+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 7 of 7
  1. #1
    Forum Newbie
    Using
    AutoCAD 2005
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Posts
    7

    Default Merge closed polylines

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    Hello all,
    every time i use Autocad i realize how few i know about it...
    There are so many things it can do that i do not know (yet anyway).
    The latest problem i came across was trying to merge 2 closed polylines. That is i have 2 closed polylines having at least 2 same points with each other. I want to merge those 2 to become 1 or better yet create a new polyline containing both. I can not do it through PEDIT -> Multiple.
    I guess there must be a way to do so but i do not know it...
    Thanks in advance for any reply!

    PS: I have searched for this question in the forum and found no answers to that problem! I am sorry if such a thread already exists!

  2. #2
    Quantum Mechanic ReMark's Avatar
    Computer Details
    ReMark's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Pro 64-bit
    Computer:
    Thinkmate
    Motherboard:
    Intel DX58SO2 LGA1366 X58
    CPU:
    Intel i7-960 Quad-core 3.20GHz 8MB cache
    RAM:
    12GB (3x4GB) PC3-106000 DDR3
    Graphics:
    nVidia Quadro 4000, 2GB GDDR5
    Primary Storage:
    150GB Velocipraptor 10,000 rpm
    Secondary Storage:
    none
    Monitor:
    Dell P24LLH - 24" wide screen LCD
    Discipline
    See details...
    ReMark's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    CAD Draftsman/Designer...chemical manufacturing.
    Discipline
    See details below.
    Details
    I work for a specialty chemical manufacturer. I do a little bit of everything from P&IDs to civil to architectural and structural.
    Using
    AutoCAD 2015
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Norwalk, CT USofA
    Posts
    40,472

    Default

    I don't believe there is a native AutoCAD function that will merge two closed polylines. However, you might want to take a look at a program called PolyTools 2.0 that advertises itself as a collection of polyline editing tools for AutoCAD. One of those tools is a routine for merging two polylines (supposedly with one click). It retails for $100 (US) but there is a free 30-day trial available at:

    http://www.swisscad.com/products.php...duct=polytools
    "I have only come here seeking knowledge. Things they wouldn't teach me of in college." The Police

    Eat brains...gain more knowledge!

    I'm now a full member of the Society for the Promotion of Mediocrity in CAD. Standards? We don't need no stinkin' standards! Take whatever advice I offer and do the opposite.

  3. #3
    Forum Newbie
    Using
    AutoCAD 2005
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Posts
    7

    Smile

    Quote Originally Posted by ReMark View Post
    I don't believe there is a native AutoCAD function that will merge two closed polylines. However, you might want to take a look at a program called PolyTools 2.0 that advertises itself as a collection of polyline editing tools for AutoCAD. One of those tools is a routine for merging two polylines (supposedly with one click). It retails for $100 (US) but there is a free 30-day trial available at:
    Thank you for the reply. Actually i had searched internet and found that collection. Haven't still tried it though! But i still believe there must be another way to do this through autocad, for example with BOUNDARY command (only that output would be 1 polyline).
    Thank you for the help... I will try that collection and see. Problem is it is not free!

  4. #4
    Senior Member
    Computer Details
    Doove's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    7
    Computer:
    HP Elitebook
    CPU:
    Intel i7 M620 2.67GHz
    RAM:
    8GB
    Graphics:
    NVidia Quadro FX880M (512MB)
    Using
    Inventor 2011
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    South Wales
    Posts
    135

    Default

    You can change status of closed polylines to open via properties tab; alternatively you can 'break' each polyline at the required vertex using "pedit", then "edit vertex", then "break".

    You can then rejoin the polylines as you wish.

  5. #5
    Forum Newbie
    Using
    AutoCAD 2005
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Posts
    7

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Doove View Post
    You can change status of closed polylines to open via properties tab; alternatively you can 'break' each polyline at the required vertex using "pedit", then "edit vertex", then "break".

    You can then rejoin the polylines as you wish.
    This was the way i do it... But i came across with needing to merge more polylines and also do it faster (time=money)...
    But still Thanks for the help!

  6. #6
    Quantum Mechanic ReMark's Avatar
    Computer Details
    ReMark's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Pro 64-bit
    Computer:
    Thinkmate
    Motherboard:
    Intel DX58SO2 LGA1366 X58
    CPU:
    Intel i7-960 Quad-core 3.20GHz 8MB cache
    RAM:
    12GB (3x4GB) PC3-106000 DDR3
    Graphics:
    nVidia Quadro 4000, 2GB GDDR5
    Primary Storage:
    150GB Velocipraptor 10,000 rpm
    Secondary Storage:
    none
    Monitor:
    Dell P24LLH - 24" wide screen LCD
    Discipline
    See details...
    ReMark's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    CAD Draftsman/Designer...chemical manufacturing.
    Discipline
    See details below.
    Details
    I work for a specialty chemical manufacturer. I do a little bit of everything from P&IDs to civil to architectural and structural.
    Using
    AutoCAD 2015
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Norwalk, CT USofA
    Posts
    40,472

    Default

    The method proposed by Doove is one I've used myself but a true "merge" option in the polyline edit toolset would be a welcomed addition. I could see a good use for it in architectural drawings working with walls.
    "I have only come here seeking knowledge. Things they wouldn't teach me of in college." The Police

    Eat brains...gain more knowledge!

    I'm now a full member of the Society for the Promotion of Mediocrity in CAD. Standards? We don't need no stinkin' standards! Take whatever advice I offer and do the opposite.

  7. #7
    Super Moderator fuccaro's Avatar
    Using
    AutoCAD 2006
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Location
    Romania, Marosvasarhely
    Posts
    3,543

    Default

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    Draw a big rectangle to enclose the two polylines. Use the BPOLY command and select a point inside the rectangle but outside the polylines. The command will create two new polylines: une superposed with the rectangle and one more that suit your needs. Just delete the initial polylines and the rectangles.
    It's nice to be nice, but sometimes is nicer to be evil!.
    Tip: Please do not PM or email me with CAD questions - use the forums, you'll get an answer sooner.

Similar Threads

  1. LISP for marks Centroids of closed polylines
    By Fantomas in forum AutoLISP, Visual LISP & DCL
    Replies: 11
    Last Post: 21st Mar 2011, 03:00 am
  2. moving polylines within other closed polyline
    By sryabinin in forum AutoLISP, Visual LISP & DCL
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 23rd Feb 2010, 07:42 am
  3. LISP ROUTINE EXTRUDE CLOSED POLYLINES
    By huguini in forum AutoCAD General
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 7th Oct 2005, 02:16 pm
  4. dividing closed polylines
    By gainer in forum AutoLISP, Visual LISP & DCL
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 14th Apr 2005, 03:40 pm
  5. How to merge?
    By aubob in forum AutoCAD Drawing Management & Output
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 20th Jan 2005, 01:17 am

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts