+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 9 of 9
  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Computer Details
    ArdenHTF's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Win XP Home SP3
    Motherboard:
    Asus P5B
    CPU:
    Intel Core 2 Quad CPU Q6600 @ 2.40GHz
    RAM:
    2 Gig DDR2-800
    Graphics:
    Radeon X1650 Pro 512 MB DDR2 memory
    Primary Storage:
    Seagate ST3160 x 2, Raid 0, 300 Gig Total
    Monitor:
    17" Samsung Flat Panel
    Using
    AutoCAD pre 2000
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    South western VA, USA
    Posts
    18

    Default "Grab hand" question (pan)

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    Isn't there a key + mouse click combo to "temporarily" invoke the "grab hand" without clicking on it, so the view can be moved around without interupting the current command?

    (I used to know it, but have forgotten )
    Thanks,
    Arden

  2. #2
    Senior Member rgarjr's Avatar
    Computer Details
    rgarjr's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 64 bit
    Computer:
    Apple iMac
    CPU:
    3.06GHz C2D
    RAM:
    4GB
    Graphics:
    Radeon 4850
    Primary Storage:
    Hitachi 640GB
    Monitor:
    iMac 24"
    Using
    AutoCAD 2010
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Los Angeles Area, CA
    Posts
    166

    Default

    Areu referring to the panning? Don't you use the wheel mouse button for that?

  3. #3
    Super Moderator Strix's Avatar
    Using
    not applicable
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Sheffield UK
    Posts
    3,081

    Default

    that's the PAN command - hold your mouse wheel down and drag
    Find your new best friend at Rain Rescue

    If you are a good drafter, tech will help. If you are a bad drafter, nothing will help. - Jack_O'neill at CADTutor

  4. #4
    Senior Member soleary's Avatar
    Computer Details
    soleary's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows Vista
    Using
    AutoCAD 2008
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    Ireland, Republic of
    Posts
    202

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Strix View Post
    that's the PAN command - hold your mouse wheel down and drag
    Make sure MBUTTONPAN is set to 1

  5. #5
    Super Member JBullseye74's Avatar
    Discipline
    Construction
    JBullseye74's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    Facade Designer
    Discipline
    Construction
    Using
    AutoCAD 2013
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    UK North West
    Posts
    773

    Default

    ........ and for 'super duper' fast panning use the Ctrl button with Mouse Button....
    AutoCAD 2010

    '"Accept that some days you're the pigeon, and some days you're the statue."

  6. #6
    Junior Member
    Computer Details
    ArdenHTF's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Win XP Home SP3
    Motherboard:
    Asus P5B
    CPU:
    Intel Core 2 Quad CPU Q6600 @ 2.40GHz
    RAM:
    2 Gig DDR2-800
    Graphics:
    Radeon X1650 Pro 512 MB DDR2 memory
    Primary Storage:
    Seagate ST3160 x 2, Raid 0, 300 Gig Total
    Monitor:
    17" Samsung Flat Panel
    Using
    AutoCAD pre 2000
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    South western VA, USA
    Posts
    18

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by rgarjr View Post
    Areu referring to the panning? Don't you use the wheel mouse button for that?
    Yes, that is what I was thinking of, but I must have been confused with PageMaker, where I CAN just left click w/CTL and pan around the page.

    The click function on my wheel is assigned to a different function, so it doesn't work with panning.

    Guess I'll just have to live with it as is, but thanks for all your input.

    Arden

  7. #7
    Full Member
    Using
    AutoCAD LT 2008
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Posts
    30

    Default

    I have the same problem with my mouse. I've learned to avoid the pan button on the mouse by pressing p enter for pan and then you can esc out of the command when done. You can also scroll out and point your mouse more to the right or left and then zoom in to kind of move around. It's a pain, but I'm used to it now. Hope that might help you.

  8. #8
    Junior Member
    Computer Details
    ArdenHTF's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Win XP Home SP3
    Motherboard:
    Asus P5B
    CPU:
    Intel Core 2 Quad CPU Q6600 @ 2.40GHz
    RAM:
    2 Gig DDR2-800
    Graphics:
    Radeon X1650 Pro 512 MB DDR2 memory
    Primary Storage:
    Seagate ST3160 x 2, Raid 0, 300 Gig Total
    Monitor:
    17" Samsung Flat Panel
    Using
    AutoCAD pre 2000
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    South western VA, USA
    Posts
    18

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by LAD152 View Post
    I have the same problem with my mouse. I've learned to avoid the pan button on the mouse by pressing p enter for pan and then you can esc out of the command when done. You can also scroll out and point your mouse more to the right or left and then zoom in to kind of move around. It's a pain, but I'm used to it now. Hope that might help you.
    Yes, that helps me a lot.

    Thanks!
    Arden

  9. #9
    Full Member
    Using
    AutoCAD LT 2008
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Posts
    30

    Default

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    youre welcome.

Similar Threads

  1. Free-hand style possible??
    By M29 in forum AutoCAD Drawing Management & Output
    Replies: 24
    Last Post: 2nd Jul 2007, 07:59 am
  2. I need a dxf/dwg of a human hand....
    By Gar in forum Catch All
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 2nd Mar 2007, 11:52 pm
  3. Unable to grab stuff
    By SMiller in forum AutoCAD Drawing Management & Output
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 20th Oct 2006, 02:24 pm
  4. HP plotters, Second Hand UK sellers - where!!
    By QfanatiQ in forum Catch All
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 6th Jan 2006, 05:28 pm

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts