+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 7 of 7
  1. #1
    Full Member
    Computer Details
    scubadoo's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    MAC OS X
    Computer:
    iMAC 27, Macbook Pro
    Using
    Map 3D 2008
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    Bristol, UK
    Posts
    96

    Default formula to convert coordinates from one grid to another?

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    Hi

    I have coordinates on one grid system.I have a drawing with this coordinate system overlaid on another system. My client wants a formula so that he can take a coord on the first grid and convert it to a coord on the second. Does anyone know the formula for doing this?

    I'm sure it can be done because i think i remember someone giving me it years ago.

    Fingers crossed!
    Thanks

  2. #2
    Forum Deity
    Using
    AutoCAD 2002
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Location
    East Sussex, U.K.
    Posts
    3,521

    Default

    If you have two drawings which happily register on top of each other, why go for the mathematicals when you can do it graphically?

    Set up a UCS at the 0,0 point of the second grid and aligned to that grid. Then you can ID any point and get its coordinates.

  3. #3
    Super Moderator fuccaro's Avatar
    Using
    AutoCAD 2006
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Location
    Romania, Marosvasarhely
    Posts
    3,543

    Default

    You must know the relation between the two coordinate systems. In 2D you can go from one to the other by a rotation and a translation. If you work in 3D, a translation and 3 rotations will transform the coords.
    Knowing the translation and the rotation(s) between the two systems, you can apply the transformations to all your points.
    It's nice to be nice, but sometimes is nicer to be evil!.
    Tip: Please do not PM or email me with CAD questions - use the forums, you'll get an answer sooner.

  4. #4
    Full Member
    Computer Details
    scubadoo's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    MAC OS X
    Computer:
    iMAC 27, Macbook Pro
    Using
    Map 3D 2008
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    Bristol, UK
    Posts
    96

    Default

    I know how to do it in AutoCAD.

    The problem is that my client doesn't and will not be using AutoCAD. The work I'm doing will be exported to Adobe CS3 and drafted for publication.

    He wants a way of converting the coords when I'm not working for him.

  5. #5
    Forum Deity
    Using
    AutoCAD 2002
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Location
    East Sussex, U.K.
    Posts
    3,521

    Default

    You can probably get an Excel spreadsheet to do just that. Even I wrote one some eons ago, but it is finding the formula that is tricky.

    I just put in a Google search in the UK for "coordinate geometry transformation 2d" , and the first one on the list was http://www.engineeringsurveyor.com/utilities/index.htm

    I am sure you can go from there.

  6. #6
    Super Member chulse's Avatar
    Computer Details
    chulse's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7
    Computer:
    Lenovo W701 mobile workstation
    RAM:
    12GB
    Graphics:
    NVIDIA Quadro FX 3800M
    Monitor:
    17" wide screen laptop w/ 22" acer
    Discipline
    See details...
    chulse's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    Conservation Planner/Arborist
    Discipline
    See details below.
    Details
    Tree Preservation Planning for civil design and developent
    Using
    Civil 3D 2013
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    Front Royal, Virginia
    Posts
    1,313

    Default

    Here's a US Army Corps of Engineers program for just that:

    http://crunch.tec.army.mil/software/.../corpscon.html
    Cary Hulse
    Conservation Planner
    www.TreePreservationPlan.com
    www.Pack53.info

  7. #7
    Full Member
    Computer Details
    scubadoo's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    MAC OS X
    Computer:
    iMAC 27, Macbook Pro
    Using
    Map 3D 2008
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    Bristol, UK
    Posts
    96

    Default

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    Quote Originally Posted by eldon View Post
    You can probably get an Excel spreadsheet to do just that. Even I wrote one some eons ago, but it is finding the formula that is tricky.

    I just put in a Google search in the UK for "coordinate geometry transformation 2d" , and the first one on the list was http://www.engineeringsurveyor.com/utilities/index.htm

    I am sure you can go from there.
    Thank again Eldon, i'd done a google search but obviously used the wrong words.

    I think that first link should do what i want.

Similar Threads

  1. Formula in Attribute
    By Impala62 in forum AutoCAD Beginners' Area
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 7th Jan 2008, 07:05 pm
  2. Grid lines displayed instead of Grid Dots
    By aka_norm in forum AutoCAD Beginners' Area
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 25th Jun 2007, 08:08 am
  3. Property Set Definition Formula Wildcard VBScript
    By Dan in forum AutoLISP, Visual LISP & DCL
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 31st Jan 2007, 12:15 am
  4. Turn a QBASIC formula into an LISP function
    By eric_monceaux in forum AutoLISP, Visual LISP & DCL
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 19th Apr 2006, 08:50 pm
  5. TEXT TO UPDATE WITH FORMULA - Require automation help
    By dunkydolittle in forum AutoLISP, Visual LISP & DCL
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 15th Nov 2005, 10:48 pm

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts