+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 6 of 6
  1. #1
    Full Member
    Using
    AutoCAD 2008
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Posts
    89

    Default opening multiple drawings in AutoCAD 2008

    Hello, all!

    I am having a little trouble opening multiple drawings at one time in AutoCAD 2008.

    The way I have allways done it - windows explorer - shift & select all files I want to open, right-click, open. This used to work. I have tried going through the AutoCAD open command, I get the same results, just a couple of drawings open.

    I remember in some of the earlier versions there was a selection for multiple drawing mode or something like that, however, with this set to single drawing mode, when using the steps for windows explorer above, it would open multiple AutoCAD windows.

    This selection is now gone, is there something I am missing?

    Thanks,

    Matt

  2. #2
    Super Member
    Computer Details
    Dipali's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    windows vista
    Computer:
    IBM Thinkpad lenovo
    CPU:
    Intel Centrino vPro
    Monitor:
    viewsonicVA1916w
    Discipline
    Architectural
    Dipali's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    ARCHITECTURE
    Discipline
    Architectural
    Details
    interiors
    Using
    AutoCAD 2009
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    INDIA
    Posts
    1,071

    Default

    Set 'sdi' 1 I Think
    "An architect's most useful tools are an eraser at the drawing board & a wrecking bar at the site."
    Frank Lloyd Wright

  3. #3
    Luminous Being dbroada's Avatar
    Computer Details
    dbroada's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Professional
    Computer:
    Dell
    CPU:
    Intel Xeon E5-1603@2,80GHz
    RAM:
    4GB
    Graphics:
    NVIDA Quadro K600
    Monitor:
    DELL 23" & SAMSUNG 21"
    Discipline
    Electro/Mech
    dbroada's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    Design Engineer
    Discipline
    Electro/Mech
    Using
    Electrical 2013
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Sussex, UK
    Posts
    5,503

    Default

    SDI (Single document interface) = 1 for 1 drawing, 0 for more
    "That's it. It's one thing for a ghost to terrorize my children, but quite another for him to play my Theremin." Homer Simpson
    "Everything in drafting is logical. Except what isn’t." - Gavin Guile. (from the Lightbringer series of books by Brent Weeks)

    Dave

  4. #4
    Full Member
    Using
    AutoCAD 2008
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Posts
    89

    Default

    Well guys, i hate to say it, but it is set to 0. it will open maybe 2 out of 15 or so drawings. If I double click each individual file all of them will open in the same window of AutoCAD. I just can't get it to open them when selecting more than 2 files and selecting open from the right click menu, or when I selct more than one file from the open comand through AutoCAD. This is not a problem that I have alone, a few other guys in my office have this same issue.

    Thanks for the help, I would appreciate any further assistance.

    Matt

  5. #5
    Luminous Being dbroada's Avatar
    Computer Details
    dbroada's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Professional
    Computer:
    Dell
    CPU:
    Intel Xeon E5-1603@2,80GHz
    RAM:
    4GB
    Graphics:
    NVIDA Quadro K600
    Monitor:
    DELL 23" & SAMSUNG 21"
    Discipline
    Electro/Mech
    dbroada's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    Design Engineer
    Discipline
    Electro/Mech
    Using
    Electrical 2013
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Sussex, UK
    Posts
    5,503

    Default

    there is something about opening more than one file in the AutoDesk service packs notes. I know 'cause I saw it yesterday, but I can't remember what it said. Have a look there and see if it relevant to you.
    "That's it. It's one thing for a ghost to terrorize my children, but quite another for him to play my Theremin." Homer Simpson
    "Everything in drafting is logical. Except what isn’t." - Gavin Guile. (from the Lightbringer series of books by Brent Weeks)

    Dave

  6. #6
    Full Member
    Using
    AutoCAD 2008
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Posts
    89

    Default

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    thanks, I'll look into it

Similar Threads

  1. Drawings form Multiple sources (multiple xrefs)
    By Gila in forum CAD Management
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 28th May 2008, 03:17 pm
  2. Convert Multiple Tab Drawings to Individual drawings
    By JBullseye74 in forum AutoCAD Drawing Management & Output
    Replies: 14
    Last Post: 20th Mar 2008, 05:35 pm
  3. AutoCAD 2008 LT - trying to multiple PDF?
    By rusty82 in forum AutoCAD General
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 14th Feb 2008, 11:06 am
  4. opening drawings done in Autocad 2008 LT
    By Big G in forum AutoCAD Drawing Management & Output
    Replies: 11
    Last Post: 9th Jul 2007, 06:57 pm
  5. drawings opening up in wrong AutoCAD version
    By Cadracer504 in forum AutoCAD Drawing Management & Output
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 18th Apr 2007, 02:00 pm

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts