+ Reply to Thread
    Forum Newbie
    Using
    AutoCAD 2004

Default Which version for new business?

Registered forum members do not see this ad.

This post does not really belong in this section, but I could not access the correct subject area for this. Anyway, my question is:

I am currently a project manager for a small architectural firm with 10 years of cad experience as well. After two years managing projects, I'm thinking some parts of the job is just not for me. Long story short, I am close to going on my own and doing contract work under my one-man small business. I have a great resource of clients and other firms that I will work closely with on a project by project basis, so there's no reason I should not succeed with my business plan.

My current small firm is behind a bit, and we using AutoCad 2002 still. I've dabbled with 04, and ADT, but still behind I'm sure on the newer versions. My question is, which version should I purchase, and is it worth purchacing a subscription in order to continue updating? I am assuming 2009 would make the most sence, but I'm worried this will be too big of a jump and I'll be lost. I do plan on taking some refresher trainning either way, and will definately get trainning for the new version I'll be purchasing if I go that route.

Also, do you have any opinions on what most architectrual firms are using, and leaning towards for the future? Is Revit or ADT the way to go? Any opinions on how I should approach my business with regards to autocad? I do plan on staying current and up-to-date,...just need a starting point.

Using
    Civil 3D 2008

Quote Originally Posted by Kbak75 View Post
    This post does not really belong in this section, but I could not access the correct subject area for this. Anyway, my question is: