+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 6 of 6
  1. #1
    Senior Member
    Using
    not specified
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Posts
    208

    Default Dimension setting

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    Is there a setting or variable so that I can make my dimensions (lines, arrows etc.) immune to object snap?

    I'm used to them being like that in Autocad Mechanical so I don't know if this is a Mechanical option or if I can do it in plain Autocad. I've stopped using Mechanical until they put out a patch to fix some of the bugs. (Version 2006)

    I've searched but I can't find what I'm looking for.

    Another quesiton...is there a dimalign command or lisp for plain Autocad? I mainly use Mechanical for the extra dimensioning capabilities, AMdimalign being one of my most used commands...and one that I sorely miss.
    If there is anything the nonconformist hates worse than a conformist,
    it's another nonconformist who doesn't conform
    to the prevailing standard of nonconformity.

  2. #2
    Junior Member
    Discipline
    Mechanical
    jetxcc's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    I'm a drafter. I design roadway structures.
    Discipline
    Mechanical
    Using
    Mechanical 2018
    Join Date
    Sep 2017
    Location
    Missouri, USA
    Posts
    14

    Default

    Code:
    (DEFUN C:AD ()
    (Command "dimspace" pause (setq ss1 (ssget)) ss1"" "0.0"))

  3. #3
    Quantum Mechanic ReMark's Avatar
    Computer Details
    ReMark's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Pro 64-bit
    Computer:
    Thinkmate
    Motherboard:
    Intel DX58SO2 LGA1366 X58
    CPU:
    Intel i7-960 Quad-core 3.20GHz 8MB cache
    RAM:
    12GB (3x4GB) PC3-106000 DDR3
    Graphics:
    nVidia Quadro K4200, 4GB GDDR5
    Primary Storage:
    150GB Velocipraptor 10,000 rpm
    Secondary Storage:
    none
    Monitor:
    Dell P24LLH - 24" wide screen LCD
    Discipline
    See details...
    ReMark's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    CAD Draftsman/Designer...chemical manufacturing.
    Discipline
    See details below.
    Details
    I work for a specialty chemical manufacturer. I do a little bit of everything from P&IDs to civil to architectural and structural.
    Using
    AutoCAD 2018
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Norwalk, CT USofA
    Posts
    46,862

    Default

    Yes, there is an Aligned option for dimensions in AutoCAD.
    "I have only come here seeking knowledge. Things they wouldn't teach me of in college." The Police

    Eat brains...gain more knowledge!

    I'm retired now.....not dead. I have a few working brain cells left.

  4. #4
    Forum Deity Dana W's Avatar
    Computer Details
    Dana W's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 8 64 bit
    Computer:
    Dell XPS ONE 2710
    Motherboard:
    Dunno
    CPU:
    Intel I-5 3330S @ 2.7 Ghz
    RAM:
    6 Gb
    Graphics:
    On board barely adequate
    Primary Storage:
    1 Terrabyte
    Secondary Storage:
    1 Terrabyte external
    Monitor:
    All in one 27" touch & pen
    Discipline
    Construction
    Dana W's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    Architectural Millwork Designer/Draftsman
    Discipline
    Construction
    Details
    Custom commercial millwork.
    Using
    AutoCAD LT 2019
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    Oviedo, Florida
    Posts
    4,797

    Default

    Much quicker to simply type dimspace. Is a LISP program really necessary to execute one command.

    As far as snap points in dimensions... see image below. Command = OPTIONS > Drafting tab.

    Further help... Command = OSNAP then uncheck Node. That way you wont get dimensions associated to each other instead of the objects you are dimensioning.

    Of course, if you use points, as in the command DIVIDE, you will have to turn Node back on in order to snap to them.
    Attached Images
    The S197 gen Ford Mustang, and the F-4 Phantom both prove the same theory. "With enough power applied, a school bus will fly."

  5. #5
    Forum Deity Dana W's Avatar
    Computer Details
    Dana W's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 8 64 bit
    Computer:
    Dell XPS ONE 2710
    Motherboard:
    Dunno
    CPU:
    Intel I-5 3330S @ 2.7 Ghz
    RAM:
    6 Gb
    Graphics:
    On board barely adequate
    Primary Storage:
    1 Terrabyte
    Secondary Storage:
    1 Terrabyte external
    Monitor:
    All in one 27" touch & pen
    Discipline
    Construction
    Dana W's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    Architectural Millwork Designer/Draftsman
    Discipline
    Construction
    Details
    Custom commercial millwork.
    Using
    AutoCAD LT 2019
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    Oviedo, Florida
    Posts
    4,797

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Big Mike View Post
    Is there a setting or variable so that I can make my dimensions (lines, arrows etc.) immune to object snap?

    I'm used to them being like that in Autocad Mechanical so I don't know if this is a Mechanical option or if I can do it in plain Autocad. I've stopped using Mechanical until they put out a patch to fix some of the bugs. (Version 2006)

    I've searched but I can't find what I'm looking for.

    Another quesiton...is there a dimalign command or lisp for plain Autocad? I mainly use Mechanical for the extra dimensioning capabilities, AMdimalign being one of my most used commands...and one that I sorely miss.
    How would you like the dimensions aligned?
    The S197 gen Ford Mustang, and the F-4 Phantom both prove the same theory. "With enough power applied, a school bus will fly."

  6. #6
    Forum Deity Dana W's Avatar
    Computer Details
    Dana W's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 8 64 bit
    Computer:
    Dell XPS ONE 2710
    Motherboard:
    Dunno
    CPU:
    Intel I-5 3330S @ 2.7 Ghz
    RAM:
    6 Gb
    Graphics:
    On board barely adequate
    Primary Storage:
    1 Terrabyte
    Secondary Storage:
    1 Terrabyte external
    Monitor:
    All in one 27" touch & pen
    Discipline
    Construction
    Dana W's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    Architectural Millwork Designer/Draftsman
    Discipline
    Construction
    Details
    Custom commercial millwork.
    Using
    AutoCAD LT 2019
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    Oviedo, Florida
    Posts
    4,797

    Default

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    When I want my dims to be spaced equally, I simply draw a rectangle around the extents of the object(s) I want to dimension, then offset the rectangle by the same distance I want my dims to space out equally, a number of times. Yup, then once I apply a dimension I click it onto one side of the rectangle at the distance needed. Erase the rectangles. Takes a couple seconds but faster than DIMSPACE since it prepares all 4 sides at once, and no going back except to erase the rectangles.

    Like this... cheeze that's pretty dim. Hope you can see it on your screen.
    Attached Images
    The S197 gen Ford Mustang, and the F-4 Phantom both prove the same theory. "With enough power applied, a school bus will fly."

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts