Very Basic VBA

gazzalp

Guys, i want to start learning VBA for autocad, but i have absolutely NO coding experience. I would search around on the internet, but most of you guys would have been in the situation before and therefore would know the best possible ways to learn. At the moment i am looking for the best websites/books that are must haves for learning. As i said i have no experience, so i need it explained to me in really simple terms. Im hoping that there are online tutuorials that show the basics - ie: how to write a code to draw a line. I then want to be able to do things like draw a line and it will automatically go on a certain layer and certain colour, but keep my current layer as current ( ie: im on layer 0, it draws a line on layer 1, changes colour to red, but i stay onlayer 0 when im finished the command). the reason for this is so i can make up toolbars which automatically draw dimensions/viewports/texh/hatch asnd they go on certain layers. So i really need a tutuorial which is a step by step showing what the code is, and why its that.

So, which are the best websites/books/forms of help for this? Also does anyone have VBA code to do what i asked (dimensions on certain layer etc.) because im hoping to be able to look at it and maybe understand it from that, i assume this would be a fairly simple code. Thanks all for your help.

• Replies 23
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

• gazzalp

• rkmcswain

• SEANT

• skipsophrenic

Top Posters In This Topic

Posted Images

Think about the choice of VBA. It is dead. The only reason it's still being shipped with AutoCAD is backwards compatibility. In 64-bit AutoCAD, it's barely hanging on, using a crutch, which makes the code run about 10X slower...

With no coding experience, I would start with autolisp for the types of things you mentioned, and when you need a more advanced API, look towards .NET