+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 9 of 9
  1. #1
    cyberfreak
    Guest

    Default Convert Arc to Polyline

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    Hi There

    Some trouble I have converting the arc to a polyline. PEDIT is not working, and I need to have 1 enclosed polyline.

    Can someone help me?

    Kind regards
    Cyberfreak

  2. #2
    Administrator CADTutor's Avatar
    Computer Details
    CADTutor's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Home Premium 64bit
    Motherboard:
    Asus P7P55D-E PRO
    CPU:
    Intel Core i7-860
    RAM:
    4GB PC3-12800 C8 Corsair Dominator
    Graphics:
    NVIDIA Quadro FX 1800 768 MB
    Primary Storage:
    Intel X25-M SSD 160GB
    Secondary Storage:
    Samsung Spinpoint 320GB
    Monitor:
    BenQ FP241W 24" Wide
    Discipline
    Education
    CADTutor's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    Senior Lecturer (Digital Design), Landscape Architect & Web Designer
    Discipline
    Education
    Using
    AutoCAD 2015
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Location
    Hampshire, UK
    Posts
    3,690

    Default

    When you say "PEDIT is not working", what exactly do you mean. Usually, if you select an arc with PEDIT, you are asked if you want to turn it into a polyline. Does this not happen?
    Tip: Please do not PM or email me with CAD questions - use the forums, you'll get an answer sooner.
    AutoCAD Tutorials | How to add images to your posts | How to register successfully | Forum FAQ

  3. #3
    Super Moderator fuccaro's Avatar
    Using
    AutoCAD 2006
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Location
    Romania, Marosvasarhely
    Posts
    3,543

    Default Re: Convert Arc to Polyline

    Quote Originally Posted by cyberfreak
    PEDIT is not working [..]
    Do you receive any error message?
    It's nice to be nice, but sometimes is nicer to be evil!.
    Tip: Please do not PM or email me with CAD questions - use the forums, you'll get an answer sooner.

  4. #4
    cyberfreak
    Guest

    Default

    Hi

    It doesn't ask me this time if I want to turn it into a polyline. But give me an error message: "The object is not parallel to the UCS" ??? ,when I want to select the arc with the PEDIT command.

    Cyberfreak

  5. #5
    Super Moderator fuccaro's Avatar
    Using
    AutoCAD 2006
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Location
    Romania, Marosvasarhely
    Posts
    3,543

    Default

    To work with a polyline it must be parallel with the xoy plane of the current UCS. You may define a new UCS based on the arc; start the UCS command, enter E and pick the arc. Now it will work.
    It's nice to be nice, but sometimes is nicer to be evil!.
    Tip: Please do not PM or email me with CAD questions - use the forums, you'll get an answer sooner.

  6. #6
    Administrator CADTutor's Avatar
    Computer Details
    CADTutor's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Home Premium 64bit
    Motherboard:
    Asus P7P55D-E PRO
    CPU:
    Intel Core i7-860
    RAM:
    4GB PC3-12800 C8 Corsair Dominator
    Graphics:
    NVIDIA Quadro FX 1800 768 MB
    Primary Storage:
    Intel X25-M SSD 160GB
    Secondary Storage:
    Samsung Spinpoint 320GB
    Monitor:
    BenQ FP241W 24" Wide
    Discipline
    Education
    CADTutor's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    Senior Lecturer (Digital Design), Landscape Architect & Web Designer
    Discipline
    Education
    Using
    AutoCAD 2015
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Location
    Hampshire, UK
    Posts
    3,690

    Default

    Well, you have your answer. The arc has been created in a different UCS (orientation) to the current UCS. Therefore the two ends of the arc do not have the same Z value in the current UCS. 2D polyline vertices must have the same Z value in order for PEDIT to work correctly.
    Tip: Please do not PM or email me with CAD questions - use the forums, you'll get an answer sooner.
    AutoCAD Tutorials | How to add images to your posts | How to register successfully | Forum FAQ

  7. #7
    Administrator CADTutor's Avatar
    Computer Details
    CADTutor's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Home Premium 64bit
    Motherboard:
    Asus P7P55D-E PRO
    CPU:
    Intel Core i7-860
    RAM:
    4GB PC3-12800 C8 Corsair Dominator
    Graphics:
    NVIDIA Quadro FX 1800 768 MB
    Primary Storage:
    Intel X25-M SSD 160GB
    Secondary Storage:
    Samsung Spinpoint 320GB
    Monitor:
    BenQ FP241W 24" Wide
    Discipline
    Education
    CADTutor's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    Senior Lecturer (Digital Design), Landscape Architect & Web Designer
    Discipline
    Education
    Using
    AutoCAD 2015
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Location
    Hampshire, UK
    Posts
    3,690

    Default

    Too quick for me that time fuccaro
    Tip: Please do not PM or email me with CAD questions - use the forums, you'll get an answer sooner.
    AutoCAD Tutorials | How to add images to your posts | How to register successfully | Forum FAQ

  8. #8
    Super Moderator fuccaro's Avatar
    Using
    AutoCAD 2006
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Location
    Romania, Marosvasarhely
    Posts
    3,543

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by CADTutor
    Too quick for me that time fuccaro
    I was behind you many times. For the first time I am the faster
    It's nice to be nice, but sometimes is nicer to be evil!.
    Tip: Please do not PM or email me with CAD questions - use the forums, you'll get an answer sooner.

  9. #9
    cyberfreak
    Guest

    Default

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    Hehehehe

    Thank you guys... I was to slow to say thank you....

    Cyberfreak

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts