+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: editing text

  1. #1
    Forum Newbie
    Using
    Architecture 2007
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Posts
    8

    Default editing text

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    hi,

    double clicking any sort of text isn't working -

    don't know exactly how this happened, it was working fine when i first started up this morning -

    have i messed with a setting somewhere?

  2. #2
    Super Member nocturne00's Avatar
    Computer Details
    nocturne00's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows Vista SP2
    Computer:
    Dell Studio XPS
    CPU:
    Intel(R) Core(TM)2 Duo CPU P8600
    RAM:
    4GB DDR3 RAM
    Graphics:
    ATI Radeon, 512MB
    Monitor:
    22" Samsung
    Using
    AutoCAD 2009
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Tartarus
    Posts
    765

    Default

    check your selection settings, Options> Selection> Selection Mode> Check noun/Verb Selection
    ....always perform Beyond what is expected.

  3. #3
    Forum Newbie
    Using
    Architecture 2007
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Posts
    8

    Default

    yep did that double click editing setting was on.

    sussed it out in the end - other commands weren't working properly either, looking through the system variables "SETVAR" discovered that "PICKFIRST" was off.

    still - don't know how that happened.

  4. #4
    Super Member nocturne00's Avatar
    Computer Details
    nocturne00's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows Vista SP2
    Computer:
    Dell Studio XPS
    CPU:
    Intel(R) Core(TM)2 Duo CPU P8600
    RAM:
    4GB DDR3 RAM
    Graphics:
    ATI Radeon, 512MB
    Monitor:
    22" Samsung
    Using
    AutoCAD 2009
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Tartarus
    Posts
    765

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by the_phil View Post
    yep did that double click editing setting was on.

    sussed it out in the end - other commands weren't working properly either, looking through the system variables "SETVAR" discovered that "PICKFIRST" was off.

    still - don't know how that happened.
    that would be the same as the non/verb selection setting under option.
    this commonly happens when you are using the MVSETUP command, when aligning or rotating viewports, it resets your ONSNAP and PICKFIRST variable (but only until the command is done).
    If you terminate the command prematurely (ESC), changes done by the MVSETUP command will retain, thus your PICKFIRST variable, ONSNAP settings are screwed up
    ....always perform Beyond what is expected.

  5. #5
    Forum Newbie
    Using
    Architecture 2007
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Posts
    8

    Default

    that's it !!

    i was using mvsetup - i aligned rotating but put the wrong angle in for the rotate and just escaped from the command

    genius

  6. #6
    Senior Member
    Discipline
    Multi-disciplinary
    bonehead411's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    Drawing Office Manager - Manufacturing
    Discipline
    Multi-disciplinary
    Details
    Odour Control, Chemical Storage, Scrubbers/Quench Columns, Piping, Ducting, Tanks, Vessels
    Using
    not applicable
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    Sutton Fields, Hull, East Yorkshire, England
    Posts
    219

    Default

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    Genius indeed.
    LT 2005 doesn't have the MVSETUP function, but I'll try and retain this little nugget in case we ever upgrade to full AutoCAD.

Similar Threads

  1. Text editing box is off-screen
    By SteveDevil in forum AutoCAD General
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 11th Sep 2008, 03:26 pm
  2. my text dissapers when editing
    By cadclutze in forum AutoCAD General
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 11th Jun 2008, 03:24 pm
  3. Editing Text
    By Leroy Jenkins in forum AutoCAD General
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 24th Oct 2007, 06:15 pm
  4. Editing text..
    By matt4 in forum AutoCAD General
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 24th Jun 2007, 09:21 pm
  5. text editing
    By Jamalama in forum AutoCAD Drawing Management & Output
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 11th Sep 2006, 08:28 pm

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts