+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 15
  1. #1
    Forum Newbie
    Computer Details
    kaliana's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows XP
    Using
    AutoCAD 2008
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    New Zealand
    Posts
    8

    Default Changing from model space back to paper space

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    I changed a layout template from paper space to model space and modified it. So far so good. Now I want to put it back into paper space so I can apply it to other files in the future.

    How do I do this?

  2. #2
    Luminous Being tzframpton's Avatar
    Computer Details
    tzframpton's Computer Details
    Computer:
    Custom built rig
    Discipline
    Multi-disciplinary
    tzframpton's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    BIM Specialist
    Discipline
    Multi-disciplinary
    Details
    Facilities engineering, involving mechanical piping, mechanical HVAC, electrical and structural engineering.
    Using
    Revit 2015
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    Dallas, TX - USA
    Posts
    7,752

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by kaliana View Post
    I changed a layout template from paper space to model space and modified it. So far so good. Now I want to put it back into paper space so I can apply it to other files in the future.

    How do I do this?
    When you get done with the changes, make sure it's in Paperspace and do a Save As, overwriting the original. (Obviously you'll want to save it as a *.DWT file, which is the AutoCAD Template File)
    Tannar Z. Frampton | Hill & Wilkinson

  3. #3
    Forum Newbie
    Computer Details
    kaliana's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows XP
    Using
    AutoCAD 2008
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    New Zealand
    Posts
    8

    Default

    My question was, "How do I put it back in paper space". I know how to save a template.

  4. #4
    Luminous Being tzframpton's Avatar
    Computer Details
    tzframpton's Computer Details
    Computer:
    Custom built rig
    Discipline
    Multi-disciplinary
    tzframpton's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    BIM Specialist
    Discipline
    Multi-disciplinary
    Details
    Facilities engineering, involving mechanical piping, mechanical HVAC, electrical and structural engineering.
    Using
    Revit 2015
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    Dallas, TX - USA
    Posts
    7,752

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by kaliana View Post
    My question was, "How do I put it back in paper space". I know how to save a template.
    Type TILEMODE at the Command Line, and set it to 0.
    Tannar Z. Frampton | Hill & Wilkinson

  5. #5
    Forum Newbie
    Computer Details
    kaliana's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows XP
    Using
    AutoCAD 2008
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    New Zealand
    Posts
    8

    Default

    I must be doing something wrong. I did that and nothing happened, except that I was now looking at paper space, with nothing in it so I went back to model space and typed it in again and it was still set to 1.

    The only change I made to the layout once I had it in model space was to add a logo. Before I do too much work I want to know I can put it back. The logo is a jpeg.

  6. #6
    Luminous Being tzframpton's Avatar
    Computer Details
    tzframpton's Computer Details
    Computer:
    Custom built rig
    Discipline
    Multi-disciplinary
    tzframpton's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    BIM Specialist
    Discipline
    Multi-disciplinary
    Details
    Facilities engineering, involving mechanical piping, mechanical HVAC, electrical and structural engineering.
    Using
    Revit 2015
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    Dallas, TX - USA
    Posts
    7,752

    Default

    TILEMODE set to 1 = Modelspace.

    TILEMODE set to 0 = Paperspace.

    What is it that you're trying to accomplish once you're in Paperspace?
    Tannar Z. Frampton | Hill & Wilkinson

  7. #7
    Forum Newbie
    Computer Details
    kaliana's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows XP
    Using
    AutoCAD 2008
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    New Zealand
    Posts
    8

    Default

    I want to move the *model* to paperspace, not just my screen. Once I have saved the document as a template I can apply that layout to other files, but to do that I have to move the model back to paper space. I moved an exising layout to model space using "Change space". I tried repeating this in model space and I got an error saying it couldn't be done the first time, and no response at all the second time. I have tried selecting the whole model first, but I can't seem to move it back.

    Why can't you understand me? I though my initial question was clear. I'm beginning to wonder if you understand the question perfectly and you're just having a laugh at my expense.

  8. #8
    Forum Newbie
    Computer Details
    kaliana's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows XP
    Using
    AutoCAD 2008
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    New Zealand
    Posts
    8

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by StykFacE View Post
    When you get done with the changes, make sure it's in Paperspace and do a Save As, overwriting the original. (Obviously you'll want to save it as a *.DWT file, which is the AutoCAD Template File)
    I want to do the underlined bit. I don't know how.

  9. #9
    Luminous Being tzframpton's Avatar
    Computer Details
    tzframpton's Computer Details
    Computer:
    Custom built rig
    Discipline
    Multi-disciplinary
    tzframpton's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    BIM Specialist
    Discipline
    Multi-disciplinary
    Details
    Facilities engineering, involving mechanical piping, mechanical HVAC, electrical and structural engineering.
    Using
    Revit 2015
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    Dallas, TX - USA
    Posts
    7,752

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by kaliana View Post
    I want to move the *model* to paperspace, not just my screen. Once I have saved the document as a template I can apply that layout to other files, but to do that I have to move the model back to paper space. I moved an exising layout to model space using "Change space". I tried repeating this in model space and I got an error saying it couldn't be done the first time, and no response at all the second time. I have tried selecting the whole model first, but I can't seem to move it back.

    Why can't you understand me? I though my initial question was clear. I'm beginning to wonder if you understand the question perfectly and you're just having a laugh at my expense.
    ohhhhh, you want to change your "Title Block" back to Paperspace. When using the term Layout in this forum, everyone here will automatically assume you mean Paperspace. By Layout you mean your Sheet Layout that you have created..... hopefully I got that right.

    Well that is easy... simply Cut & Paste it back into Paperspace, but you might have to scale it depending on if the Viewport you used the CHSPACE command on was scaled or not.
    Tannar Z. Frampton | Hill & Wilkinson

  10. #10
    Forum Newbie
    Computer Details
    kaliana's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows XP
    Using
    AutoCAD 2008
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    New Zealand
    Posts
    8

    Default

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    OK. Got ya. It was my fault for not knowing the terminology. I thought a title block was just text. I've got more to learn about this. I'll give the cut and paste thing a go now.

Similar Threads

  1. LTSCALE - Model Space/Paper Space Differences and problems
    By Fedge in forum AutoCAD Drawing Management & Output
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 15th Nov 2011, 02:33 pm
  2. AcadPViewport2 - Deleting items in model space that aren't seen inside paper space
    By lovemy65stang in forum AutoLISP, Visual LISP & DCL
    Replies: 16
    Last Post: 18th Aug 2009, 05:26 am
  3. Model space text not printing in paper space
    By Russell H in forum AutoCAD Drawing Management & Output
    Replies: 16
    Last Post: 16th Jun 2008, 09:55 am
  4. Replies: 0
    Last Post: 22nd Jan 2007, 10:20 pm
  5. shortcut to toggle model space to paper space
    By edwin in forum AutoCAD Beginners' Area
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 3rd Feb 2006, 05:58 am

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts