+ Reply to Thread
Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 1 2
Results 11 to 15 of 15
  1. #11
    Forum Newbie
    Computer Details
    andi blinco's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows XP
    Using
    AutoCAD 2007
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    Newbury
    Posts
    8

    Default

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    Good point here, what skipsophrenic said works but I am not very confident that the original scale is 1:1250 as it says from its source.
    I have got this to fit now but I think you are correct in saying the original dwg is not 1:1250 as I have had to enlarge it so I can fit 1:500 on A1.
    Thanks for all the postings on this from all, this is a very usefull forum indeed and I will be coming back.

  2. #12
    Full Member
    Using
    AutoCAD 2010
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Posts
    85

    Default

    I have a same kind of problem, I have got a drawing that has a really big sizes, I can scale the whole map but there are some points in doing so!
    1. you should work out all the dimension scales so they fit in your new scale
    2. you should reset snap and grid spacings so you can work
    3. you should change all of your text styles
    I have attached a map which has a problem like this, I changed the dimension scale so I can measure things but when I want to measure area of the polylines on left I got huge numbers, when I scale the whole map with 0.0001 you can't move your mouse, and texts everything becomes so big. What should I do to this map? change everything manually?

    http://ifile.it/12lz3gh

  3. #13
    Quantum Mechanic ReMark's Avatar
    Computer Details
    ReMark's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Pro 64-bit
    Computer:
    Thinkmate
    Motherboard:
    Intel DX58SO2 LGA1366 X58
    CPU:
    Intel i7-960 Quad-core 3.20GHz 8MB cache
    RAM:
    12GB (3x4GB) PC3-106000 DDR3
    Graphics:
    nVidia Quadro K4200, 4GB GDDR5
    Primary Storage:
    150GB Velocipraptor 10,000 rpm
    Secondary Storage:
    none
    Monitor:
    Dell P24LLH - 24" wide screen LCD
    Discipline
    See details...
    ReMark's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    CAD Draftsman/Designer...chemical manufacturing.
    Discipline
    See details below.
    Details
    I work for a specialty chemical manufacturer. I do a little bit of everything from P&IDs to civil to architectural and structural.
    Using
    AutoCAD 2018
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Norwalk, CT USofA
    Posts
    46,375

    Default

    Model space objects should be drawn at FULL size and not SCALED. Your text/dimensions should be done using Annotative Scaling. This will require you to use a paper space layout and at least one viewport as well.
    "I have only come here seeking knowledge. Things they wouldn't teach me of in college." The Police

    Eat brains...gain more knowledge!

    I'm now a full member of the Society for the Promotion of Mediocrity in CAD. Standards? We don't need no stinkin' standards! Take whatever advice I offer and do the opposite.

  4. #14
    Full Member
    Using
    AutoCAD 2010
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Posts
    85

    Default

    Yes I know that, but it seems that customers who give in draws don't know it! when someone gives a draw which is like the one I attached what do you do to fix things up? I need measuring areas but they all need to be scaled and when you scale the whole map you can't use some stuff like snap to grid, this is sooo annoying to me, I just wanna kill this kind of customers

  5. #15
    Quantum Mechanic ReMark's Avatar
    Computer Details
    ReMark's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Pro 64-bit
    Computer:
    Thinkmate
    Motherboard:
    Intel DX58SO2 LGA1366 X58
    CPU:
    Intel i7-960 Quad-core 3.20GHz 8MB cache
    RAM:
    12GB (3x4GB) PC3-106000 DDR3
    Graphics:
    nVidia Quadro K4200, 4GB GDDR5
    Primary Storage:
    150GB Velocipraptor 10,000 rpm
    Secondary Storage:
    none
    Monitor:
    Dell P24LLH - 24" wide screen LCD
    Discipline
    See details...
    ReMark's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    CAD Draftsman/Designer...chemical manufacturing.
    Discipline
    See details below.
    Details
    I work for a specialty chemical manufacturer. I do a little bit of everything from P&IDs to civil to architectural and structural.
    Using
    AutoCAD 2018
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Norwalk, CT USofA
    Posts
    46,375

    Default

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    I'm not sure what the reference to snap and grid is all about.

    I did not download your file because I don't trust sites like that. Sorry.

    Put the model space objects back to full size. Take the text and dimensions and using the Change Space command move them to your layout.

    Make sure you have enabled "Make dimensions associative". When measuring or dimensioning in your layout use Osnaps and pick you geometry.
    "I have only come here seeking knowledge. Things they wouldn't teach me of in college." The Police

    Eat brains...gain more knowledge!

    I'm now a full member of the Society for the Promotion of Mediocrity in CAD. Standards? We don't need no stinkin' standards! Take whatever advice I offer and do the opposite.

Similar Threads

  1. How to I change the scale in only one axis?
    By jps in forum AutoCAD General
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 29th May 2007, 10:59 am
  2. Change PDF scale?
    By Starkey in forum AutoCAD General
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 8th Mar 2007, 10:30 pm
  3. y change insertion scale
    By al_farooq in forum AutoCAD Beginners' Area
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 4th Mar 2007, 11:08 pm
  4. Change the default line scale
    By twistie in forum AutoCAD General
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 11th Jun 2006, 03:11 am
  5. How do I change the drawing scale?
    By Ste1978 in forum AutoCAD Drawing Management & Output
    Replies: 14
    Last Post: 17th May 2006, 10:08 pm

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts