+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 3 of 3
  1. #1
    Full Member KnoJa31's Avatar
    Discipline
    Electrical
    KnoJa31's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    Drafter/Administrator
    Discipline
    Electrical
    Using
    AutoCAD 2012
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    Everett,WA
    Posts
    64

    Default Dynamic Block-Interesting Senario

    So this is what is being asked of me. I have a stowage bin (a box with some information inbedded in it) with markers that provide locations. But here comes the fun stuff!!
    Those locations so far have been manually entered in. Is it possible to have a base entry that will dictate the rest of the numbers? (see attached file: STOWAGE BINS)
    For instance: would it be possible to have the first entry (7) dictate what the rest of the marker entries show. It needs to be in increments of 7. So what is shown in the example .dwg would be correct. But if i wanted to change the first entry (7) to show 1110 the rest of the entrys would need to increase by 7. (1117, 1124...)

    So far i have tried to insert separate tables and have fields within the tables that link to the previous table with a formula
    (table(xxxxxxxxxxxx).A1+7). It worked great...
    once. But after that it its a no go.

  2. #2
    Super Member MaxwellEdison's Avatar
    Computer Details
    MaxwellEdison's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    XP Pro (32-bit)
    Computer:
    Dell Precision PWS490
    CPU:
    Intel Xeon 5130
    RAM:
    4GB DDR2
    Graphics:
    nVidea Quadro FX 3500
    Monitor:
    Dell 20" LCD Widescreen (Main) NEC Accusync 125F 20" CRT (Secondary)
    Using
    Architecture 2009
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    Lebanon, PA
    Posts
    734

    Default

    At first blush I'd say you're probably looking for a block insertion LISP routine. I could be wrong though (its happened once or twice before).
    Just because you're , doesn't mean wrong is all that's .

  3. #3
    Full Member KnoJa31's Avatar
    Discipline
    Electrical
    KnoJa31's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    Drafter/Administrator
    Discipline
    Electrical
    Using
    AutoCAD 2012
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    Everett,WA
    Posts
    64

    Default

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    I was thinking that a LISP routine would work but dont know how to write that stuff!!!

    I think that i have found a work around for the time being. I just created a table that have formulas. The first cell will be the manual entry that we have to do. The rest of the fields Which i have locked) have a formula referring to the previous cell and adds 7 (=A1+7, =B2+7...) then created a block. When its on the Tool Palette, under the properties for that block i set it so that it will explode on insertion. It seems to work.

    I think that i will see if my company will send me to a school that can teach me LISP routines for future knowledge!!!

    Thank you for your input!!!

Similar Threads

  1. Dynamic block with dynamic attributes
    By Helenka in forum AutoCAD Drawing Management & Output
    Replies: 14
    Last Post: 28th Jul 2012, 09:56 am
  2. dynamic insert of a dynamic block.
    By Huibert in forum AutoLISP, Visual LISP & DCL
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 13th Jun 2010, 02:12 am
  3. Dynamic Block
    By rookie37 in forum AutoCAD General
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 28th Oct 2008, 10:28 am
  4. help with a dynamic block
    By chulse in forum AutoCAD Drawing Management & Output
    Replies: 25
    Last Post: 18th Jan 2008, 11:29 am
  5. help with dynamic block
    By PjotrVk in forum AutoCAD Drawing Management & Output
    Replies: 30
    Last Post: 6th Nov 2007, 10:43 am

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts