+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 9 of 9
  1. #1
    Super Member
    Computer Details
    wannabe's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    XP
    Using
    AutoCAD 2007
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    Birmingham, UK
    Posts
    772

    Default Leader, Dimension Arrow Sizes

    When I create a scaled viewport of a cross section and change the dimensions and leaders to paper space, so I can set their values to match the other viewports and then change them back to model space to look the same as all other arrows, the arrow size remains the same thus I cannot make all arrows in differently scaled viewports look the same on paper space.

    The company I work for has multiple dim styles built into the drawing templates; so when using a recognised scales I already have the correct settings.

    Today, however I am producing not to scale viewports and just wandered if there was a simple solution rather than creating a new dimensiion style or overide for each NTS viewports.

  2. #2
    Super Member nocturne00's Avatar
    Computer Details
    nocturne00's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows Vista SP2
    Computer:
    Dell Studio XPS
    CPU:
    Intel(R) Core(TM)2 Duo CPU P8600
    RAM:
    4GB DDR3 RAM
    Graphics:
    ATI Radeon, 512MB
    Monitor:
    22" Samsung
    Using
    AutoCAD 2009
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Tartarus
    Posts
    765

    Default

    one way is to use annotative dimensioning, this way you dont have to create multiple dim styles with different text heights, arrow head sizes etc.
    Another is to directly dimension in paper space but you must set your dim style to "scale dimensions to layout", then if need be that the dimensions are to be in model space, use CHSPACE command to switch the dimensions from PS to MS.
    ....always perform Beyond what is expected.

  3. #3
    Super Member nocturne00's Avatar
    Computer Details
    nocturne00's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows Vista SP2
    Computer:
    Dell Studio XPS
    CPU:
    Intel(R) Core(TM)2 Duo CPU P8600
    RAM:
    4GB DDR3 RAM
    Graphics:
    ATI Radeon, 512MB
    Monitor:
    22" Samsung
    Using
    AutoCAD 2009
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Tartarus
    Posts
    765

    Default

    Here's where you change dims to "scale dims to layout"
    Attached Images
    ....always perform Beyond what is expected.

  4. #4
    Super Member
    Computer Details
    wannabe's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    XP
    Using
    AutoCAD 2007
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    Birmingham, UK
    Posts
    772

    Default

    Im using 2007 and I dont know if this version enables annotative dimensions and text.

    As you mentioned, using the change space function is what I have been doing to set the dimensions up to a consistent format. Unfortunately the arrow size remains the same size in paper and model and even with another dimension copied from another viewport via the chspace, the arrows will be visibly different but with identical arrow sizes in the properties for them.

    Thanks.

  5. #5
    Super Member
    Computer Details
    wannabe's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    XP
    Using
    AutoCAD 2007
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    Birmingham, UK
    Posts
    772

    Default

    Your illustration helped me fix the problem perfectly, thankyou.

  6. #6
    Super Member nocturne00's Avatar
    Computer Details
    nocturne00's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows Vista SP2
    Computer:
    Dell Studio XPS
    CPU:
    Intel(R) Core(TM)2 Duo CPU P8600
    RAM:
    4GB DDR3 RAM
    Graphics:
    ATI Radeon, 512MB
    Monitor:
    22" Samsung
    Using
    AutoCAD 2009
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Tartarus
    Posts
    765

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by wannabe View Post
    Im using 2007 and I dont know if this version enables annotative dimensions and text.

    As you mentioned, using the change space function is what I have been doing to set the dimensions up to a consistent format. Unfortunately the arrow size remains the same size in paper and model and even with another dimension copied from another viewport via the chspace, the arrows will be visibly different but with identical arrow sizes in the properties for them.

    Thanks.
    Cant you just leave the dimensions in PS?
    Properties of dimensions that have been switched from paper space to model space will of course be different, CAD calculates for the equivalent properties to retain onlythe appearance of the dimensions w/c have been switched depending on the scale of the viewport.
    im a bit confused with you saying that the arrowheads are different but have the same arrowhead size in properties,
    ....always perform Beyond what is expected.

  7. #7
    Super Member
    Computer Details
    wannabe's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    XP
    Using
    AutoCAD 2007
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    Birmingham, UK
    Posts
    772

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by nocturne00 View Post
    Cant you just leave the dimensions in PS?
    Properties of dimensions that have been switched from paper space to model space will of course be different, CAD calculates for the equivalent properties to retain onlythe appearance of the dimensions w/c have been switched depending on the scale of the viewport.
    im a bit confused with you saying that the arrowheads are different but have the same arrowhead size in properties,
    Thats right. If I chspace the value for the arrowhead reamins at 0.400. Likewise if I change an arrow in a different viewport that also says its height is 0.400 in paper space it stays the same.

    So, when I put these two arrows next to each other they both say 0,.400 when one clearly isnt.

    Whats even more annoying is that the new style that is scaled to layout also has some strange mannerisms. For instance, any dimensions on that style will automatically update when i change the settings for that style (arrow size, text size etc) but when I creat a new dimension it looks way smaller.

    Its getting quite annoying now to be honest.

  8. #8
    Super Member
    Computer Details
    wannabe's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    XP
    Using
    AutoCAD 2007
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    Birmingham, UK
    Posts
    772

    Default

    Actually ignore the last bit about dimension scaling to the layout, it does seem to be ok now. That was my mis-interpretation.

  9. #9
    Super Member nocturne00's Avatar
    Computer Details
    nocturne00's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows Vista SP2
    Computer:
    Dell Studio XPS
    CPU:
    Intel(R) Core(TM)2 Duo CPU P8600
    RAM:
    4GB DDR3 RAM
    Graphics:
    ATI Radeon, 512MB
    Monitor:
    22" Samsung
    Using
    AutoCAD 2009
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Tartarus
    Posts
    765

    Default

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    glad to hear.
    honestly I dont even peek at the properties of switched dimensions anymore just as long as they are all uniform in appearance.

    Cheers
    ....always perform Beyond what is expected.

Similar Threads

  1. Custom arrow / leader help
    By mt1083 in forum AutoCAD 2D Drafting, Object Properties & Interface
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 13th Mar 2008, 08:35 pm
  2. leader arrow heads and shoulder
    By wastewater in forum AutoCAD 2D Drafting, Object Properties & Interface
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 14th Feb 2008, 04:09 pm
  3. Leader Arrow Size
    By DODGE in forum AutoCAD Beginners' Area
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 1st Dec 2006, 06:40 pm
  4. re Closed Blank Leader Arrow ;
    By davidv in forum AutoCAD Drawing Management & Output
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 19th Aug 2004, 09:19 am
  5. Leader arrow head is very small
    By jocaan in forum AutoCAD Beginners' Area
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 17th May 2004, 05:36 pm

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts