printing 3D solids?

2kdesigner

I am a bit new at 3D drawings, for many years it's been only 2D files used for .dxf purposes. My method is using "3D face" and them "extruding" to the size I want. When I view my layout or model, my 3D objects appear to be solids, but show some transparancy. When I preview or print, they only come out as lines. How can I make these objects solid and print them? thanx...

• Replies 53
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

• 2kdesigner

• MaxwellEdison

• Patrick Hughes

• mugshot

Quick (easy) way - Activate your viewport and set your shademode to Conceptual or Realistic.

Long (not so easy) way - Try rendering your solid.

Hi and thanks for the quick response. I just tried those options without any luck. Rendering seems to be only temporary and shading works well for removing/replacing transparancy. Still...when I go to preview or print, all I get is 3D wireframe???

Select your viewport and look under the Misc heading at the Shade plot field. If it says "Wireframe" change it to either the style you want it to plot as or "As Displayed"

okay, I get to a little Properties box and at the Plot Style box it says By Color. I can't change this, at least not here. I've looked in layers and found Plot Style Options but it too is not accessable. Do I need to add plot styles in the Plot Style Manager (File drop down menu)?

Like everything else with AutoCad, it's seems so complicated until you know the answer, then it seems so logical...argh

Plot style controls your color and lineweight assignments, useful if you want to print different colors by different linewights, but ultimately not what you're looking for.