making doors and using the "height" parameter

gussosa

Sorry, the title shouldn't say height, it should say thickness.

I am in a self-taught course based in AutoCAD Architectural 2002.

I am finishing the 3D part of the course and there is an exercise where they ask me to make a rough model of a room. The idea is to use elev and thicknessto "extrude" 2D drawings.

The problem is that they ask me to use break to cut the door spaces in the rectangle that makes the walls of the room and then thickness to create the walls. Period. They show the pic of a nicely drawn (kindergarten style) room.

So I break the rectangle to make the holes for the doors and then draw 3D lines to make the doors, and finally use the thickness property to give a 3D appearance to the room. I do that and I still haven't got a wall above the doors. I use thickness again with the line that makes the top of the door and I get something that resembles the picture.

The problem is that the auxiliary file in the disc of the exercise shows a room made of a unique wall with a smooth surface. In my case I get 4 surfaces. 2 made of the original lines in the 2D drawing, and 2 made of the top of the doors.

Thanks.

Gustavo Sosa

Montevideo, Uruguay

I have tried everything to make something that looks like the auxiliary files, but failed. Have you got any ideas?

If you want the letter of the exercise just ask me and I will send you an email. The file is too big to post it here. Anyway, you may find the auxiliary files attached.

Ejercicio32a.dwg

Ejercicio32b.dwg

Ejercicio32c.dwg

i am a little unclear as to what you need with your drawings. I opened one of them(exercise32a) and took a look.