+ Reply to Thread
Page 3 of 7 FirstFirst 1 2 3 4 5 ... LastLast
Results 21 to 30 of 68
  1. #21
    Super Member skipsophrenic's Avatar
    Computer Details
    skipsophrenic's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Vista 32 bit
    Computer:
    Compaq
    Motherboard:
    erm . . yeah?
    CPU:
    Intel Pentium Dual CPU E2140 @ 1.60 Ghz
    RAM:
    2039MB
    Graphics:
    don't ask you'll kill me
    Primary Storage:
    360gb
    Monitor:
    21" widescren - 16:10 ratio
    Using
    AutoCAD 2008
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    Birmingham, United Kingdom
    Posts
    1,020

    Default

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    Matt,

    Try a qick redraw of one line with units set to unitless,

    What happens?
    Only two things are infinite, the universe and human stupidity, and I'm not sure about the former. - Albert Einstein

    SET FILEDIA = 1

  2. #22
    Luminous Being dbroada's Avatar
    Computer Details
    dbroada's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Professional
    Computer:
    Dell
    CPU:
    Intel Xeon E5-1603@2,80GHz
    RAM:
    4GB
    Graphics:
    NVIDA Quadro K600
    Monitor:
    DELL 23" & SAMSUNG 21"
    Using
    not applicable
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Kenley, Surrey, UK
    Posts
    5,644

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by matt4 View Post
    I drew it using relative coordinates. However the first component wasn't drawn using that method.
    Can you explain a bit more clearly how the parts were drawn. I don't understand how you got a part to be too big "using relative coordinates".

    Quote Originally Posted by matt4 View Post
    If I scale it down to .5 is it still scaled to A4?
    Here might be the problem. The paper size is irrelevant when talking about size.
    "That's it. It's one thing for a ghost to terrorize my children, but quite another for him to play my Theremin." Homer Simpson
    "Everything in drafting is logical. Except what isn’t." - Gavin Guile. (from the Lightbringer series of books by Brent Weeks)

    Dave

  3. #23
    Full Member matt4's Avatar
    Computer Details
    matt4's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows Vista
    Computer:
    Samsung R20 Laptop
    CPU:
    Intel Core 2 Duo
    RAM:
    2Gb
    Primary Storage:
    120Gb
    Using
    AutoCAD 2008
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    London now Oxford!
    Posts
    88

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by skipsophrenic View Post
    Matt,

    Try a qick redraw of one line with units set to unitless,

    What happens?
    Same thing

    Quote Originally Posted by dbroada View Post
    Can you explain a bit more clearly how the parts were drawn. I don't understand how you got a part to be too big "using relative coordinates".

    Here might be the problem. The paper size is irrelevant when talking about size.
    I used relative coordinates for the component and the whole template was set to a scale of 0.707 for A4 size. I need to have a A4 template as my tutor said. I'm pretty confused on how much more clearly you want me to explain because thats all I used. Just relative coordinates.

    Thanks for your help

  4. #24
    Super Member skipsophrenic's Avatar
    Computer Details
    skipsophrenic's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Vista 32 bit
    Computer:
    Compaq
    Motherboard:
    erm . . yeah?
    CPU:
    Intel Pentium Dual CPU E2140 @ 1.60 Ghz
    RAM:
    2039MB
    Graphics:
    don't ask you'll kill me
    Primary Storage:
    360gb
    Monitor:
    21" widescren - 16:10 ratio
    Using
    AutoCAD 2008
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    Birmingham, United Kingdom
    Posts
    1,020

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by matt4 View Post
    I used relative coordinates for the component and the whole template was set to a scale of 0.707 for A4 size. I need to have a A4 template as my tutor said.
    Are you drawing the component in paperspace/layout or in model space?
    Only two things are infinite, the universe and human stupidity, and I'm not sure about the former. - Albert Einstein

    SET FILEDIA = 1

  5. #25
    Super Member
    Using
    not specified
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    YUL
    Posts
    587

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by matt4 View Post
    Same thing



    I used relative coordinates for the component and the whole template was set to a scale of 0.707 for A4 size. I need to have a A4 template as my tutor said. I'm pretty confused on how much more clearly you want me to explain because thats all I used. Just relative coordinates.

    Thanks for your help
    Could you upload the drawing here?

  6. #26
    Full Member matt4's Avatar
    Computer Details
    matt4's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows Vista
    Computer:
    Samsung R20 Laptop
    CPU:
    Intel Core 2 Duo
    RAM:
    2Gb
    Primary Storage:
    120Gb
    Using
    AutoCAD 2008
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    London now Oxford!
    Posts
    88

    Default

    Model Space

    Sure... drawing is attached. Please note if you fix the problem on the drawing I can't use it. As its cheating. I am only allowed to ask for help on this assignment not have another person do it for me.

    Thanks
    Attached Files

  7. #27
    Super Member
    Using
    not specified
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    YUL
    Posts
    587

    Default

    Is this what you wanted to draw?
    Attached Images

  8. #28
    Super Moderator Strix's Avatar
    Using
    not applicable
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Sheffield UK
    Posts
    3,081

    Default

    bother - can't see the drawing here (keep meaning to download a viewer)

    do you know which is model space and which is paperspace?

    are you drawing in model or paper?

    is your A4 drawing template in modelspace or paperspace?

    please tell me you DON'T have one of those loony tutors who wants AutoCAD to be a pen and ink drawing board!

    ... and are you using viewports


    bung UCS in the help menu (or the command line) and see what it spits out at you
    Find your new best friend at Rain Rescue

    If you are a good drafter, tech will help. If you are a bad drafter, nothing will help. - Jack_O'neill at CADTutor

  9. #29
    Full Member matt4's Avatar
    Computer Details
    matt4's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows Vista
    Computer:
    Samsung R20 Laptop
    CPU:
    Intel Core 2 Duo
    RAM:
    2Gb
    Primary Storage:
    120Gb
    Using
    AutoCAD 2008
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    London now Oxford!
    Posts
    88

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Strix View Post
    bother - can't see the drawing here (keep meaning to download a viewer)

    do you know which is model space and which is paperspace?

    are you drawing in model or paper?

    is your A4 drawing template in modelspace or paperspace?

    please tell me you DON'T have one of those loony tutors who wants AutoCAD to be a pen and ink drawing board!

    ... and are you using viewports


    bung UCS in the help menu (or the command line) and see what it spits out at you
    I am using Modelspace. I know the difference between those two

    A4 drawing is done in modelspace. At college I was always taught to do it in paperspace but here I am told to use modelspace.

    lol, on the loony tutors!

    Not using viewports.

    I will check UCS in the morning as I am away from the machine that has cad installed here

    Thanks!

  10. #30
    Super Member
    Using
    not specified
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    YUL
    Posts
    587

    Default

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    There is no problem to fix in the drawing. I drew 45.5 units long line in your drawing, then I measured it and it was really 45.5 units. If you wanted to draw the part 45.5 units long, how did you manage to make it 91 units long?

Similar Threads

  1. Lat & Long
    By User in forum AutoCAD Beginners' Area
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 12th May 2010, 05:09 am
  2. M2P is too long..
    By chrisdarmanin in forum AutoCAD Drawing Management & Output
    Replies: 16
    Last Post: 27th Nov 2007, 06:01 pm
  3. AutoCAD Knowledge Base Article: Drawing takes long time to finish loading
    By Between the Lines in forum AutoCAD RSS Feeds
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 3rd Nov 2006, 05:51 am
  4. Drawing long sections
    By Wakeylad in forum AutoCAD Drawing Management & Output
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 19th Feb 2006, 04:33 pm
  5. How Do I Avoid Long Lengths of Sketch Drawing
    By Frodraff in forum AutoCAD Beginners' Area
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 27th Nov 2004, 05:37 am

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts