+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 10 of 10
  1. #1
    Forum Newbie
    Using
    AutoCAD LT pre 2000
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Posts
    4

    Default AutoCAD LT 95 installation

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    Attempting to right a wrong (long story short - I had lost my wife's AutoCAD disk ) I happened on an AutoCAD LT for windows95 disk on the web (the version she had) and attempted to install it on several PCs running XP (my wife's orginal disk ran on XP laptop w/o issue) However upon entering setup (installshield starts ok), I get the prompt to "Please inset the disk labeled: Personalization or installation disk". If I instead browse to the acltwin directory on the cd, and try again, I get the error "Setup encountered a problem personalizing your copy of AutoCAD LT. Please verify that the personalization and installation disks are located in drives you have provided and are not write protected".
    Obviously there must be another cd necessary to run this? The disk I purchased appeared to be in an authentic autodesk jewel case, and doesn't mention anything about other disks on the setup instructions) Is there a work around?

    If not, what would be a low cost alternative, keeping in mind she is very familar with this old version and may not be in the camp that thinks "change is good"! Thanks in advance

  2. #2
    Quantum Mechanic ReMark's Avatar
    Computer Details
    ReMark's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Pro 64-bit
    Computer:
    Thinkmate
    Motherboard:
    Intel DX58SO2 LGA1366 X58
    CPU:
    Intel i7-960 Quad-core 3.20GHz 8MB cache
    RAM:
    12GB (3x4GB) PC3-106000 DDR3
    Graphics:
    nVidia Quadro 4000, 2GB GDDR5
    Primary Storage:
    150GB Velocipraptor 10,000 rpm
    Secondary Storage:
    none
    Monitor:
    Dell P24LLH - 24" wide screen LCD
    Discipline
    See details...
    ReMark's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    CAD Draftsman/Designer...chemical manufacturing.
    Discipline
    See details below.
    Details
    I work for a specialty chemical manufacturer. I do a little bit of everything from P&IDs to civil to architectural and structural.
    Using
    AutoCAD 2015
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Norwalk, CT USofA
    Posts
    40,077

    Default

    Is this on a CD? If so, there should have been only one disk. The original installation instructions would have prompted you for a serial number and an authorization code.

    Low cost? There are a few freebie CAD programs available for downloading off the Internet but AutoCAD isn't one of them. There are also 30-day trial versions but that's not going to help over the long term.

    Did you get a manual with this software?

    Did you try contacting the person you bought the software from?
    "I have only come here seeking knowledge. Things they wouldn't teach me of in college." The Police

    Eat brains...gain more knowledge!

    I'm now a full member of the Society for the Promotion of Mediocrity in CAD. Standards? We don't need no stinkin' standards! Take whatever advice I offer and do the opposite.

  3. #3
    Quantum Mechanic ReMark's Avatar
    Computer Details
    ReMark's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Pro 64-bit
    Computer:
    Thinkmate
    Motherboard:
    Intel DX58SO2 LGA1366 X58
    CPU:
    Intel i7-960 Quad-core 3.20GHz 8MB cache
    RAM:
    12GB (3x4GB) PC3-106000 DDR3
    Graphics:
    nVidia Quadro 4000, 2GB GDDR5
    Primary Storage:
    150GB Velocipraptor 10,000 rpm
    Secondary Storage:
    none
    Monitor:
    Dell P24LLH - 24" wide screen LCD
    Discipline
    See details...
    ReMark's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    CAD Draftsman/Designer...chemical manufacturing.
    Discipline
    See details below.
    Details
    I work for a specialty chemical manufacturer. I do a little bit of everything from P&IDs to civil to architectural and structural.
    Using
    AutoCAD 2015
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Norwalk, CT USofA
    Posts
    40,077

    Default

    Looking through my old AutoDesk software I came across my AutoCAD LT 97 upgrade CD. Taped to the front of the CD holder is a label with a serial number and a CD key (4 character number). This is likely what LT 95 required as well.
    "I have only come here seeking knowledge. Things they wouldn't teach me of in college." The Police

    Eat brains...gain more knowledge!

    I'm now a full member of the Society for the Promotion of Mediocrity in CAD. Standards? We don't need no stinkin' standards! Take whatever advice I offer and do the opposite.

  4. #4
    Forum Newbie
    Using
    AutoCAD LT pre 2000
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Posts
    4

    Default

    Thanks for your quick response! Yes, it was a single CD in what appeared to be an unopened jewel case. No instructions (other then on the back of the jewel case) or manual was supplied. Upon entering SETUP, I get the blue AutoCAD LT backdrop and the usual "Welcome" box, but upon clicking the "next>" button, I get the small popup window requesting to insert the other disks, as noted above. No request for a serial number up until that point.

    There is a printed tag affixed to the CD case, with a 5 digit-6digit-4 digit number, other then that nothing else.
    (The seller did say I could send it back for a refund)

  5. #5
    Forum Newbie
    Using
    AutoCAD LT pre 2000
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Posts
    1

    Default Yes, there was a second disk for AutoCAD Lt '95

    I have my original disks for AutoCAD LT for Windows 95. One is a Autodesk CD copywrited in 1997 XXXXX-XXXXXX-XXXX With Bar Code.
    The other is an Autodesk 3.5 floppy titled Autodesk Personalization Disk 1.44MB AutoCAD LT for Windows 95,
    Serial No. XXX-XXXXXXXX
    XXXXX-XXXXXX-XXXX-I
    With Bar Code
    Last edited by howard thompson; 14th Mar 2009 at 10:37 pm.

  6. #6
    Forum Newbie
    Using
    AutoCAD LT not applicable
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Posts
    2

    Default

    Hi NJS,

    I have a personalization disc that would work. I happen to have lost disk1 (the one you have). Maybe we can each copy the one we have and swap? Since both of our sets are legal, and acad no longer supports this version, I see no probelms.

    Nigel

  7. #7
    Forum Newbie
    Using
    AutoCAD LT not applicable
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Posts
    2

    Default

    Hi Howard,

    I lost my original disk1 from my acad lt v95 set. Any chance i could get a copy of yours? I could send my original plus code to verify I'm legal.

    thanks,

    Nigel

  8. #8
    Quantum Mechanic ReMark's Avatar
    Computer Details
    ReMark's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Pro 64-bit
    Computer:
    Thinkmate
    Motherboard:
    Intel DX58SO2 LGA1366 X58
    CPU:
    Intel i7-960 Quad-core 3.20GHz 8MB cache
    RAM:
    12GB (3x4GB) PC3-106000 DDR3
    Graphics:
    nVidia Quadro 4000, 2GB GDDR5
    Primary Storage:
    150GB Velocipraptor 10,000 rpm
    Secondary Storage:
    none
    Monitor:
    Dell P24LLH - 24" wide screen LCD
    Discipline
    See details...
    ReMark's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    CAD Draftsman/Designer...chemical manufacturing.
    Discipline
    See details below.
    Details
    I work for a specialty chemical manufacturer. I do a little bit of everything from P&IDs to civil to architectural and structural.
    Using
    AutoCAD 2015
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Norwalk, CT USofA
    Posts
    40,077

    Default

    nigel: You do realize you're responding to a post from 2009 right? njs500 has had 4 posts in all this time. If he hasn't solved his problem by now he never will.
    "I have only come here seeking knowledge. Things they wouldn't teach me of in college." The Police

    Eat brains...gain more knowledge!

    I'm now a full member of the Society for the Promotion of Mediocrity in CAD. Standards? We don't need no stinkin' standards! Take whatever advice I offer and do the opposite.

  9. #9
    Forum Newbie
    Using
    AutoCAD pre 2000
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Posts
    1

    Default Need Personalization Disk

    Quote Originally Posted by nigelkelly View Post
    Hi NJS,

    I have a personalization disc that would work. I happen to have lost disk1 (the one you have). Maybe we can each copy the one we have and swap? Since both of our sets are legal, and acad no longer supports this version, I see no probelms.

    Nigel
    I am in the same boat. I have a legal Install Disk but cannot find my personalization disc. I know this is an old thread, but I would be willing to exchange also. Thanks!

  10. #10
    Quantum Mechanic ReMark's Avatar
    Computer Details
    ReMark's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Pro 64-bit
    Computer:
    Thinkmate
    Motherboard:
    Intel DX58SO2 LGA1366 X58
    CPU:
    Intel i7-960 Quad-core 3.20GHz 8MB cache
    RAM:
    12GB (3x4GB) PC3-106000 DDR3
    Graphics:
    nVidia Quadro 4000, 2GB GDDR5
    Primary Storage:
    150GB Velocipraptor 10,000 rpm
    Secondary Storage:
    none
    Monitor:
    Dell P24LLH - 24" wide screen LCD
    Discipline
    See details...
    ReMark's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    CAD Draftsman/Designer...chemical manufacturing.
    Discipline
    See details below.
    Details
    I work for a specialty chemical manufacturer. I do a little bit of everything from P&IDs to civil to architectural and structural.
    Using
    AutoCAD 2015
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Norwalk, CT USofA
    Posts
    40,077

    Default

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    Well good luck on your search danksmith. One never knows where help may come from next.
    "I have only come here seeking knowledge. Things they wouldn't teach me of in college." The Police

    Eat brains...gain more knowledge!

    I'm now a full member of the Society for the Promotion of Mediocrity in CAD. Standards? We don't need no stinkin' standards! Take whatever advice I offer and do the opposite.

Similar Threads

  1. Autocad 2000 Installation Refusal
    By reggy in forum AutoCAD General
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 3rd Aug 2008, 07:26 pm
  2. AutoCAD 2009 Installation
    By Kiloverse in forum AutoCAD Beginners' Area
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 6th Jun 2008, 07:00 am
  3. Autocad 2009 installation
    By sparrie in forum AutoCAD Drawing Management & Output
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 16th Apr 2008, 12:26 pm
  4. Autocad 2007 installation
    By pab006 in forum Software & Licensing
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 10th Apr 2006, 11:51 pm
  5. AutoCAD installation problems
    By Jonosss in forum AutoCAD Drawing Management & Output
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 28th Apr 2005, 08:06 am

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts