+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 4 of 4

Thread: PEDIT

  1. #1
    Forum Newbie
    Using
    not specified
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Posts
    2

    Default PEDIT

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    Hi all my first post

    Ok I have drawn a box with polylines at a width of 300mm. I want to extrude those lines by 50mm.

    First I have to join the lines with pedit right? Is this the way to do it?

    pedit
    M for multiple
    J for join

    The trouble is I keep getting this fuzztype option up and I donít know what it is. I try 0 for fuzztype but it keeps saying 0 segments added to polyline.

    Any help much appreciated

    $ilver

  2. #2
    Administrator CADTutor's Avatar
    Computer Details
    CADTutor's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Home Premium 64bit
    Motherboard:
    Asus P7P55D-E PRO
    CPU:
    Intel Core i7-860
    RAM:
    4GB PC3-12800 C8 Corsair Dominator
    Graphics:
    NVIDIA Quadro FX 1800 768 MB
    Primary Storage:
    Intel X25-M SSD 160GB
    Secondary Storage:
    Samsung Spinpoint 320GB
    Monitor:
    BenQ FP241W 24" Wide
    Discipline
    Education
    CADTutor's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    Senior Lecturer (Digital Design), Landscape Architect & Web Designer
    Discipline
    Education
    Using
    AutoCAD 2015
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Location
    Hampshire, UK
    Posts
    3,731

    Default

    Start PEDIT, select just one of your lines, J for join, select other lines when prompted. All lines must touch, end-to-end for this to work correctly. Once you have a single closed polyline, it can be extruded.

    However, you may find it easier simply to use the REGION command to create a region from your 4 lines and then extrude that. See this topic for details.

    Oh, and welcome to the forum.
    Tip: Please do not PM or email me with CAD questions - use the forums, you'll get an answer sooner.
    AutoCAD Tutorials | How to add images to your posts | How to register successfully | Forum FAQ

  3. #3
    Super Member
    Using
    Architectural DT 2007
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    London
    Posts
    1,087

    Default

    If you do use the PEDIT function then if you have many lines to join up set your PEDITACCEPT variable TO 1.That way you wont be asked this every time:
    Object selected is not a polyline
    "Do you want to turn it into one? <Y>"

  4. #4
    Senior Member
    Using
    AutoCAD 2008
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    Oh! Canada
    Posts
    179

    Default

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    To $ilver: first of all, you have to clarify which is which you have used a "polyline" or "line" command to make the box.

    If you use polyline command; which you stated, your box should be joined and closed.
    Unless you go through the trouble of using polyline command for each side of the box.
    Pedit command is to convert line into polyline and also Pedit to convert polyline into closed, joined, width, fit, spline....etc.

    Fuzz: according to Autocad definition is as follow:
    "You can join a line, an arc, or another polyline to an open polyline if their ends connect or are close to each other. If the ends are not coincident but are within a distance that you can set, called the fuzz distance, the ends are joined by either trimming them, extending them, or connecting them with a new segment"

    Example: using your own box as an example.
    Using the line command, draw only the first 3 sides of the box.
    Then use Pedit to convert the lines into polylines and joined them.
    Still using Pedit command choose close and watch the 3 converted polyline into closed polyline box.

    One silly question though: Why go through all that, when you can use the solid command for box, sphere, cone...etc?

    Hope I can help.

    Regards,
    LSR

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts