+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 11
  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Using
    AutoCAD 2005
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Posts
    11

    Default change xref color

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    Is there a way to change the color of XREF (or several XREFs) and then change it back to its original color? I have several in a drawing that I would like to change to one color kind of use as a background while I do my work. But they would need to be changed back to the original colors.

    Astrofan

  2. #2
    Senior Member soleary's Avatar
    Computer Details
    soleary's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows Vista
    Using
    AutoCAD 2008
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    Ireland, Republic of
    Posts
    202

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by astrosfan View Post
    Is there a way to change the color of XREF (or several XREFs) and then change it back to its original color? I have several in a drawing that I would like to change to one color kind of use as a background while I do my work. But they would need to be changed back to the original colors.

    Astrofan
    While working on the master drawing ensure VISRETAIN is set to 0. Change the colours of the XREF dependant layers in the layer properties dialogue box. If VISRETAIN is set to 0 the next time you open the drawing the layers from the XREF will be reloaded, in this case back to their original colour.

    If you wanted to, you could change them back manually also, of course.

  3. #3
    Junior Member
    Using
    AutoCAD 2005
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Posts
    11

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by soleary View Post
    While working on the master drawing ensure VISRETAIN is set to 0. Change the colours of the XREF dependant layers in the layer properties dialogue box. If VISRETAIN is set to 0 the next time you open the drawing the layers from the XREF will be reloaded, in this case back to their original colour.

    If you wanted to, you could change them back manually also, of course.

    THANKS! I will give it a try!

  4. #4
    Senior Member jaylo23's Avatar
    Computer Details
    jaylo23's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows XP
    Computer:
    Dell Precision 390
    CPU:
    Dual Core Intel(R) Core(TM) 2 CPU
    RAM:
    3.5 GB
    Graphics:
    ATI Fire GL V5600
    Monitor:
    Dual Viewsonic
    Discipline
    Mechanical
    jaylo23's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    Mechanical Designer
    Discipline
    Mechanical
    Using
    AutoCAD 2010
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    Dayton, OH
    Posts
    107

    Default

    You also could use the layer states manager and make one called "original" than change your colors to whatever you wanted to to do your work and once your done restore the "original" layer state. I use these all the time and they work like a charm if you dont want to change visretain.

  5. #5
    Senior Member Attila The Gel's Avatar
    Computer Details
    Attila The Gel's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows XP SP3
    Computer:
    Toshiba laptop
    Motherboard:
    ...
    CPU:
    ...
    RAM:
    ...
    Graphics:
    ...
    Primary Storage:
    ...
    Monitor:
    ...
    Using
    AutoCAD 2010
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    Belgium
    Posts
    219

    Default

    Is there another option to completely gray out an Xref?

    My objective is to gray out an xref so everything I draw in this new drawing is easy to see and also much better when plotted!
    I do this with layerstatemanager after I select all the xref layers(ctrl-a) and put them in color 252 then save it to 'Gray out'.
    But some objects and lines still remain in a color when I set all the layers of an xref to color 252. (color not set by Layer)

    Help is much appreciated!
    Last edited by Attila The Gel; 12th Jan 2009 at 10:59 am.

  6. #6
    Full Member RichterGMC's Avatar
    Using
    Map 3D 2008
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    Alberta, Canada
    Posts
    51

    Default

    Attila,

    Blocks won't change color when you do it like that. What you need to do is open up the layer properties dialog box, click on the top xref layer, scroll down and hold shift while clicking the last xref layer so that all the layers that have to do with the xref are highlighted, then pick any one of their color options and change it to 252. This will ensure blocks are changed also. Hope this helps.

  7. #7
    Senior Member Attila The Gel's Avatar
    Computer Details
    Attila The Gel's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows XP SP3
    Computer:
    Toshiba laptop
    Motherboard:
    ...
    CPU:
    ...
    RAM:
    ...
    Graphics:
    ...
    Primary Storage:
    ...
    Monitor:
    ...
    Using
    AutoCAD 2010
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    Belgium
    Posts
    219

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by RichterGMC View Post
    Attila,

    Blocks won't change color when you do it like that. What you need to do is open up the layer properties dialog box, click on the top xref layer, scroll down and hold shift while clicking the last xref layer so that all the layers that have to do with the xref are highlighted, then pick any one of their color options and change it to 252. This will ensure blocks are changed also. Hope this helps.
    Thats what I'm sayin, I select every single Xref layer, Then put them in the same color. 95% of my drawing is converted to the color I selected, But there are some objects and lines etc. still remaining in an other color The Xref is to big to go and change all the remaining colors to the color I want.

    Thx RichterGMC.

  8. #8
    Forum Newbie
    Using
    AutoCAD LT 2006
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Posts
    5

    Default

    I have a question about color. I have a drawing of a floor plan. It is divided up into 5 different branches. I want to designate a color to each branch. How do I add color to the rooms themself???

  9. #9
    Senior Member Attila The Gel's Avatar
    Computer Details
    Attila The Gel's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows XP SP3
    Computer:
    Toshiba laptop
    Motherboard:
    ...
    CPU:
    ...
    RAM:
    ...
    Graphics:
    ...
    Primary Storage:
    ...
    Monitor:
    ...
    Using
    AutoCAD 2010
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    Belgium
    Posts
    219

    Default

    Post a new thread for your new question that way poeple wil more likely be faster to see your thread and help you out kbattist.

  10. #10
    Forum Newbie
    Using
    AutoCAD 2009
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Posts
    3

    Default

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    Hi,
    I am new for Xref. I learn step by step whenever I face the problem. your question and other people's answer were very helpful for me to gray out all xref color together.
    I don't know that you got the answer of your this question or not but i found out 1 solution.
    Go to your original file (which is used as a xref in your new file). select all objects by ctrl+A. then go to property & change the color to "By Layer". now when you will go to your new file and upload this changes, your all layers will be in gray.
    I hope this will help you.

Similar Threads

  1. When I change the color the dimensions change!
    By Mark Costantino in forum AutoCAD Drawing Management & Output
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 12th Oct 2009, 05:55 pm
  2. change drawings color
    By grazwelis in forum AutoLISP, Visual LISP & DCL
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 19th Aug 2008, 08:36 pm
  3. Xref does not change to new color.?
    By Rhayes in forum AutoCAD Drawing Management & Output
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 15th Apr 2008, 06:47 pm
  4. change color of layers
    By Tiger in forum AutoLISP, Visual LISP & DCL
    Replies: 14
    Last Post: 23rd Nov 2007, 06:26 pm
  5. Can I change color of layout?
    By Ste1978 in forum AutoCAD Drawing Management & Output
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 28th Sep 2007, 12:14 pm

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts