+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 5 of 5
  1. #1
    Forum Newbie
    Using
    AutoCAD pre 2000
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Posts
    2

    Default Can't change line type, need some help guys.

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    Greetings.

    My first post here. Hope it's not crass to start off right away with a question.

    Here goes, I have the old AutoCAD R14. It serves me well and I use it often to draw shapes to cut on my CNC plasma table.

    My problem today is I have drawn a part that I need to sub out to get some bending done on it. What I want to do is add dashed lines to the shape where I need the bends made.

    I changed to a new layer, ( layer 1 ), gave it a new color, loaded one of the dashed linetypes and set it to current. I must be missing something though because when I draw a line it shows up in the new color OK, but it remains solid.

    Any help would be appreciated.

    Thanks

  2. #2
    Senior Member BOB'27T's Avatar
    Computer Details
    BOB'27T's Computer Details
    Computer:
    Dell Precision 690
    Monitor:
    Dual 21" Dell
    Using
    Civil 3D 2009
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Location
    Tavares,Florida
    Posts
    416

    Default

    Check in the properties and see if the linetype is set to "ByLayer".
    "Those Who Pay Attention Will Be Rewarded"

  3. #3
    Forum Newbie
    Using
    AutoCAD pre 2000
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Posts
    2

    Default

    Thanks for your help.

    Works now with it set to " By Layer ".

    This will get me going today, I can e-mail the drawing into my subcontractor now.

    I'll be back soon, have to read up on using the different drawing templates, title blocks etc...

  4. #4
    Super Member Tankman's Avatar
    Computer Details
    Tankman's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    XP Pro SP3
    Computer:
    IBM T60 Thinkpad™
    Monitor:
    36" LCD Monitor/TV, 14" Thinkpad™ T60
    Using
    AutoCAD 2007
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    Eastern PA, USA
    Posts
    1,794

    Default

    Welcome to the forums T.A. Metal!

    Great advice from the '27T oh, I mean Bob.
    Sorry Bob!
    Tankman

    "When the well is dry, we know the worth of water." Ben Franklin ~ 1746

  5. #5
    Senior Member BOB'27T's Avatar
    Computer Details
    BOB'27T's Computer Details
    Computer:
    Dell Precision 690
    Monitor:
    Dual 21" Dell
    Using
    Civil 3D 2009
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Location
    Tavares,Florida
    Posts
    416

    Default

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    You're welcome! Glad to be of help!
    "Those Who Pay Attention Will Be Rewarded"

Similar Threads

  1. Line Type
    By GIB39 in forum AutoCAD Beginners' Area
    Replies: 11
    Last Post: 26th Feb 2009, 11:53 pm
  2. Help with line type
    By chee_dee in forum AutoCAD 2D Drafting, Object Properties & Interface
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 11th Jul 2008, 11:16 am
  3. How to creat your own line type
    By shadow3865 in forum AutoCAD Drawing Management & Output
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 23rd Apr 2008, 08:10 pm
  4. another line type
    By GTizzle in forum AutoCAD Drawing Management & Output
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 26th Jul 2006, 11:42 pm
  5. LINE END TYPE
    By chrisdarmanin in forum AutoCAD Drawing Management & Output
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 6th Mar 2006, 07:20 pm

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts