+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 6 of 6
  1. #1
    Super Member
    Computer Details
    Dipali's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    windows vista
    Computer:
    IBM Thinkpad lenovo
    CPU:
    Intel Centrino vPro
    Monitor:
    viewsonicVA1916w
    Discipline
    Architectural
    Dipali's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    ARCHITECTURE
    Discipline
    Architectural
    Details
    interiors
    Using
    AutoCAD 2009
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    INDIA
    Posts
    1,077

    Default Angle Measurement

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    When I didmension angle lines with dim>angular command, it gives me the resullt which less than 180, & if the anle is more than 180 than it shows the value 360-thevalue from the other direction. for example my angle is 225 clockwise from positive x axis. so when I dimesnion it, it show 135 (360-225) anticlockwise from positive x axis.
    How can i make it read 225

    I tried using clcokwise & anticlockwise under formAT>UNITS MENU. BUT no use.
    "An architect's most useful tools are an eraser at the drawing board & a wrecking bar at the site."
    Frank Lloyd Wright

  2. #2
    Forum Deity
    Using
    AutoCAD 2002
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Location
    East Sussex, U.K.
    Posts
    3,538

    Default

    What you want to do is to dimension a vertex.

    Start the dimangular command, then right click. The prompt now changes to "specify angle vertex". Choose the vertex with the endpoint snap, then you have to specify the first angle endpoint, and then the second angle endpoint. Then, all depending which side of the vertex is the crosshair, you can dimension the angle greater than 180° (you can move the crosshair each side of the vertex, then pick which one you want).

    Not very intuitive, but when you have done it once, you get the hang of it!

  3. #3
    Super Member
    Computer Details
    Dipali's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    windows vista
    Computer:
    IBM Thinkpad lenovo
    CPU:
    Intel Centrino vPro
    Monitor:
    viewsonicVA1916w
    Discipline
    Architectural
    Dipali's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    ARCHITECTURE
    Discipline
    Architectural
    Details
    interiors
    Using
    AutoCAD 2009
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    INDIA
    Posts
    1,077

    Default

    Thanks Eldon
    "An architect's most useful tools are an eraser at the drawing board & a wrecking bar at the site."
    Frank Lloyd Wright

  4. #4
    Forum Deity
    Using
    AutoCAD 2002
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Location
    East Sussex, U.K.
    Posts
    3,538

    Default

    On looking at things further, this has nothing to do with a right click as such, but more to do with READING THE COMMAND LINE.

    When DIMANGULAR is started, the prompt comes up. In the prompt, the option within the brackets is what the default option is when there is a null entry. So if you then press Enter, or Space Bar, or right click, that is equivalent to a null entry, and you then go on to specify the vertex.

    READ THE COMMAND LINE.
    Attached Images

  5. #5
    Super Member
    Computer Details
    Dipali's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    windows vista
    Computer:
    IBM Thinkpad lenovo
    CPU:
    Intel Centrino vPro
    Monitor:
    viewsonicVA1916w
    Discipline
    Architectural
    Dipali's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    ARCHITECTURE
    Discipline
    Architectural
    Details
    interiors
    Using
    AutoCAD 2009
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    INDIA
    Posts
    1,077

    Default

    that is what I did, for some reason I have chnaged my right click settings & so it does not apperar there but I saw it in command line.


    Whenever I am teaching something to freshers, my first advice is to read commnad line & it will guide you thru,
    but sometimes you yourself forget what you preach
    Last edited by Dipali; 15th Oct 2008 at 09:32 am.
    "An architect's most useful tools are an eraser at the drawing board & a wrecking bar at the site."
    Frank Lloyd Wright

  6. #6
    Senior Member
    Computer Details
    bonehead411's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    XP Pro 2002 SP3
    Computer:
    HP xw6400 Workstation
    CPU:
    Intel Xeon E5320 @ 1.86 GHz Quad Core
    RAM:
    3 GB RAM
    Graphics:
    NVIDIA Quadro FX 1500
    Monitor:
    HP LP2465
    Using
    AutoCAD LT 2011
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    Beverley, East Yorkshire, England
    Posts
    219

    Default

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    Now this I like. This could save me no end of text editing when detailing orientations on a typical vessel plan.

    So thanks Dipali, for asking the question, and thanks eldon, for providing a very cool and useful solution!

Similar Threads

  1. how to know what unit of measurement I'm using?
    By 13tildawn in forum AutoCAD Beginners' Area
    Replies: 22
    Last Post: 13th Sep 2013, 03:18 am
  2. European measurement instead of american measurements
    By gicasdd in forum AutoCAD 3D Modelling & Rendering
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 23rd Jul 2008, 03:22 am
  3. Mutiple line measurement
    By fiesta26 in forum AutoCAD Drawing Management & Output
    Replies: 20
    Last Post: 12th Jun 2008, 01:59 pm
  4. Dimension scale measurement incorrectly
    By Mortier in forum AutoCAD Beginners' Area
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 28th May 2008, 10:43 am
  5. Hatch Measurement
    By sendoor in forum AutoCAD Beginners' Area
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 9th Dec 2007, 04:57 pm

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts