Purge & Save Increasing file size

CadiCad

Hello folk,

Ive been using AutoCad for roughly 8 years now, however in all my time i have never came across this problem before.

I have AutoCad 2007 LT at my work.

I'm working on a project right now and this file that I received from my customer is roughly 7MB in size. When I open the file and immediately save it the file size increases to 28MB in size. Even when i remove everything in the drawing by hitting Ctrl-A and erase it and purge the drawing and remove the layouts remove all X-refs the file size still increases to 14MB.

How is this possible? I tried searching help and I came across a command by the name of ISAVEPERCENT I'm not to sure how this command works and not sure if this is the solution to my problems..

My questions are the following:

1. Why is this happening?

2. Is there a command that the creator of the file knows about that I don't? If so what is it.

3. Why is purging this file causing it to be greater?

4. What is in this file that is causing it to act this way?

Need advice ASAP.

Thank you,

Solution:

1. Go to Tools Menu,
  2. Then options dialog box,
  3. Then open & save settings
  4. Then Save as options
  5. Then change it to its original format.

For example I am using 2007 LT I had it saving as 2000 LT. There must be some type of conversion factor setting the drawing to be read in a 2000 LT format causing the file size to be greater.

CadiCad

This will not solve your problem but we had the same thing happening. We were copying the layout tabs from one drawing into another and again and again. When we did this the drawing file size began to grow exponentially. 2mb to 4mb to 8mb and so on all before the first line was drawn. To solve our problem we set up a special template for the job and used that for our layout tabs. If you find out the answer please post.