Point Insertion Lisp

jaylo23

A little background before I get to request. I work in the mechanical design industry and deal with storage tanks alot as well as piping to said tanks. We draw all of our tanks in 3D (autocad 2007) and use bentley for our piping. The thing is that we have to put nozzles (alot)on top of these tanks to pipe to. This need to be pretty accurate as the tanks will be built off of our drawings as well as pipe that is pre-fabricated to go to these nozzles. Please see attached drawing. What i am looking for is an lisp that will insert a point at an user specified radius from the center of the cone, at an user specified angle and an user specified distance from the cone. The apex of the cone will change per the diameter of it but it is always drawn at 15 degree slope. That way we can insert a nozzle block (maybe include in lisp) at the point created by the lisp. I am hoping this will clear up errors by my drafters and speed things up as we have dozens of nozzles sometimes and human error is expected. I did a search and didnt find a lisp like this (sorry if there is already one). Thanks in advance for your help

EXAMPLE.dwg

• Replies 20
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

• jaylo23

• ReMark

• devitg

Haven't come across such a Lisp routine as you described. We deal with ASME flanged and dished heads with up to eight nozzles and usually a manway located with sometimes as many as three different radii. We're pretty darn accurate in our placement too. Your drawing depicts a flat bottom tank with a cone top (at a fixed slope), yet your people are having trouble accurately locating the placement of the nozzles? How is this normally done? Just curious.

I've seen a Lisp routine for drawing tanks posted here but none that address nozzle placement.