+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 27
  1. #1
    Forum Newbie
    Using
    AutoCAD 2008
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Posts
    3

    Default Penn Foster Drafting with Autocad

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    I am taking the penn foster online class for drafting with autocad, i am now doing a project with blocks and layers it is a plat map. if any one has any experience with this class i could really use alot of help this project has totally confused me.

  2. #2
    Quantum Mechanic ReMark's Avatar
    Computer Details
    ReMark's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Pro 64-bit
    Computer:
    Thinkmate
    Motherboard:
    Intel DX58SO2 LGA1366 X58
    CPU:
    Intel i7-960 Quad-core 3.20GHz 8MB cache
    RAM:
    12GB (3x4GB) PC3-106000 DDR3
    Graphics:
    nVidia Quadro K4200, 4GB GDDR5
    Primary Storage:
    150GB Velocipraptor 10,000 rpm
    Secondary Storage:
    none
    Monitor:
    Dell P24LLH - 24" wide screen LCD
    Discipline
    See details...
    ReMark's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    CAD Draftsman/Designer...chemical manufacturing.
    Discipline
    See details below.
    Details
    I work for a specialty chemical manufacturer. I do a little bit of everything from P&IDs to civil to architectural and structural.
    Using
    AutoCAD 2018
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Norwalk, CT USofA
    Posts
    46,506

    Default

    What is it that you are confused about? Blocks and layers are standard AutoCAD features so it doesn't matter if you are drawing a plat map, an ocean liner or a CNC machine. Ask a question (or two) and we'll do our best to assist you. There are many knowledgeable forum members willing to help.
    "I have only come here seeking knowledge. Things they wouldn't teach me of in college." The Police

    Eat brains...gain more knowledge!

    I'm now a full member of the Society for the Promotion of Mediocrity in CAD. Standards? We don't need no stinkin' standards! Take whatever advice I offer and do the opposite.

  3. #3
    Forum Newbie
    Using
    AutoCAD 2008
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Posts
    3

    Default

    its not the blocks and layers im confused about i completely understand the concept of them and now to do them. but i guess what is confusing me is they give me a bench mark of 1421334.93, 783207.62 then they will say the next point is 113.66 at a bearing of N5d27'23"W i have been entering bench mark and for the next point i have entered 113.66<n5d27'23"w but after entering a few points like that i only get a straight line... im just not sure what im doing wrong

  4. #4
    Forum Deity
    Using
    Civil 3D 2008
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Location
    Pittsburgh, PA, USA
    Posts
    3,581

    Default

    Are you entering like this?
    Command: line
    Specify first point: 1421334.93,783207.62

    Specify next point or [Undo]: @113.66<n5d27'23"w
    You may want to look here
    http://www.cadtutor.net/tutorials/au...urvey-data.php

  5. #5
    Senior Member
    Computer Details
    BIGMIKE09281946's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    XP
    Computer:
    DELL Inspiron 518 & DELL Dimension 8400
    RAM:
    Both PCs have 2MB
    Primary Storage:
    the DELL has 360MB
    Monitor:
    I have three flatscreen monitors
    Using
    AutoCAD 2010
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    I am in Southeastern Pennsylvania just west of Philadelphia
    Posts
    220

    Default

    I am taking the Penn Foster Drafting & AutoCAD course, and at HACAD chapter 11 12 13 or 14. Its is because the course is so lousy, that I have to go back and forth every now and then. I have located a web site that has some nice drawings you can DL. They are in pdf format, and can be printed to scale for a couple of bucks at any Office Depot. I have two puters and on one I have Acrobat Proffesional 7.0. which contains a measuring tool. I use the tool to measure the pdfs, and work the ACAD. There are a dozen ways to get your skill set up. I can even give you some of my dwg files. Get back to me ASAP, and we can hook-up.
    I've got nothing to say!

  6. #6
    Junior Member
    Using
    AutoCAD 2010
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Posts
    12

    Default

    Mike, are you still available to help? Your last post is quite old but I am really having a difficult time. I have tried to PM you but can get it to work. Any help would be appreciated.

    Thanks,
    Rob
    Last edited by robxfinch; 7th Feb 2010 at 07:57 pm.

  7. #7
    Senior Member
    Computer Details
    BIGMIKE09281946's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    XP
    Computer:
    DELL Inspiron 518 & DELL Dimension 8400
    RAM:
    Both PCs have 2MB
    Primary Storage:
    the DELL has 360MB
    Monitor:
    I have three flatscreen monitors
    Using
    AutoCAD 2010
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    I am in Southeastern Pennsylvania just west of Philadelphia
    Posts
    220

    Default

    Rob, Got my diploma Wednesday. What can I do yah for?
    I've got nothing to say!

  8. #8
    Super Moderator Cad64's Avatar
    Computer Details
    Cad64's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Profesional x64
    Computer:
    XI Computers
    Motherboard:
    Asus P8Z77-V Pro
    CPU:
    Intel Core I7 3770K 4.1 Ghz Quad Core 3rd Gen
    RAM:
    24GB DDR3 @ 1333MHz
    Graphics:
    Nvidia GeForce GTX 570 1280MB GDDR5
    Primary Storage:
    SATAII 500GB 7200 RPM
    Secondary Storage:
    Western Digital My Book Studio Edition II - 2TB capacity
    Monitor:
    HPf2105 21" LCD Widescreen & Cintiq 21ux
    Discipline
    Multi-disciplinary
    Cad64's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    Freelance Digital Artist
    Discipline
    Multi-disciplinary
    Details
    3D model building, texturing and rendering. Photoshop Color Graphics.
    Using
    AutoCAD 2014
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    Southern California
    Posts
    10,176

    Default

    Mike, take a look at Rob's thread here: http://www.cadtutor.net/forum/showthread.php?t=44569
    CGSociety Portfolio: http://rdeweese.cgsociety.org/
    Facebook:
    https://www.facebook.com/rdeweese67/


    "Work Smart, Not Hard"

  9. #9
    Junior Member
    Using
    AutoCAD 2010
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Posts
    12

    Default

    I am really confused as to what exactly I am supposed to draw. Do you have an email address I can email you at because I cant PM anybody.

  10. #10
    Full Member
    Using
    AutoCAD 2010
    Join Date
    Nov 2012
    Posts
    33

    Default

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    Mike are you availble to answer some questions and help out with this penn foster end of the section projects?

Similar Threads

  1. Penn Foster Career School
    By acbunker in forum Student Project Questions
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 4th Nov 2014, 12:00 pm
  2. A bit of pre-AutoCAD drafting history
    By brassworks in forum AutoCAD Museum
    Replies: 131
    Last Post: 23rd Jul 2013, 11:36 am
  3. Architectural drafting in Autocad: Student Research
    By mac13 in forum AutoCAD Drawing Management & Output
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 2nd Apr 2008, 04:31 pm
  4. Cad Drafting
    By jony69 in forum AutoCAD General
    Replies: 15
    Last Post: 2nd Oct 2007, 06:24 am
  5. AutoCAD 2008 - Drafting Tool Tip mystery
    By Little Bandit in forum AutoCAD Drawing Management & Output
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 5th Sep 2007, 10:11 pm

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts