+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 21
  1. #1
    Full Member
    Using
    AutoCAD 2007
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Posts
    38

    Default How do i draw line at specific angle?

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    How do i draw line at specific angle.

    if i have the length on the x axis and angle,
    when i do @.25<45 the line becomes .25 in length
    i need the x dim to be .25 @ 45 degrees. as shown in the picture
    Attached Images

  2. #2
    Super Member nocturne00's Avatar
    Computer Details
    nocturne00's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows Vista SP2
    Computer:
    Dell Studio XPS
    CPU:
    Intel(R) Core(TM)2 Duo CPU P8600
    RAM:
    4GB DDR3 RAM
    Graphics:
    ATI Radeon, 512MB
    Monitor:
    22" Samsung
    Using
    AutoCAD 2009
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Tartarus
    Posts
    765

    Default

    dont type @, just .25<45
    ....always perform Beyond what is expected.

  3. #3
    Full Member
    Using
    AutoCAD 2007
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Posts
    38

    Default

    it wont accept

    @,.25<45

    i need the x dim to be .25
    not the angular line

  4. #4
    Super Member nocturne00's Avatar
    Computer Details
    nocturne00's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows Vista SP2
    Computer:
    Dell Studio XPS
    CPU:
    Intel(R) Core(TM)2 Duo CPU P8600
    RAM:
    4GB DDR3 RAM
    Graphics:
    ATI Radeon, 512MB
    Monitor:
    22" Samsung
    Using
    AutoCAD 2009
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Tartarus
    Posts
    765

    Default

    i mean dont include the @
    just the .25<45
    ....always perform Beyond what is expected.

  5. #5
    Super Member nocturne00's Avatar
    Computer Details
    nocturne00's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows Vista SP2
    Computer:
    Dell Studio XPS
    CPU:
    Intel(R) Core(TM)2 Duo CPU P8600
    RAM:
    4GB DDR3 RAM
    Graphics:
    ATI Radeon, 512MB
    Monitor:
    22" Samsung
    Using
    AutoCAD 2009
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Tartarus
    Posts
    765

    Default

    Check out the command line, the @ is automatically inputed anyway
    Attached Images
    ....always perform Beyond what is expected.

  6. #6
    Full Member
    Using
    AutoCAD 2007
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Posts
    38

    Default

    first when i type .25<45 it wont put the @ automatic
    second it will come absolute style
    and third i need the .25 to be the x dim
    not the angular dim (v). when i write it the way you said i get the (V) dim as .25
    i need the x dim to be .25
    Attached Images
    Last edited by nbaryosef; 12th Oct 2008 at 06:54 am.

  7. #7
    Super Member nocturne00's Avatar
    Computer Details
    nocturne00's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows Vista SP2
    Computer:
    Dell Studio XPS
    CPU:
    Intel(R) Core(TM)2 Duo CPU P8600
    RAM:
    4GB DDR3 RAM
    Graphics:
    ATI Radeon, 512MB
    Monitor:
    22" Samsung
    Using
    AutoCAD 2009
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Tartarus
    Posts
    765

    Default

    "first when i type .25<45 it wont put the @ automatic"
    it is placed automatically after you hit enter, see the command line in my previous post.
    as for your elusive question, its like drawing a right triangle where you want to draw a line(hypotenuse) where your input is based from the base angle and base length. No, there is no such way.
    ....always perform Beyond what is expected.

  8. #8
    Senior Member the ber's Avatar
    Computer Details
    the ber's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 64 bit
    Discipline
    Facilities Mgmt
    Using
    AutoCAD LT 2013
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    202

    Default

    you may have to input using rectangular (cartesian) coordinates instead of polar, because when you use polar input, autocad interprets the first number as length, and not the x-component of the length.
    if you want to use relative coordinates by default, with the @ symbol, then right-click on the "DYN" button and select settings. under "enable pointer input" select "settings", and then click on "relative coordinates".

  9. #9
    Forum Deity
    Using
    AutoCAD 2002
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Location
    East Sussex, U.K.
    Posts
    3,513

    Default

    In this particular case, knowing that 45° gives an equal x and y dimension, you should enter a relative coordinate of 0.25,0.25.

    For polar coordinates, you should be inputting the hypotenuse (in this case 0.354), if you want to specify an angle.

  10. #10
    Full Member
    Using
    AutoCAD 2007
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Posts
    38

    Default

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    so there is no other way of doing it, the drawing i got had only the .25 dim
    and the angle.
    so what you tell me is that i need to find the other hight dim or find out the
    the length of the hypotenuse (v) dim

    thnks

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 7
    Last Post: 6th May 2010, 01:39 pm
  2. lisp to draw line on same angle as line picked
    By john_ in forum AutoLISP, Visual LISP & DCL
    Replies: 12
    Last Post: 21st Oct 2009, 03:32 pm
  3. How to draw a cylinder at a specific angle
    By cruzersoul in forum AutoCAD 3D Modelling & Rendering
    Replies: 12
    Last Post: 1st May 2009, 01:55 pm
  4. draw a line using VBA with an angle and a length?
    By wbluem88 in forum AutoLISP, Visual LISP & DCL
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 12th Aug 2008, 06:07 pm
  5. Drawing line at a specific angle.
    By bobsly in forum AutoCAD General
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 2nd Jun 2006, 02:38 pm

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts