+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 10 of 10

Thread: Lock Viewport

  1. #1
    Full Member
    Using
    AutoCAD 2009
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Location
    Seattle, WA
    Posts
    61

    Default Lock Viewport

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    I'm currently using AutoCad 2009.

    Without having to write up a lisp routine, is there a command(s) I can enter to lock and/or unlock an individual viewport in paperspace? I'm tired of having to select it via the properties window, and I've used the -vports command in the past, but that's just too many steps. Looking for something quicker.


    Thanks,
    -Fred
    autocad guy
    seattle, wa

  2. #2
    Senior Member CADguy209's Avatar
    Using
    AutoCAD 2006
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    Stockton, CA
    Posts
    109

    Default

    You could write toolbar button macro for the -vports command, although it may not actually end the command, you will still have to hit enter and or space bar to end it. Still it would probably be quicker then going through th properties menu or using the -vports command normally.

  3. #3
    Senior Member lulumara's Avatar
    Using
    not specified
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    VANCOUVER,B.C.
    Posts
    305

    Default lock viewport

    just select the viewport line and rt click/displayed layout/then yes,it will lock it .then select no if you don't want to lock
    Jimmy - using AutoCad 2009 LT and Solidworks 2009

  4. #4
    Full Member hellnback's Avatar
    Using
    Civil 3D 2014
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    New Zealand
    Posts
    83

    Default

    I've just created 2 buttons that locks/unlocks all vp's. Click the button and voila, sorted.

    ^c^c_mv;l;on;all;
    ^c^c_mv;l;off;all;

    Easy.
    60% of the time it works everytime.

  5. #5
    Super Member profcad's Avatar
    Computer Details
    profcad's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Ultimate
    Computer:
    Dell
    CPU:
    Dual - Six-Core Xeon
    RAM:
    12GB
    Graphics:
    NVida 4400
    Monitor:
    DUAL 24" WIDESCREEN
    Discipline
    Education
    profcad's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    Professor Of CAD
    Discipline
    Education
    Using
    Revit 2014
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    Oklahoma City, OK
    Posts
    829

    Default

    Just click on the lock/unlock button on the status bar.
    John Helton
    Professor of CAD
    Oklahoma City Community College
    Oklahoma City, OK

  6. #6
    Full Member
    Using
    AutoCAD 2009
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Location
    Seattle, WA
    Posts
    61

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by lulumara View Post
    just select the viewport line and rt click/displayed layout/then yes,it will lock it .then select no if you don't want to lock
    not bad, although I had to change my right click settings in my options. We'll see if that adversely affects my more commonly used right click usage.
    -Fred
    autocad guy
    seattle, wa

  7. #7
    Super Member
    Using
    Architecture 2012
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    El Paso, Tx
    Posts
    551

    Default

    this is what i use

    ^C^CMV;L;ON; (than click on VP and done)

  8. #8
    Full Member
    Using
    AutoCAD 2009
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Location
    Seattle, WA
    Posts
    61

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by profcad View Post
    Just click on the lock/unlock button on the status bar.
    Ahh, I never knew that button was down there, but then again, it's one more button to have to mouse over to.

    I was hoping someone would know the basic command (if one existed) so that I could program a two-letter shortcut.


    Thanks for the ideas.
    -Fred
    autocad guy
    seattle, wa

  9. #9
    Super Member
    Using
    Architecture 2012
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    El Paso, Tx
    Posts
    551

    Default

    the actual command is

    MVIEW-LOCK-ON-(THAN YOU CAN DO ALL OR PICK A VP)

    you should be able to do something to the effect of

    (Defun c:VL () (COMMAND ".MVIEW" "L" "ON" "ALL") (PRINC))

    or something to that nature

  10. #10
    Forum Deity
    Using
    Civil 3D 2008
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Location
    Pittsburgh, PA, USA
    Posts
    3,581

    Default

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    Quote Originally Posted by O Snap! View Post
    Ahh, I never knew that button was down there, but then again, it's one more button to have to mouse over to.

    I was hoping someone would know the basic command (if one existed) so that I could program a two-letter shortcut.
    Just curious, do you put 911 on speed dial?

Similar Threads

  1. ...lock a viewport if...
    By hotrodz0321 in forum AutoCAD General
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 26th Aug 2008, 05:07 pm
  2. Viewport Lock Routine
    By mrjagsr in forum AutoLISP, Visual LISP & DCL
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 10th Mar 2008, 06:29 pm
  3. Viewport Lock
    By Norts in forum AutoLISP, Visual LISP & DCL
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 28th Jun 2007, 03:03 pm
  4. Is there a way to lock a layout viewport?
    By whovey in forum AutoCAD Drawing Management & Output
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 19th Jun 2007, 03:51 pm
  5. Toggle viewport display lock
    By thalon in forum AutoCAD Drawing Management & Output
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 15th Dec 2005, 07:54 pm

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts