+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 7 of 7
  1. #1
    Forum Newbie
    Using
    AutoCAD 2007
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Posts
    2

    Default Help with Align command in AutoCAD 2007 classic

    I've been having trouble using the align command in AutoCAD 2007.

    I'm trying to create guard rails, just represented by a thin rectangle for the rails and a square for the posts. I've been trying to align one end of the thin rectangle to a side of the square.

    Nothing happens when i finish the command by pushing enter. I've selected the correct points also. It seemed simple enough from short tips I've found by googling the align command.

    The overall goal is the have several posts and and rails aligned along a square perimeter. So, along one side of the square perimeter will have several guard rails

    Is there such a command to "center" align a object to another?

    Is there anyone who can help?
    Is there an alternative way to align several objects along a line?

    Thank you very much in advance!!!!

  2. #2
    Forum Deity
    Using
    not specified
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Location
    Anchorage, Alaska
    Posts
    2,074

    Default

    You might want to try the "measure" command. This is useful for evenly spacing an object (block) along a line or polyline.

  3. #3
    Super Member yedan's Avatar
    Using
    AutoCAD 2008
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    Uk, Suffolk
    Posts
    508

    Default

    you can use the divide command to get equal spacings along a line then simply copy the object from you desired origin point to the nodes created by the divide command, or use an array command to place them

  4. #4
    Senior Member khama's Avatar
    Computer Details
    khama's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Ultimate
    Computer:
    INTEL CUSTOM i5
    Motherboard:
    GIGABYTE HD55-UD3A i7
    CPU:
    CORE I5 3.2GHz
    RAM:
    6GB CORSAIR DDR-3
    Graphics:
    NVIDIA Quadro FX 3800 Graphics adapter - 1 GB - GDDR3 SDRAM
    Primary Storage:
    SAMSUNG 660GB SATA
    Secondary Storage:
    SAMSUNG 1TB
    Monitor:
    2 x DELL PRECISION 30"
    Discipline
    Mechanical
    khama's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    Project Leader, Engineering, Oil and Gas and Materials Handling
    Discipline
    Mechanical
    Details
    Mechanical is my strongest Discipline. Civil and Structural are all strengths for me too.
    Using
    AutoCAD 2011
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    206

    Default

    I think I know what you mean.. To align the end of the rectangle to the side of a square. I take shortcuts depending on the scenario. If the 2 objects are in the same plane, just attach a corner of one object to the corner of the other object. I use the rotate command using a reference. Align does work and sometimes all you need to do is read from your command prompt and see what it is chasing.

    As far as repeating the posts around the shape goes use the MIRROR or ARRAY commands. It is really quite simple.

    Gee i'm slack
    Khama
    Bachelor of Science Mechanical Engineering
    Diploma Civil & Structural Engineering
    Diploma Engineering NDT

  5. #5
    Forum Newbie
    Using
    AutoCAD 2007
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Posts
    2

    Default

    Ah Thank you all for the input!!

    This forum is very cool!!

    I'll try those things when I get into work. My laptop doesn't meet the requirements for the new student edition software...Although 2007 worked fine.

  6. #6
    Super Member Tankman's Avatar
    Computer Details
    Tankman's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    XP Pro SP3
    Computer:
    IBM T60 Thinkpad™
    Monitor:
    36" LCD Monitor/TV, 14" Thinkpad™ T60
    Using
    AutoCAD 2007
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    Eastern PA, USA
    Posts
    1,794

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by trunksalan View Post
    Ah! Thank you all for the input!!

    This forum is very cool!!
    Welcome trunksalan! Yes, this AutoCAD forum is the best of the best!
    Tankman

    "When the well is dry, we know the worth of water." Ben Franklin ~ 1746

  7. #7
    Full Member CadBrat's Avatar
    Using
    AutoCAD 2009
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    Portland, OR
    Posts
    41

    Default

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    hi, guys. i can divide a line but not a rectangle. i'm new, back @ aCAD '09 but i used aCAD 14 & 2K for a short time. it seems to me there was a simple center command where you would choose the object to be centered & then the object(s) to center it between (without having to divide anything). seems that there should be a qwik way to do this but i haven't found it yet either. in fact, i haven't yet figured out how to center this rectangle along a line or between lines. sorry-- very basic, not very exciting stuff. but thanx much & yes, this forum Rocks!

Similar Threads

  1. Align Command
    By angela@TAG in forum AutoCAD Drawing Management & Output
    Replies: 14
    Last Post: 10th Nov 2008, 07:48 pm
  2. Autocad 2007, can't view Autocad Classic
    By OrionHE in forum AutoCAD Drawing Management & Output
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 10th May 2007, 10:39 pm
  3. Does Autocad have an Align command like Illustrator?
    By andyboy in forum AutoCAD Drawing Management & Output
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 15th Feb 2007, 05:12 pm
  4. AutoCAD 2007LT Align Command doesn't work
    By acad1228 in forum AutoCAD Drawing Management & Output
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 14th Sep 2006, 08:47 pm
  5. Align command in AutoCAD LT 2001 and up
    By gguillory in forum AutoCAD Drawing Management & Output
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 4th Feb 2005, 06:56 am

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts