+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 13
  1. #1
    Senior Member BenE's Avatar
    Computer Details
    BenE's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Enterprise 64-bit
    Computer:
    HP Z600 Workstation
    Motherboard:
    ACPI x64
    CPU:
    Intel Xeon E5504 2GHz
    RAM:
    24.0 GB (12.0 GB usable)
    Graphics:
    NVIDIA FX 580
    Monitor:
    Dual Gateway HD
    Discipline
    Civil
    BenE's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    Student Assistant
    Discipline
    Civil
    Details
    Open Channel Hydraulic Modeling
    Using
    Civil 3D 2012
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    Sacramento, CA
    Posts
    129

    Exclamation Can't detach Xref

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    I'm trying to detach an Xref from my drawing, and it says xref "has multiple references. Not detached." Any ideas what I can do here??

  2. #2
    Senior Member AVITWeb's Avatar
    Using
    AutoCAD 2011
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    New Jersey
    Posts
    156

    Default

    Is it the only XREF in the drawing? If not, check to make sure that all the others do not contain this particular XREF.

    If that doesn't work, do a QSELECT and tell it to select the XREF you want to detach and see how many it thinks there are.

    Something tells me though, that its the first. It sounds like you have another drawing in there that also references the one you want to detach.
    Stand back or I will explode ALL of the dimensions!!!

  3. #3
    Senior Member BenE's Avatar
    Computer Details
    BenE's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Enterprise 64-bit
    Computer:
    HP Z600 Workstation
    Motherboard:
    ACPI x64
    CPU:
    Intel Xeon E5504 2GHz
    RAM:
    24.0 GB (12.0 GB usable)
    Graphics:
    NVIDIA FX 580
    Monitor:
    Dual Gateway HD
    Discipline
    Civil
    BenE's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    Student Assistant
    Discipline
    Civil
    Details
    Open Channel Hydraulic Modeling
    Using
    Civil 3D 2012
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    Sacramento, CA
    Posts
    129

    Default

    There are several xrefs in the current drawing. I may have forgotten to clean up one of them while updating some info. I'll check them out and post my finding. Thanks for the suggestion!

  4. #4
    Senior Member BenE's Avatar
    Computer Details
    BenE's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Enterprise 64-bit
    Computer:
    HP Z600 Workstation
    Motherboard:
    ACPI x64
    CPU:
    Intel Xeon E5504 2GHz
    RAM:
    24.0 GB (12.0 GB usable)
    Graphics:
    NVIDIA FX 580
    Monitor:
    Dual Gateway HD
    Discipline
    Civil
    BenE's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    Student Assistant
    Discipline
    Civil
    Details
    Open Channel Hydraulic Modeling
    Using
    Civil 3D 2012
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    Sacramento, CA
    Posts
    129

    Default

    Well, that didn't take care of it. I couldn't find any other instances of the problem xref. Fortunately, this problem isn't an issue in my .bak file, so I'll just use the .bak and loose a little work. No worries and thanks.

    -Ben

  5. #5
    Senior Member
    Computer Details
    feargt's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    win 7
    Using
    Civil 3D 2012
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    Austria
    Posts
    428

    Default

    Most likely the xref was copied into the drawing instead of inserted in throught xrefattach or it was inadvertantly copied while in the current drawing.

    "The xref will not delete due to multiple references".

    This reference (that u cannot see) will be found under blocks. The solution is to purge your blocks in the drawing and this will delete any reference to the xref in your drawing allowing u to delete the xref from the xref manager

  6. #6
    Super Moderator Tiger's Avatar
    Computer Details
    Tiger's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Professional 64 bit
    Computer:
    HP EliteBook 8570w
    CPU:
    Intel Core i7-3720QM 2.60GHz
    RAM:
    16GB
    Graphics:
    NVIDIA Quadro K2000M
    Monitor:
    HP
    Discipline
    Civil
    Tiger's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    Education /support
    Discipline
    Civil
    Details
    Support/Education/Retail
    Using
    Civil 3D 2016
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    FjÀrdhundra, Sweden
    Posts
    5,148

    Default

    Or a Audit will do the trick if Purge is not enough.
    MTJIGSTRING = BAZINGA

  7. #7
    Full Member RichterGMC's Avatar
    Using
    Map 3D 2008
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    Alberta, Canada
    Posts
    51

    Default

    I had the exact same problem the other day, and yes running a purge cleans it up and allows for the XRef to be detached

  8. #8
    Junior Member
    Computer Details
    Kelly's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows XP Pro
    Using
    AutoCAD 2008
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    USA--Georgia
    Posts
    22

    Default

    You need to find the original file in which the xref was attached to. once you locate that file and detach it will detach in the other places. it may be a matter of opening the original xref and detaching it from there.

    HTH

  9. #9
    Luminous Being RobDraw's Avatar
    Using
    MEP 2017
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    Connecticut, USA
    Posts
    5,169

    Default

    The message states there are multiple references for that XREF. Try erasing the offending XREF and then detach it. If that still does not work, try qselect to erase all instances of that XREF and then detach.
    Drafting is a breeze.

  10. #10
    Forum Newbie
    Using
    Civil 3D 2009
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Posts
    1

    Default

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    I inadvertently attached an xref while in paper space. After it didn't show up in model space (gee, I wonder why), I reloaded it again; when I went to detach it, the above-referenced error message was generated. QSELECT didn't pick it up, but I eventually went to the layout tab containing the xref, zoomed extents, and there it was. I deleted it, and was then able to detach. I'm probably the only one boneheaded enough to make that sort of error, but thought I'd throw it out there.

Similar Threads

  1. DETACH Unreferenced Xref
    By MR MAN in forum AutoLISP, Visual LISP & DCL
    Replies: 11
    Last Post: 23rd Jul 2015, 03:41 pm
  2. Need help on my Detach/Audit/Bind/Purge code
    By JeepMaster in forum AutoLISP, Visual LISP & DCL
    Replies: 23
    Last Post: 5th Aug 2011, 11:36 am
  3. Xref help
    By 010101 in forum AutoCAD Drawing Management & Output
    Replies: 34
    Last Post: 17th Jul 2007, 10:44 am
  4. xrefs driving me mad! Can't detach
    By Vigilante in forum AutoCAD Drawing Management & Output
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: 16th Mar 2007, 03:13 pm
  5. Layer states don't transfer from an Xref of an Xref....
    By Dave-CSMW in forum AutoCAD Drawing Management & Output
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 28th Feb 2006, 06:02 pm

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts