+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 4 1 2 3 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 31
  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Using
    AutoCAD 2009
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Posts
    10

    Default Autosnap priorities

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    I want "Perpendicular" to NEVER NEVER appear as the first Autosnap option in a command. But it seems to be the first thing that pops up as the default. Whose brilliant idea was that? I don't want to get rid of it completely, and I don't want to have to scroll through with Tab every time.

    Can I set Osnap priorities somehow?

    For the first point, Perpendicular is meaningless. Perpendicular from what? Your last point? That is often random, and so you end up with a whole mess of points that look OK when you create them, but are actually a little bit off. Too little to notice until you try dimensioning and you get fractions all over the place.

    Ever notice that things are 1/64" or 1/32" off? Wonder how they got there? It's the bloody perpendicular piece of crap initial snap. I'm chasing fractions around a drawing done by someone else right now. Pain in the bum, and the butt.

  2. #2
    Super Moderator Tiger's Avatar
    Computer Details
    Tiger's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Professional 64 bit
    Computer:
    HP EliteBook 8570w
    CPU:
    Intel Core i7-3720QM 2.60GHz
    RAM:
    16GB
    Graphics:
    NVIDIA Quadro K2000M
    Monitor:
    HP
    Discipline
    Civil
    Tiger's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    Education /support
    Discipline
    Civil
    Details
    Support/Education/Retail
    Using
    Civil 3D 2015
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Stockholm, Sweden
    Posts
    5,049

    Default

    From someone who uses the Perpendicular snap almost daily I don't see how you can accuse that of being the culprit of everything - I'd lay the blame on shoddy autocad operators.

    Why not just turn it off? I work with pretty much all OSnaps turned off, and invoke the one I need with a three-letter combination (PER=perpendicular). If it's that painful for you to keep it on, it sounds like the best option. At least I have never come across a way to change the priorities of OSnap.
    whether is when you are asking yourself, should I stay or should I go
    weather is when it's cold as all that outside
    wether is a goat soprano
    #SpellingMatters

  3. #3
    Full Member darn-net's Avatar
    Computer Details
    darn-net's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    XP
    Computer:
    Dell Vostro 400
    Using
    AutoCAD 2008
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    Midwest,USA
    Posts
    47

    Default

    I would love to know how to change the order of OSNAPS, if there is a way.

    If you weren't aware. You can leave all OSNAPS on except PERpendicular and invoke PER at command line or shift right click when needed.

    There are several ways to set this. The easiest way to set the OSNAPS you want on is to right click the OSNAP button on the lower status bar of AutoCAD and click Settings. There you will be able to check/uncheck the ones you want.


    "Most of what I know came from the "F1" key"

  4. #4
    Full Member Jaelin's Avatar
    Computer Details
    Jaelin's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows XP (Service Pack 2)
    Computer:
    HP Workstation xw6200 (piece of junk :) )
    CPU:
    Intel Xeon CPU 3.40ghz
    RAM:
    4GB
    Graphics:
    NVIDIA Quadro NVS 280 PCI 64MB
    Primary Storage:
    300GB
    Monitor:
    HP p930 & HP 1955
    Using
    Civil 3D 2009
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    Bartow, Florida
    Posts
    86

    Default

    One other option for you if you don't want to use the 3 letter commands for the OSNAPS (like I used to) and if you don't want to select them from the toolbars. You can always assign them to your F1-F12 keys. I did that last week and am very happy I did. It makes it simpler for me. Here is the link to a thread on how to do it: http://www.cadtutor.net/forum/showthread.php?t=8733
    "If you don't like change, you're going to like irrelevance even less." ~General Eric Shinseki, Chief of Staff, U.S. Army~

  5. #5
    Super Member
    Computer Details
    wannabe's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    XP
    Using
    AutoCAD 2007
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    Birmingham, UK
    Posts
    772

    Default

    Shift and right mouse click is the quickest way for snaps, easily.

  6. #6
    Forum Deity
    Using
    AutoCAD 2002
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Location
    East Sussex, U.K.
    Posts
    3,538

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by wannabe View Post
    Shift and right mouse click is the quickest way for snaps, easily.
    The only trouble with that method is that you have to move the mouse pointer away from your scene of action. It is actually quicker to press one of the F-keys whilst the cursor stays still.

  7. #7
    Full Member Jaelin's Avatar
    Computer Details
    Jaelin's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows XP (Service Pack 2)
    Computer:
    HP Workstation xw6200 (piece of junk :) )
    CPU:
    Intel Xeon CPU 3.40ghz
    RAM:
    4GB
    Graphics:
    NVIDIA Quadro NVS 280 PCI 64MB
    Primary Storage:
    300GB
    Monitor:
    HP p930 & HP 1955
    Using
    Civil 3D 2009
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    Bartow, Florida
    Posts
    86

    Default

    I would agree. I used to do the shift+right click method and the F keys are quicker/easier in my opinion.
    "If you don't like change, you're going to like irrelevance even less." ~General Eric Shinseki, Chief of Staff, U.S. Army~

  8. #8
    Super Moderator Cad64's Avatar
    Computer Details
    Cad64's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Profesional x64
    Computer:
    XI Computers
    Motherboard:
    Asus P8Z77-V Pro
    CPU:
    Intel Core I7 3770K 4.1 Ghz Quad Core 3rd Gen
    RAM:
    24GB DDR3 @ 1333MHz
    Graphics:
    Nvidia GeForce GTX 570 1280MB GDDR5
    Primary Storage:
    SATAII 500GB 7200 RPM
    Secondary Storage:
    Western Digital My Book Studio Edition II - 2TB capacity
    Monitor:
    HPf2105 21" LCD Widescreen & Cintiq 21ux
    Discipline
    Multi-disciplinary
    Cad64's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    3D Artist
    Discipline
    Multi-disciplinary
    Using
    3ds Max 2011
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    Southern California
    Posts
    9,030

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Tiger View Post
    I don't see how you can accuse that of being the culprit of everything - I'd lay the blame on shoddy autocad operators.
    I agree. Don't blame the Osnaps. They are just doing their job. Bad drawings are a result of poor CAD drafting skills or lazy operators.

    The only Osnaps I keep running, full time, are Endpoint, Midpoint, Intersection and Center. If I need any of the others, I just Shift+Right Click.
    Personal Website: ( Updated 03/21/2014 ) ---> http://www.rdeweese.com/

    "Work Smart, Not Hard"

  9. #9
    Super Member
    Computer Details
    wannabe's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    XP
    Using
    AutoCAD 2007
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    Birmingham, UK
    Posts
    772

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by eldon View Post
    The only trouble with that method is that you have to move the mouse pointer away from your scene of action. It is actually quicker to press one of the F-keys whilst the cursor stays still.
    I never have to move my cursor and can't see why anyone should. Perhaps you could explain?

  10. #10
    Luminous Being dbroada's Avatar
    Computer Details
    dbroada's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Professional
    Computer:
    Dell
    CPU:
    Intel Xeon E5-1603@2,80GHz
    RAM:
    4GB
    Graphics:
    NVIDA Quadro K600
    Monitor:
    DELL 23" & SAMSUNG 21"
    Discipline
    Electro/Mech
    dbroada's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    Design Engineer
    Discipline
    Electro/Mech
    Using
    Electrical 2013
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Sussex, UK
    Posts
    5,516

    Default

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    Quote Originally Posted by Cad64 View Post
    I agree. Don't blame the Osnaps. They are just doing their job. Bad drawings are a result of poor CAD drafting skills or lazy operators.

    The only Osnaps I keep running, full time, are Endpoint, Midpoint, Intersection and Center. If I need any of the others, I just Shift+Right Click.
    that's 2 more than me - I don't have mid or end point running normally. I don't like having endpoint AND intersection as we have so many bad drawings that almost have intersections but don't. I prefer to extend the line to create a real intersection than snap to what looks like one but isn't.

    I never have to move my cursor and can't see why anyone should. Perhaps you could explain?
    I think he means that if you hover near the point and shift right click the dialogue box pops UP so you have to move your cursor up the list then back to the point.

    I shift right click too.
    "That's it. It's one thing for a ghost to terrorize my children, but quite another for him to play my Theremin." Homer Simpson
    "Everything in drafting is logical. Except what isn’t." - Gavin Guile. (from the Lightbringer series of books by Brent Weeks)

    Dave

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts