+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 3 of 3
  1. #1
    Super Member MaxwellEdison's Avatar
    Computer Details
    MaxwellEdison's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Win 7 (64-bit)
    Computer:
    HP h8-1070t
    CPU:
    Intel Core i72600
    RAM:
    12GB
    Graphics:
    AMD Radeon HD 6850
    Monitor:
    Dell 20" LCD Widescreen (Main) NEC Accusync 125F 20" CRT (Secondary)
    Using
    Architecture 2012
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    Lebanon, PA
    Posts
    749

    Default (not) Editing attributes in a dynamic block

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    Whelp....I got me another dynamic block pickle. I put a lookup table in my detail block with an attribute directly underneath the leader. When you change the lookup state it sets size for a parameter and the attribute displays the state of the lookup action in a field. Everything is functioning properly, I can select the lookup state (in this case a specific post size) and the detail changes to the new size. Once the drawing is regen'ed the field updates as well, showing the changed information.

    The only problem remaining is the attribute field in the properties dialog for the block. Someone can enter a text string which overwrites the field and breaks the association. The lookup table still controls the size, but the field no longer updates. Is there a way I can lock or remove the attribute from the properties listing? I've tried making it constant, but that results in just null characers (#) being displayed under the field. And if I change it to invisible it simply dissapears (no surprise there ) So anyway I can stop well meaning individuals from breaking my block?

    I've attached a simplified portion of the block (saved in 2007 version) below that illustrates my problem. Any ideas?
    Attached Files
    Just because you're , doesn't mean wrong is all that's .

  2. #2
    Luminous Being dbroada's Avatar
    Computer Details
    dbroada's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Professional
    Computer:
    Dell
    CPU:
    Intel Xeon E5-1603@2,80GHz
    RAM:
    4GB
    Graphics:
    NVIDA Quadro K600
    Monitor:
    DELL 23" & SAMSUNG 21"
    Using
    not applicable
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Kenley, Surrey, UK
    Posts
    5,644

    Default

    I can't look until I get to work but I haven't found a way to stop people editing fields yet. The best I have come up with is to set ATTREQ = 0 so that the attributes dialogue doesn't come up on insertion.
    "That's it. It's one thing for a ghost to terrorize my children, but quite another for him to play my Theremin." Homer Simpson
    "Everything in drafting is logical. Except what isn’t." - Gavin Guile. (from the Lightbringer series of books by Brent Weeks)

    Dave

  3. #3
    Super Member MaxwellEdison's Avatar
    Computer Details
    MaxwellEdison's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Win 7 (64-bit)
    Computer:
    HP h8-1070t
    CPU:
    Intel Core i72600
    RAM:
    12GB
    Graphics:
    AMD Radeon HD 6850
    Monitor:
    Dell 20" LCD Widescreen (Main) NEC Accusync 125F 20" CRT (Secondary)
    Using
    Architecture 2012
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    Lebanon, PA
    Posts
    749

    Default

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    That's kind of the opinion I'm resigning myself to. Know of any strings or settings to allow a field to be inserted in an MLeader so the association will survive being inserted in another drawing? Currently I can't get it to pull for anything other than the arbitrary object id.
    Just because you're , doesn't mean wrong is all that's .

Similar Threads

  1. Dynamic block with dynamic attributes
    By Helenka in forum AutoCAD Drawing Management & Output
    Replies: 14
    Last Post: 28th Jul 2012, 09:56 am
  2. editing block with attributes
    By feargt in forum AutoCAD General
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 2nd Oct 2008, 01:34 pm
  3. VBA: choosing dynamic block attributes
    By CADenator in forum AutoLISP, Visual LISP & DCL
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 13th Aug 2008, 04:34 am
  4. A question about editing block attributes
    By alijahed in forum AutoCAD General
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 9th May 2007, 06:02 am
  5. dynamic block attributes?
    By maxholer in forum AutoCAD General
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 25th May 2005, 12:59 pm

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts