Doing a interactive map

jcaz15

Hi.

I always have been thinking about this but don´t know how to solve it.

Imagine a map of Mexico City (I live here, I am a soil mechanics engineer) in autocad. In my area we do and perform some kind of test named borings... in my work we have a lot (hundred of them), and I would like to organize them in autocad... My idea is...

Locate every boring in its real location in the city (in plan view), and if the person who is watching the autocad-boring-base, can click the mark for the boring (maybe a block of a circle or something like that) and then a windows apears and shows some information about that boring, like name, coordinates, depth, geotechnical zone, and inside that window that would be a bottom that open the boring in autocad... (we have them in dwg)....

Is this possible??

If so, How can I do it....

I was thinking that in a easy way instead of open a window, just to open the drawing....

or is there other programs to do it.. I think arcview can do it... but don´t know it....may be other product of autocad...

Thank you a lot for your time...

Thank you for your answer, but my borings are in autocad, so excel won't work at this time... but the idea is similar.. I would have a kind of bottom to be pressed and then the boring-autocad drawing will apear in another or (better) in the same window......

Tx

I can't try this out right now, I am writing from my memories.

Create your drawing and to each circle attach a hyperlink (CTRL+K in AutoCAD 2006). You may enter just a space instead of an address. There is an other field (comments?) where you can enter additional info. The text you enter here can be seen as tooltip on that circle.

I can't try this out right now, I am writing from my memories.