+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 11

Thread: Draw Arrow

  1. #1
    Forum Newbie
    Using
    AutoCAD 2008
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Posts
    5

    Unhappy Draw Arrow

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    Hi all,

    I have searched the internet long and hard and I am unable to locate a method for drawing an arrow which is simple and actually works.

    Perhaps I am the problem or there is something I am not accounting for but I am finding this task to be very hard indeed.

    Can anyone please advice me how I can draw a simple arrow for pointing purposes.

    Kind regards

  2. #2
    Super Moderator Tiger's Avatar
    Computer Details
    Tiger's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Professional 64 bit
    Computer:
    HP EliteBook 8570w
    CPU:
    Intel Core i7-3720QM 2.60GHz
    RAM:
    16GB
    Graphics:
    NVIDIA Quadro K2000M
    Monitor:
    HP
    Discipline
    Civil
    Tiger's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    Education /support
    Discipline
    Civil
    Details
    Support/Education/Retail
    Using
    Civil 3D 2015
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Stockholm, Sweden
    Posts
    5,049

    Default

    Just an arrow? Not with a text attached like a Leader or MultiLeader?
    whether is when you are asking yourself, should I stay or should I go
    weather is when it's cold as all that outside
    wether is a goat soprano
    #SpellingMatters

  3. #3
    Forum Newbie
    Using
    AutoCAD 2008
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Posts
    5

    Default

    just an arrow please mate. (if you wana tell me that extra stuff seperate then that would be good for future purposes.)

    Thanks

  4. #4
    Super Moderator Tiger's Avatar
    Computer Details
    Tiger's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Professional 64 bit
    Computer:
    HP EliteBook 8570w
    CPU:
    Intel Core i7-3720QM 2.60GHz
    RAM:
    16GB
    Graphics:
    NVIDIA Quadro K2000M
    Monitor:
    HP
    Discipline
    Civil
    Tiger's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    Education /support
    Discipline
    Civil
    Details
    Support/Education/Retail
    Using
    Civil 3D 2015
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Stockholm, Sweden
    Posts
    5,049

    Default

    That's the problem, I don't know how to do just an arrow...I usually go around it by doing a Leader (just type LEADER) a just don't add the text when it prompts for it... MultiLeader (MLEADER) is Leader with some extra stuff, well worth to try it and learn it.
    whether is when you are asking yourself, should I stay or should I go
    weather is when it's cold as all that outside
    wether is a goat soprano
    #SpellingMatters

  5. #5
    Forum Newbie
    Using
    AutoCAD 2008
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Posts
    5

    Default

    I just did but I dont see no arrow head? Whats wrong?

  6. #6
    Super Moderator Tiger's Avatar
    Computer Details
    Tiger's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Professional 64 bit
    Computer:
    HP EliteBook 8570w
    CPU:
    Intel Core i7-3720QM 2.60GHz
    RAM:
    16GB
    Graphics:
    NVIDIA Quadro K2000M
    Monitor:
    HP
    Discipline
    Civil
    Tiger's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    Education /support
    Discipline
    Civil
    Details
    Support/Education/Retail
    Using
    Civil 3D 2015
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Stockholm, Sweden
    Posts
    5,049

    Default

    most likely it's real small or real big - click on the leader and bring out the Properties box, check the size of the arrow and the Dim Scale overall on it.
    whether is when you are asking yourself, should I stay or should I go
    weather is when it's cold as all that outside
    wether is a goat soprano
    #SpellingMatters

  7. #7
    Forum Newbie
    Using
    AutoCAD 2008
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Posts
    5

    Default

    Brilliant.

    Tar Bud

  8. #8
    Super Moderator Tiger's Avatar
    Computer Details
    Tiger's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Professional 64 bit
    Computer:
    HP EliteBook 8570w
    CPU:
    Intel Core i7-3720QM 2.60GHz
    RAM:
    16GB
    Graphics:
    NVIDIA Quadro K2000M
    Monitor:
    HP
    Discipline
    Civil
    Tiger's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    Education /support
    Discipline
    Civil
    Details
    Support/Education/Retail
    Using
    Civil 3D 2015
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Stockholm, Sweden
    Posts
    5,049

    Default

    No problem, glad to help
    whether is when you are asking yourself, should I stay or should I go
    weather is when it's cold as all that outside
    wether is a goat soprano
    #SpellingMatters

  9. #9
    Full Member
    Using
    AutoCAD 2008
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    Cranberry Twp, PA
    Posts
    39

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by carragreat View Post
    Hi all,

    I have searched the internet long and hard and I am unable to locate a method for drawing an arrow which is simple and actually works.

    Perhaps I am the problem or there is something I am not accounting for but I am finding this task to be very hard indeed.

    Can anyone please advice me how I can draw a simple arrow for pointing purposes.

    Kind regards
    You can create a simply arrow by drawing a polyline with a starting width of "0" and an ending width of whatever you want the arrow height to be.

    To make it a block so that when you insert it at the end of a line and then define the rotation angle by snapping to the other end, have the arrow pointing west (180 degrees) and the insertion point at the point of the head.

  10. #10
    Forum Deity RobDraw's Avatar
    Using
    MEP 2014
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    Connecticut, USA
    Posts
    2,750

    Default

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    If you don't want text when you draw a leader, you can change the settings of you leader command. After starting the leader command before selecting your first piont, type "S" or right click (if you are set up for it). In the dialog box, choose the annotation tab and under annotation select "Nne". Check out the other options while you are there. Click "Okay" and draw a leader. Note: If you escape the leader command before drawing a leader, your changes may not take affect.
    I draft in Revit with a black background.

Similar Threads

  1. Directional Arrow
    By Bespoke in forum AutoCAD General
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 23rd May 2007, 07:25 pm
  2. ...QUICKLY draw an arc w/ an arrow?
    By RedDirt in forum AutoCAD General
    Replies: 16
    Last Post: 19th Sep 2006, 11:11 pm
  3. How to draw head only of an arrow
    By berol in forum AutoCAD Beginners' Area
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 20th Jul 2006, 12:36 am
  4. ARROW
    By e.stueeken in forum AutoCAD Beginners' Area
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 29th Mar 2006, 01:39 am
  5. arrow
    By LESLIE2050 in forum AutoCAD Beginners' Area
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 4th Oct 2005, 11:01 pm

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts