Any advice before buying a laptop to run AutoCAD Architecture ?

CAD-LOVER0208

Hello,

I'm looking forward buying the following laptop, is that going to be good for AutoCAD 2009 as I am a student and taking Architectural Technology Program and I need it for this purpose .

• Intel® Pentium Core 2 Duo 2.0 GHz
  • 3GB Memory
  • 250GB Hard Drive
  • Integrated 3D graphics, featuring Intel®
  • Graphics Media Accelerator X3100
  • 1.3 Megapixel Integrated Webcam
  • 6 cell lithium Ion 2 hour battery
  • Built in wireless and Gigabit Ethernet wired networking
  • HDMI high definition video output, 3 USB Ports, 5 in 1 card reader, headphone/speaker jack
  • 1 Year Parts and Labour Manufacturer Warranty + Toll Free

Any recommendations will be great.

Many thanks

CAD-LOVER0208

Sounds Good.

I am no expert, but when looking for my laptop, I concentrated on the microproscesors. That was what seemed to make the differnce in price for the laptops also. The Intel pentium core 2 duo is what I have.

Autodeak products do need a decent machine.

Only thing you may want to look into (problem I had when I bought brand new lappy) is vista (may come with laptop) and you could have some issues (all fixable though, so don't panic if you get home and can't install cad, just check forum for fix)

What make/model are you contemplating?

Rendering via an x3100 could be glacially slow depending on the scale of your models.

http://discussion.autodesk.com/forums/thread.jspa?threadID=584827

http://autodesk.blogs.com/between_the_lines/2007/02/system_requirem.html

Also scout around http://www.notebookreview.com/ for comments on the x3100 and AutoCAD.

Unless you're looking for the least expensive entry point to support modest models in class it looks like you would soon wish for better graphics.

sounds good to me too, the RAM is the most important, ovo the graphics card and the hard drive space (gb) but most come with a reasonable amount now anyway.

:)