+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 5 of 5
  1. #1
    Full Member
    Using
    AutoCAD 2008
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Posts
    45

    Default Tough Question - TIFF Bitonal Raster Image

    AutoCAD2008

    In doing some more research on my "reference question" below, I found that the scanner we have at work creates a tiff image and apparently there are different types of tiffs. Our scanner creates a tiff with a "bitonal" color setting. Does anyone know how to convert a tiff with a "RGB" color setting to a tiff with a "bitonal" color setting. I have done some searches but have come up with very little information about the subject. I would prefer to be able to do this with autocad software if it can be done, but any method/help would be greatly appreciated.

    I thank everyone for taking the time to read my questions, and putting the effort to possibly answering them.

    REFERENCE QUESTION FROM OTHER THREAD
    At work we have a large format sheet fed OCE scanner to scan drawings. When you use this scanner to scan a drawing to a .tif format and you insert this .tif into an autocad drawing, it produces almost a negative image (where the background is black and the linework comes out whatever color the layer is set

    to, for example red layer color = red linework) This is the desired effect that I am looking for which is good. My problem is that When you insert a regular .tif image into autocad, the image will appear exactly how the .tif file looks.For example, if the background is white in the .tif the background will be white when inserted into autocad drawing. My questions is, does anyone know if there
    is a setting in autocad that can produce a raster image with a black background and linework based on the color of the layer, or is this a setting specifically created by our scanner?

  2. #2
    Senior Member
    Computer Details
    feargt's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    win 7
    Using
    Civil 3D 2012
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    Austria
    Posts
    393

    Default

    I use to have similar issues in my last office. (I'm not sure which scanner we had though)

    But we were able to view the scanned tif on a computer beside the scanner, and using this software we were able to open other tif images that were not bitonal and save it as bitonal with this program. Beats me what it was called but maybe worth a try for you

  3. #3
    Super Member rustysilo's Avatar
    Computer Details
    rustysilo's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    WinXP
    Discipline
    Civil
    rustysilo's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    Senior CAD Draftsman
    Discipline
    Civil
    Using
    Civil 3D 2008
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    Jacksonville, FL - USA
    Posts
    1,458

    Default

    Maybe try converting it with a graphics program like Photoshop or the GIMP. Another file converter that may work is Irfanview, but I am unsure if it will work.
    "Constantly choosing the lesser of two evils is still choosing evil." ~ Jerry Garcia
    flickr |
    work | blog | creed
    rustysilo's tips & tutorials

  4. #4
    Forum Deity
    Using
    AutoCAD 2002
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Location
    East Sussex, U.K.
    Posts
    3,481

    Default

    The last time I scanned an image for insertion, I saved it as a TIFF image, and the background was transparent. So the linework took the colour of the layer it was inserted to. I don't know what I did to make the background transparent, but this seems a desirable thing to happen.

  5. #5
    Forum Newbie
    Using
    AutoCAD 2005
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Posts
    1

    Default

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    For anyone still stumbling on to this (as I did):
    I used irfanview to save a .jpg to tif format and in the options box select huffman rle, the image now imports to autocad with the line colour matching the current layer colour or any that is susequently selected

Similar Threads

  1. Raster Image question again!
    By matt4 in forum AutoCAD General
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 31st May 2008, 11:41 pm
  2. extract actual drawing from TIFF image
    By jbwrks in forum AutoCAD General
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 13th Feb 2008, 05:19 pm
  3. Fatal error when attaching TIFF, TIF, or CAL image files
    By Autodesk in forum AutoCAD RSS Feeds
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 14th Nov 2006, 05:48 pm
  4. Fatal error printing drawing with bitonal image
    By Autodesk in forum AutoCAD RSS Feeds
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 5th Sep 2006, 12:18 pm
  5. bitonal raster image clipping
    By SgtDoak in forum AutoCAD General
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 10th Apr 2006, 02:26 pm

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts