How to modify a profile of extruded object ?

jkristia

Hi there,

I’m new to AutoCAD 3D, so this question might have an obvious answer which I just haven’t been able to find yet.

I’m very familiar with 3D drawing in TurboCAD and I’m somewhat familiar with SolidWorks. Now I just received my copy of AutoCAD 2009 Student edition, and of course I want to get started on 3D immediately.

The questions are

#1 - how can I edit a profile of an extruded or revolved object ?

#2 – Once I revolve or extrude my profile, the original profile vanishes, how can I create a copy of a profile from an existing 3D object?

Now, I have done a little bit of playing and searching before I asked these questions but I haven’t been able to find the answer.

For #1, I know once I select the object I get the grip handles which I can move. But what if I need to add / remove a line or arc from the profile, how can that be done?. (If anyone is interested, in TurboCAD the profile is attached to the extruded, revolved, lofted object so you can go back and edit it later – which works only 80% of the time, the other 20% TC gets so confused that you have to start over, and clearly in SolidWorks there is no problem doing this since each feature has its sketch attached to it).

For #2, Is there any way to copy the current profile from a extrude or revolve ?

Thanks in advance

Jesper

I think you might be interested in the System Variable DELOBJ.

DELOBJ controls whether geometry used to create 3D objects is retained or deleted. Values are 0, 1, 2, -1 and -2.

For further information consult the AutoCAD 2009 Help files.

as far as i know the modeling in acad isnt parametric like in solidworks, inventor, catia, unigraphics etc. In solidworks you were able to create a sketch and use this data to alter your solid at any point. While you can modify solid object in acad in various ways, as far as i know, it is not parametric.