+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 9 of 9
  1. #1
    Senior Member
    Computer Details
    feargt's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    win 7
    Using
    Civil 3D 2012
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    Austria
    Posts
    404

    Default Managing drawings over 2 servers

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    Hi,

    We have an issue in our office, we will be working on a project together with another office of the same company over 2 servers. The issue is where do we keep the drawings? Ideally all the drawings would be saved on the 1 server and people would just open the drawings from here and edit and save them again. But unfortunately this is too time consuming for the technicians working from the other office. This problem was experienced on another project that I was not involved in and ended up being very messy. Drawings were being copied from 1 server to another and after making changes were copied back. This created all sorts of problems.

    Unfortunately both offices need to able to access and be able to edit ALL the drawings.

    Does anyone have similar work issues and how do they deal with it?

    thanks

  2. #2
    Luminous Being dbroada's Avatar
    Computer Details
    dbroada's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Professional
    Computer:
    Dell
    CPU:
    Intel Xeon E5-1603@2,80GHz
    RAM:
    4GB
    Graphics:
    NVIDA Quadro K600
    Monitor:
    DELL 23" & SAMSUNG 21"
    Discipline
    Electro/Mech
    dbroada's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    Design Engineer
    Discipline
    Electro/Mech
    Using
    Electrical 2013
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Sussex, UK
    Posts
    5,519

    Default

    Nightmare!

    On a couple of projects we have the master drawings in the UK. The US office is meant to request changes through us and not change the duplicate set (don't ask why the have dwg files - politics is the only reply) but somehow their drawings are often not in line with ours. Even worse is that they don't up-rev the changes!

    If everyone can be trusted you could create an excel file to "log out" drawings you are working on but if people can't be trusted you have a problem.
    "That's it. It's one thing for a ghost to terrorize my children, but quite another for him to play my Theremin." Homer Simpson
    "Everything in drafting is logical. Except what isn’t." - Gavin Guile. (from the Lightbringer series of books by Brent Weeks)

    Dave

  3. #3
    Super Member Raggi_Thor's Avatar
    Using
    AutoCAD 2008
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    Trondheim, NORWAY
    Posts
    718

    Default

    I made a simple solution for a similar project a few years ago. Dwg files where stored on two servers, for now I call them HERE and THERE.
    We used VBA in AutoCAD to do the following:

    1) OPEN = Our own open routine, check dates on this file HERE and THERE, if it's newer over THERE, copy it to HERE and then open. Lock thie file on THERE.

    2) For each Xref in Dwg, check the dates, copy files if necessary, and reload.

    3) CLOSE = Copy file from HERE to THERE. Unlock.
    Last edited by Raggi_Thor; 12th Dec 2008 at 10:25 am.
    Mvh, Kvedja, Kind Regards,
    Ragnar Thor Mikkelsen
    http://www.DESIGNDATA.no/English.htm

  4. #4
    Super Member Raggi_Thor's Avatar
    Using
    AutoCAD 2008
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    Trondheim, NORWAY
    Posts
    718

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by dbroada View Post
    Nightmare!

    ...

    If everyone can be trusted you could create an excel file to "log out" drawings you are working on but if people can't be trusted you have a problem.
    Since people in general can't be trusted, et least not all of them all the time, I would take a look at some of the "Check in / Check out" document management systems on the market.
    I sell Vondle from Bricsys as an online project server, and M-Files as a "in house" (on your own server) solution.
    There area many, many solutions here.
    Conisio was easy to work with, I think.
    Autodesk made me sell WorkCenter and then discontinued it.
    Automanager Workflow is it still there?
    Meridian?

    What about Autodesk Vault?
    Do you get that without buying Inventor?
    Mvh, Kvedja, Kind Regards,
    Ragnar Thor Mikkelsen
    http://www.DESIGNDATA.no/English.htm

  5. #5
    Luminous Being dbroada's Avatar
    Computer Details
    dbroada's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Professional
    Computer:
    Dell
    CPU:
    Intel Xeon E5-1603@2,80GHz
    RAM:
    4GB
    Graphics:
    NVIDA Quadro K600
    Monitor:
    DELL 23" & SAMSUNG 21"
    Discipline
    Electro/Mech
    dbroada's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    Design Engineer
    Discipline
    Electro/Mech
    Using
    Electrical 2013
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Sussex, UK
    Posts
    5,519

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Raggi_Thor View Post
    Since people in general can't be trusted, et least not all of them all the time,

    What about Autodesk Vault?
    Do you get that without buying Inventor?
    Its not really a problem for us as we are the design authority so consider the files on our server to be the master ones. We ignore anything the other sites do unless it has come through the design authority ite anyway.

    We don't have vault but I think it is available to us as we are on subscription. However when I last looked it didn't fit within our work flow without major changes. Since our method works there didn't seem any point in looking deeper.
    "That's it. It's one thing for a ghost to terrorize my children, but quite another for him to play my Theremin." Homer Simpson
    "Everything in drafting is logical. Except what isn’t." - Gavin Guile. (from the Lightbringer series of books by Brent Weeks)

    Dave

  6. #6
    Super Member Raggi_Thor's Avatar
    Using
    AutoCAD 2008
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    Trondheim, NORWAY
    Posts
    718

    Default

    Maybe feargt could use a document management system?
    Mvh, Kvedja, Kind Regards,
    Ragnar Thor Mikkelsen
    http://www.DESIGNDATA.no/English.htm

  7. #7
    Senior Member
    Computer Details
    feargt's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    win 7
    Using
    Civil 3D 2012
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    Austria
    Posts
    404

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Raggi_Thor View Post
    Maybe feargt could use a document management system?
    thanks for all the comments and advice so far.


    maybe he could but first I will look at the autodesk vault option, we have that but we do not use it as has not been neceesary.

    Your first suggestion is also something worth thinking about. But if I am using sheet set manager this this may pose problems.

    I am in the position where I have to try and come up with a workable solution by next week. Working with one master set of drawings would be the ideal situation for us though.

    As was said earlier, the big problem is that not everyone can be trusted..........

  8. #8
    Super Member Raggi_Thor's Avatar
    Using
    AutoCAD 2008
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    Trondheim, NORWAY
    Posts
    718

    Default

    Sorry if we type too much now

    What I like with most Check in/out systems is that they give you a local working directory, on your own computer. So you open very fast if nothing has changed since last time.

    What I often don't like is that you have to enter document properties again, sometimes there is no link to title blocks.
    Mvh, Kvedja, Kind Regards,
    Ragnar Thor Mikkelsen
    http://www.DESIGNDATA.no/English.htm

  9. #9
    Senior Member
    Computer Details
    feargt's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    win 7
    Using
    Civil 3D 2012
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    Austria
    Posts
    404

    Default

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    Quote Originally Posted by Raggi_Thor View Post
    Sorry if we type too much now

    What I like with most Check in/out systems is that they give you a local working directory, on your own computer. So you open very fast if nothing has changed since last time.

    What I often don't like is that you have to enter document properties again, sometimes there is no link to title blocks.
    am very interested to hear what other people use or do in this situation or there opinions based on experiences

Similar Threads

  1. Managing your CUI
    By LElkins in forum CAD Management
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 8th May 2008, 03:50 am
  2. Opinions on Managing
    By ANDY0871 in forum CAD Management
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 29th Mar 2008, 03:49 pm
  3. Managing Blocks/Hatches
    By motorider in forum AutoCAD Drawing Management & Output
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 9th Jan 2008, 05:52 pm
  4. Cad Managing
    By acemasi in forum CAD Management
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 14th Aug 2007, 02:35 am
  5. Replies: 0
    Last Post: 20th Dec 2006, 09:40 pm

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts