Please help: multiple layers and line thicknesses for a dynamic block

bosshoss

I'm looking to create a dynamic block that has the capabilities to select multiple layers and thicknesses to it, I'm using AutoCAD 2008. I work as an electrical draftsperson working with designing and drafting substations, and can't seem to figure out how to do this. I deal with tons of different voltages and they all are represented with different thicknesses in our single line diagrams.

I think I understand the way the visibility parameters work, so I was able to create a dynamic block to accomplish the different thicknesses.

What I want to know is how to associate each visibility parameter with a specific layer. In the block editor there doesn't seem to be an option to assign a layer to each parameter. I have attached the block to this post. This block has only 2 thicknesses, but there will be more as soon as I can figure out the layer issue I'm having.

I hope someone can help me or guide me to a thread or post where this has been discussed.

Someone was telling me that AutoCAD 2010 works way better with dynamic blocks, but we won't be getting it for a while.

dynamic_CT_example.dwg

If I understand what you are asking, currently there is no way to attach a layer to a visibility parameter. I'll have a look at your exxample and see if I understand more.

I'm not too familiar with what you mean with "hard coding", our practice here is to not use layer 0, so yes, you're right about that. This is a basic start, but I wanted to see about the layer deal before going ahead.

Can you please explain what you mean about "hard coding"?

thanks for replying, I'm a little stumped here. I've been at this for a while.