+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 6 of 6
  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Using
    AutoCAD 2007
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Posts
    13

    Default How to convert to G-code?

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    I am new in Cad program. Now I finished design for 3d already and want to convert .stl file to G-code format. How do everybody do that?? What the name of program and where to download?? Thank you very much for all suggestion.

  2. #2
    Super Moderator Cad64's Avatar
    Computer Details
    Cad64's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Profesional x64
    Computer:
    XI Computers
    Motherboard:
    Asus P8Z77-V Pro
    CPU:
    Intel Core I7 3770K 4.1 Ghz Quad Core 3rd Gen
    RAM:
    24GB DDR3 @ 1333MHz
    Graphics:
    Nvidia GeForce GTX 570 1280MB GDDR5
    Primary Storage:
    SATAII 500GB 7200 RPM
    Secondary Storage:
    Western Digital My Book Studio Edition II - 2TB capacity
    Monitor:
    Asus VG248 24" Widescreen & Cintiq 21ux
    Discipline
    Multi-disciplinary
    Cad64's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    Freelance Digital Artist
    Discipline
    Multi-disciplinary
    Details
    3D model building, texturing and rendering. Photoshop Color Graphics.
    Using
    AutoCAD 2014
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    San Antonio, TX
    Posts
    10,315

    Default

    You could give MeshCAM a try. I have no idea if it's any good, but there is a 30 day trial you can download.
    CGSociety Portfolio: http://rdeweese.cgsociety.org/
    Facebook:
    https://www.facebook.com/rdeweese67/


    "Work Smart, Not Hard"

  3. #3
    Junior Member
    Using
    AutoCAD 2007
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Posts
    13

    Default

    Thank you very much CAD64

  4. #4
    Forum Deity shift1313's Avatar
    Using
    not applicable
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    VA
    Posts
    3,249

    Default

    i take my dwg files into mastercam. There is a little more to getting usable g-code than just converting your file unfortunately. You have to program everything you want the machine to do. While cam software does pick up on your geometry it does get pretty involved. What type of machine are you trying to post to? Whatever cam program you run(bobcadcam is the cheapest cam software i have found) you will need a post processor for your mill.

  5. #5
    Junior Member
    Using
    AutoCAD 2007
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Posts
    13

    Default

    Thank you very much for all answers.

  6. #6
    Forum Deity shift1313's Avatar
    Using
    not applicable
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    VA
    Posts
    3,249

    Default

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    bobcad cam also has trial versions of each of their releases. the price of the software is only $500 so you know its not great but you can at least get used to cam software with meshcam and bobcadcam.

Similar Threads

  1. Help on code
    By Nestor in forum AutoLISP, Visual LISP & DCL
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 10th Jul 2008, 02:12 am
  2. My first code...
    By Seann in forum AutoLISP, Visual LISP & DCL
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 2nd Feb 2007, 08:09 pm
  3. code
    By rahul in forum AutoCAD 3D Modelling & Rendering
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 20th Jul 2006, 06:19 am
  4. convert string in to lisp code
    By driutheman in forum AutoLISP, Visual LISP & DCL
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 5th Apr 2006, 06:14 am
  5. How to convert the VBA code to VB?
    By fenny in forum AutoLISP, Visual LISP & DCL
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 26th Jan 2005, 08:41 am

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts