DESPERATELY Need Pen Plotter Help

ATKOgirl

Hi Everyone,

I am hoping that some Autocad pros here could offer some advice and opinions regarding pen plotters and their acquisition, set up and use.

To give you a little background information:

I am not an AutoCad user, although I did use it very briefly in the early 90s in design school for apparel design and patternmaking. I am a wedding professional who currently has a very, very old flatbed X-Y plotter system to do "pen & ink" calligraphy on envelopes and invitations. The system is by a company, Inscribe and has been around for about 20 years. You can see a sample of the very old plotter in action at the following:

Go to reavesengraving web site, click on calligraphy, and click on One of our calligraphy pens in action

and also here:

On you tube, do a search on Calligraphy Cafe

(As a newbie, I can't post the links)

The system is retro-fitted to use calligraphy nibs and what I believe to be calligraphy ink in plotter cartridges. I do not know who the manufacturer of the plotter was since it is only branded as Inscribe. Nor do I know who made the pen nibs. I can take photos if anyone wants to see them close up.

The envelopes/paper are held in place using magnets. Also, if you want to print more than one envelope at a time, there is a pad of paper in place on the bed and the plotter draws boxes on the pad where you place your envelopes - driven by the software. You then attach your envelopes in the drawn boxes using the magnets.

However, there are several issues with this system:

• It is very, very old and is run by a DOS-based program
  • It is an extremely limited system - you cannot use your own fonts or graphics, only those that came with the DOS-based software
  • There are no windows drivers for it, so I cannot explore other software for it, since I cannot get it running on any version of Windows. I've tried the Winline universal plotter driver, but unfortunately, it does not work