+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 4 of 4
  1. #1
    Senior Member
    Computer Details
    JamFam's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows XP Pro 32 bit
    Using
    Architecture 2011
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    British Columbia, Canada
    Posts
    133

    Embarrassed Moving image to layout template

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    So I have approx. 30 drawings all done to full scale (in metric) but not all were done the same way. I am learning how to set up a drawing but I haven't quite got the hang of that. Anyways I found an architectural template within my autocad 2000, made some adjustments to it and saved it as a dwt. What I want to do is print out my images with the newly created dwt template as the framework for all printed drawings. How do I do that???

    Thanks

    JamFam

  2. #2
    Quantum Mechanic ReMark's Avatar
    Computer Details
    ReMark's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Pro 64-bit
    Computer:
    Thinkmate
    Motherboard:
    Intel DX58SO2 LGA1366 X58
    CPU:
    Intel i7-960 Quad-core 3.20GHz 8MB cache
    RAM:
    12GB (3x4GB) PC3-106000 DDR3
    Graphics:
    nVidia Quadro 4000, 2GB GDDR5
    Primary Storage:
    150GB Velocipraptor 10,000 rpm
    Secondary Storage:
    none
    Monitor:
    Dell P24LLH - 24" wide screen LCD
    Discipline
    See details...
    ReMark's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    CAD Draftsman/Designer...chemical manufacturing.
    Discipline
    See details below.
    Details
    I work for a specialty chemical manufacturer. I do a little bit of everything from P&IDs to civil to architectural and structural.
    Using
    AutoCAD 2015
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Norwalk, CT USofA
    Posts
    40,203

    Default

    Open the architectural template. You should be in a Layout. Switch to model space. Insert one of your drawings. Switch back to your layout and create a viewport. You should see your drawing now. Right?

    Normally you would start your new drawing by opening one of your templates.
    "I have only come here seeking knowledge. Things they wouldn't teach me of in college." The Police

    Eat brains...gain more knowledge!

    I'm now a full member of the Society for the Promotion of Mediocrity in CAD. Standards? We don't need no stinkin' standards! Take whatever advice I offer and do the opposite.

  3. #3
    Senior Member
    Computer Details
    JamFam's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows XP Pro 32 bit
    Using
    Architecture 2011
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    British Columbia, Canada
    Posts
    133

    Wink

    So here is what i ended up doing before getting to read your post. I opened the architectural title block which I adapted to my project, sorry for misleading you and calling it an architectural template. Anyways I opened it which was in/on it's own tab next to model, layout1 and layout2, then I highlighted the "template" and pasted it to a blank model space area, there I could make the necessary changes to the description area of the "Template". I opened up a drawing, clicked on layout1 and the drawing was there waiting to be printed, then I highlighted the "Template" and copied with a base point. I went to my drawing in layout1 and pasted the "Template" as a block and moved the "Template" to the precise area of the Layout1 image and over lay the "Template", then printed. I did this for all 30 odd images. I then could create a PDF from what was seen within the layout1 showing the drawing with the "Template", the end result is a drawing with the desired title block "Template". I'm sure there must be a much faster and much easier way, but this is what worked for me. I would appreciate a tutorial on how to use a title block correctly as I'm sure I will be doing more of these kinds of drawings.

    Thanks ReMark

    JamFam

  4. #4
    Quantum Mechanic ReMark's Avatar
    Computer Details
    ReMark's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Pro 64-bit
    Computer:
    Thinkmate
    Motherboard:
    Intel DX58SO2 LGA1366 X58
    CPU:
    Intel i7-960 Quad-core 3.20GHz 8MB cache
    RAM:
    12GB (3x4GB) PC3-106000 DDR3
    Graphics:
    nVidia Quadro 4000, 2GB GDDR5
    Primary Storage:
    150GB Velocipraptor 10,000 rpm
    Secondary Storage:
    none
    Monitor:
    Dell P24LLH - 24" wide screen LCD
    Discipline
    See details...
    ReMark's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    CAD Draftsman/Designer...chemical manufacturing.
    Discipline
    See details below.
    Details
    I work for a specialty chemical manufacturer. I do a little bit of everything from P&IDs to civil to architectural and structural.
    Using
    AutoCAD 2015
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Norwalk, CT USofA
    Posts
    40,203

    Default

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    You went through all that for 30 drawings? It must have been a slow day.
    "I have only come here seeking knowledge. Things they wouldn't teach me of in college." The Police

    Eat brains...gain more knowledge!

    I'm now a full member of the Society for the Promotion of Mediocrity in CAD. Standards? We don't need no stinkin' standards! Take whatever advice I offer and do the opposite.

Similar Threads

  1. Moving Layout Tabs
    By Simple153 in forum AutoCAD Drawing Management & Output
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 8th Sep 2009, 11:25 pm
  2. Centering my template in Layout space
    By XBR1 in forum AutoCAD Drawing Management & Output
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 30th Jul 2007, 05:12 pm
  3. Image in Layout
    By cad_monkey in forum AutoCAD Drawing Management & Output
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 11th Aug 2006, 04:58 pm
  4. Drawing Template vs. Settings Template?
    By umop-3p!sdn in forum AutoCAD Beginners' Area
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 20th May 2006, 01:09 am
  5. Template / Image
    By jaykappy in forum AutoCAD Beginners' Area
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 25th Jan 2006, 10:45 pm

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts