in AutoCAD LT 2000

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    Hi everyone I just asked my friend if I could draw 3D in ACAD LT 2000 ans she said yes. So I did what she said and take a gander at the screen. I click the button and the y-x axis changes and its very confusing. If someone can help me out with drawing 3D in ACAD LT 2000 I would greatly appreciate that. Thanks and heres the picture

  2. #2
    Super Moderator Strix's Avatar
    Using
    not applicable
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Sheffield UK
    Posts
    3,075

    Default

    you can't draw in 3D, you can only draw in isometric - a 2D representation of 3D, which you can't rotate

    Ask your friend to show you how she draws in 3D in a version of AutoCAD that old - just for a laugh
    Find your new best friend at Rain Rescue

    If you are a good drafter, tech will help. If you are a bad drafter, nothing will help. - Jack_O'neill at CADTutor

  3. #3
    Super Member
    Using
    Architecture 2009
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    Northglenn, Colorado
    Posts
    713

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by JoeOuellette View Post
    Hi everyone I just asked my friend if I could draw 3D in ACAD LT 2000 ans she said yes. So I did what she said and take a gander at the screen. I click the button and the y-x axis changes and its very confusing. If someone can help me out with drawing 3D in ACAD LT 2000 I would greatly appreciate that. Thanks and heres the picture
    Autocad LT does not have 3d capabilities to it, only Autocad and its vertical products. LT is a stripped down version of the full Autocad.

  4. #4
    Junior Member JoeOuellette's Avatar
    Computer Details
    JoeOuellette's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows Vista Home Edition v1
    Computer:
    HP Compaq Presario
    RAM:
    2 GB RAM (expandable to 4 GB)
    Graphics:
    NVIDIA GeForce 7100 Graphics
    Monitor:
    17" LCD Princeton
    Using
    AutoCAD LT 2000
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Connecticut, USA
    Posts
    15

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Strix View Post
    you can't draw in 3D, you can only draw in isometric - a 2D representation of 3D, which you can't rotate

    Ask your friend to show you how she draws in 3D in a version of AutoCAD that old - just for a laugh
    What does isometric even mean?

  5. #5
    Super Moderator Tiger's Avatar
    Computer Details
    Tiger's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Professional 64 bit
    Computer:
    HP EliteBook 8570w
    CPU:
    Intel Core i7-3720QM 2.60GHz
    RAM:
    16GB
    Graphics:
    NVIDIA Quadro K2000M
    Monitor:
    HP
    Discipline
    Civil
    Tiger's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    Education /support
    Discipline
    Civil
    Details
    Support/Education/Retail
    Using
    Civil 3D 2015
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Stockholm, Sweden
    Posts
    5,049

    Default

    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Isometric_projection

    It's when you draw three dimensional objects in only two dimensions, like perspective views and such.
    whether is when you are asking yourself, should I stay or should I go
    weather is when it's cold as all that outside
    wether is a goat soprano
    #SpellingMatters

  6. #6
    Junior Member JoeOuellette's Avatar
    Computer Details
    JoeOuellette's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows Vista Home Edition v1
    Computer:
    HP Compaq Presario
    RAM:
    2 GB RAM (expandable to 4 GB)
    Graphics:
    NVIDIA GeForce 7100 Graphics
    Monitor:
    17" LCD Princeton
    Using
    AutoCAD LT 2000
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Connecticut, USA
    Posts
    15

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Tiger View Post
    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Isometric_projection

    It's when you draw three dimensional objects in only two dimensions, like perspective views and such.
    So like when you draw the top, front, and right side views of the object.

  7. #7
    Super Moderator Tiger's Avatar
    Computer Details
    Tiger's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Professional 64 bit
    Computer:
    HP EliteBook 8570w
    CPU:
    Intel Core i7-3720QM 2.60GHz
    RAM:
    16GB
    Graphics:
    NVIDIA Quadro K2000M
    Monitor:
    HP
    Discipline
    Civil
    Tiger's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    Education /support
    Discipline
    Civil
    Details
    Support/Education/Retail
    Using
    Civil 3D 2015
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Stockholm, Sweden
    Posts
    5,049

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by JoeOuellette View Post
    So like when you draw the top, front, and right side views of the object.
    sort of. It looks three-dimensional but it isn't. Like a painting that has 'depth'... anyone can explain it better?
    whether is when you are asking yourself, should I stay or should I go
    weather is when it's cold as all that outside
    wether is a goat soprano
    #SpellingMatters

  8. #8
    Super Member
    Using
    AutoCAD not applicable
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Posts
    639

    Default

    It is a two dimensional representation of a three dimensional object...
    as Tiger said it's like a picture..
    If at first you don't succeed, then maybe failure is more your style.

  9. #9
    Super Member
    Using
    AutoCAD not applicable
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Posts
    639

    Default

    Sorry, to be honest I have never looked at Lt, but I have not heard that it does not have 3d capabilities.
    Your screen shot actually shows 3D view capabilities, so I would assume that LT can draw in 3d.

    Joe under the DRAW pull down what are your commands.?
    If at first you don't succeed, then maybe failure is more your style.

  10. #10
    Super Moderator Cad64's Avatar
    Computer Details
    Cad64's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Profesional x64
    Computer:
    XI Computers
    Motherboard:
    Asus P8Z77-V Pro
    CPU:
    Intel Core I7 3770K 4.1 Ghz Quad Core 3rd Gen
    RAM:
    24GB DDR3 @ 1333MHz
    Graphics:
    Nvidia GeForce GTX 570 1280MB GDDR5
    Primary Storage:
    SATAII 500GB 7200 RPM
    Secondary Storage:
    Western Digital My Book Studio Edition II - 2TB capacity
    Monitor:
    HPf2105 21" LCD Widescreen & Cintiq 21ux
    Discipline
    Multi-disciplinary
    Cad64's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    Landscape Architect
    Discipline
    Multi-disciplinary
    Using
    3ds Max 2011
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    Southern California
    Posts
    9,065

    Default

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    You can view 3D objects that have been modeled in full Autocad, but you cannot create them in LT.

    From Wikipedia: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/AutoCAD

    AutoCAD LT lacks several features. Most notably, it has no 3D modeling capabilities (though it has a full suite of 3D viewing functions for looking at 3D models created in other CAD packages) and does not include any programming interfaces, such as support for most 3rd party programs and does not support LISP programs.
    Personal Website: ( Updated 03/21/2014 ) ---> http://www.rdeweese.com/

    "Work Smart, Not Hard"

Similar Threads

  1. Transferring a drawing from autocad 2007 to 2000, error message pops up
    By offline in forum AutoCAD Drawing Management & Output
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 22nd Nov 2007, 05:11 pm
  2. Is autocad 2000 the program to learn autocad drawing skills
    By New2CADmike in forum AutoCAD Beginners' Area
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 23rd Jun 2006, 09:34 am
  3. Saving a current drawing in 2000
    By muck in forum AutoLISP, Visual LISP & DCL
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 21st May 2006, 05:51 pm
  4. Network problem in AutoCad 2000 + Win 2000
    By xper_mental in forum AutoCAD Drawing Management & Output
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 24th Jan 2006, 04:45 pm
  5. LT 2000 drawing help
    By SBC in forum AutoCAD Beginners' Area
    Replies: 15
    Last Post: 30th Sep 2005, 04:01 pm

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts