+ Reply to Thread
Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 1 2
Results 11 to 13 of 13
  1. #11
    Senior Member
    Discipline
    Architectural
    svorgodne's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    lisp developer
    Discipline
    Architectural
    Using
    AutoCAD 2013
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Vienna, austria
    Posts
    134

    Default

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    I had the same problem and I found out the xref I cannot detach is also a nested block in another block inside. I found it deleting all entities from the drawing until I found the nested block and of course purging the block. then make the block again changing the name from the nested block in the original block and reinserting. Then the xref can be purged.

    This was my case

  2. #12
    Forum Newbie
    Using
    P&ID 2014
    Join Date
    Jul 2014
    Posts
    6

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Tiger View Post
    Or a Audit will do the trick if Purge is not enough.
    This did the trick for me. Autit and then Purge. Thanks!

    Edit : Did work only in one case, another drawing still unable to detach. But still 1/2 is a good rate

  3. #13
    Forum Newbie
    Discipline
    Landscape
    MikeS80's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    Landscape Architecture
    Discipline
    Landscape
    Using
    AutoCAD 2015
    Join Date
    Sep 2014
    Location
    California, USA
    Posts
    1

    Default This helped

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    Quote Originally Posted by bjolma View Post
    I inadvertently attached an xref while in paper space. After it didn't show up in model space (gee, I wonder why), I reloaded it again; when I went to detach it, the above-referenced error message was generated. QSELECT didn't pick it up, but I eventually went to the layout tab containing the xref, zoomed extents, and there it was. I deleted it, and was then able to detach. I'm probably the only one boneheaded enough to make that sort of error, but thought I'd throw it out there.

    Whatever I did, Bjolma, your suggestion sent me down the right track. Maybe I, like you, screwed up and xrefed into paperspace, or something.

    I went through each of my layout tabs and deleted any that I didn't need. I also zoom/extends every remaining layout, and deleted anything unnecessary, including any dots (in case the Xref was tiny).

    I then, on a hunch, went to my xref manager while in paperspace and this time WAS ABLE to delete my problematic Xref!

    Good work, gang! We solved the mystery!

Similar Threads

  1. DETACH Unreferenced Xref
    By MR MAN in forum AutoLISP, Visual LISP & DCL
    Replies: 11
    Last Post: 23rd Jul 2015, 03:41 pm
  2. Need help on my Detach/Audit/Bind/Purge code
    By JeepMaster in forum AutoLISP, Visual LISP & DCL
    Replies: 23
    Last Post: 5th Aug 2011, 11:36 am
  3. Xref help
    By 010101 in forum AutoCAD Drawing Management & Output
    Replies: 34
    Last Post: 17th Jul 2007, 10:44 am
  4. xrefs driving me mad! Can't detach
    By Vigilante in forum AutoCAD Drawing Management & Output
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: 16th Mar 2007, 03:13 pm
  5. Layer states don't transfer from an Xref of an Xref....
    By Dave-CSMW in forum AutoCAD Drawing Management & Output
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 28th Feb 2006, 06:02 pm

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts