+ Reply to Thread
Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 1 2
Results 11 to 19 of 19
  1. #11
    Super Moderator Cad64's Avatar
    Computer Details
    Cad64's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Profesional x64
    Computer:
    XI Computers
    Motherboard:
    Asus P8Z77-V Pro
    CPU:
    Intel Core I7 3770K 4.1 Ghz Quad Core 3rd Gen
    RAM:
    24GB DDR3 @ 1333MHz
    Graphics:
    Nvidia GeForce GTX 570 1280MB GDDR5
    Primary Storage:
    SATAII 500GB 7200 RPM
    Secondary Storage:
    Western Digital My Book Studio Edition II - 2TB capacity
    Monitor:
    HPf2105 21" LCD Widescreen & Cintiq 21ux
    Discipline
    Multi-disciplinary
    Cad64's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    Landscape Architect
    Discipline
    Multi-disciplinary
    Using
    3ds Max 2011
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    Southern California
    Posts
    9,073

    Default

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    Well, I'll ask you the same thing I asked the other guy. Can you post your file so I can take a look at it? He never posted his so I was never able to find out what was wrong.

    Also, what version of Max are you using?
    Personal Website: ( Updated 03/21/2014 ) ---> http://www.rdeweese.com/

    "Work Smart, Not Hard"

  2. #12
    Forum Newbie
    Using
    AutoCAD 2009
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Posts
    4

    Default

    Hi again, it took me a while to get back to you, sorry. But here is the file finally and a test print using the hidden line contours renderer. Actually I prefer this way to get the white model but as you can see from the test print not all contours of the objects will show, melting them together very often, which just looks wrong specially for the landscape. I don't know if it is possible to avoid that somehow so I get a similar result as in the reference picture I attach along.
    Again, working with the ink 'n paint will just give me a blank sheet... Any suggestions there?
    I work with 3d max 2009 by the way and the drawing was imported from autocad.
    Attached Files

  3. #13
    Super Moderator Cad64's Avatar
    Computer Details
    Cad64's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Profesional x64
    Computer:
    XI Computers
    Motherboard:
    Asus P8Z77-V Pro
    CPU:
    Intel Core I7 3770K 4.1 Ghz Quad Core 3rd Gen
    RAM:
    24GB DDR3 @ 1333MHz
    Graphics:
    Nvidia GeForce GTX 570 1280MB GDDR5
    Primary Storage:
    SATAII 500GB 7200 RPM
    Secondary Storage:
    Western Digital My Book Studio Edition II - 2TB capacity
    Monitor:
    HPf2105 21" LCD Widescreen & Cintiq 21ux
    Discipline
    Multi-disciplinary
    Cad64's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    Landscape Architect
    Discipline
    Multi-disciplinary
    Using
    3ds Max 2011
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    Southern California
    Posts
    9,073

    Default

    Well, I don't really know why you're getting a blank screen? It renders fine for me on Max 2011.

    In order to get all the contours of the objects to show, you need to increase your sampling quality.

    In your "Render Settings" dialog, "Renderer" tab, under "Sampling Quality" set "Samples per Pixel" to Minimum 4 Maximum 16 and for "Filter" choose "Mitchell". Or, if you really want to dial it in, set Minimum to 16 and Maximum to 64.
    Personal Website: ( Updated 03/21/2014 ) ---> http://www.rdeweese.com/

    "Work Smart, Not Hard"

  4. #14
    Forum Newbie
    Using
    AutoCAD 2009
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Posts
    4

    Default

    Thanks for the hints. I figure I must have my 2009 version configured differently or something, because all I get is the blank page. Well I guess, I might have to check on this on a new thread.
    Anyway I changed the render settings. But while the contours are much precise and sharp now (thanks for that), some of them still won't show at all, so the volumes keep melting together (see attached image). Something tells me it has something to do with the shading since the melting happens there when the ground and the volumes or volumes sides next to each other have the same colour. I tried to assign materials with different colours and so on but it won't have any effect on the rendered image obviously and even unchecking shadows everywhere in the settings won't get me any further. Other suggestions there?
    Attached Images

  5. #15
    Super Moderator Cad64's Avatar
    Computer Details
    Cad64's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Profesional x64
    Computer:
    XI Computers
    Motherboard:
    Asus P8Z77-V Pro
    CPU:
    Intel Core I7 3770K 4.1 Ghz Quad Core 3rd Gen
    RAM:
    24GB DDR3 @ 1333MHz
    Graphics:
    Nvidia GeForce GTX 570 1280MB GDDR5
    Primary Storage:
    SATAII 500GB 7200 RPM
    Secondary Storage:
    Western Digital My Book Studio Edition II - 2TB capacity
    Monitor:
    HPf2105 21" LCD Widescreen & Cintiq 21ux
    Discipline
    Multi-disciplinary
    Cad64's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    Landscape Architect
    Discipline
    Multi-disciplinary
    Using
    3ds Max 2011
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    Southern California
    Posts
    9,073

    Default

    I haven't got time to read through everything in this pdf, but take a look. I think it addresses the problem you're having: http://au.autodesk.com/?autodownload...72/DV214-1.pdf
    Personal Website: ( Updated 03/21/2014 ) ---> http://www.rdeweese.com/

    "Work Smart, Not Hard"

  6. #16
    Forum Newbie
    Using
    AutoCAD 2009
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Posts
    4

    Default

    YES! YES! YES! It worked! Thank you sooo much! I followed that one tiny step from your pdf and the contours showed. So I just had to go to camera effects under the renderer tab in the render settings and adjust the settings for the contour contrast shader. I assigned the shader to a sample slot on the material editor and changed the value of the z-step threshold from 1000 (!) to 5 and I finally got it. YES!

    I also figured why I got the blank page for the ink'n paint override. From the approaches you suggested to get the black and white image I had tried the one using the hidden line contours renderer first. So when I moved on to the ink'n paint override I forgot to change the renderer back to the normal mental ray....

    Well there is the prove, we are all just one small adjustment away from making things work!

    Thanks again for your help!

  7. #17
    Super Moderator Cad64's Avatar
    Computer Details
    Cad64's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Profesional x64
    Computer:
    XI Computers
    Motherboard:
    Asus P8Z77-V Pro
    CPU:
    Intel Core I7 3770K 4.1 Ghz Quad Core 3rd Gen
    RAM:
    24GB DDR3 @ 1333MHz
    Graphics:
    Nvidia GeForce GTX 570 1280MB GDDR5
    Primary Storage:
    SATAII 500GB 7200 RPM
    Secondary Storage:
    Western Digital My Book Studio Edition II - 2TB capacity
    Monitor:
    HPf2105 21" LCD Widescreen & Cintiq 21ux
    Discipline
    Multi-disciplinary
    Cad64's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    Landscape Architect
    Discipline
    Multi-disciplinary
    Using
    3ds Max 2011
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    Southern California
    Posts
    9,073

    Default

    Excellent. I'm glad to see we finally got this issue sorted out once and for all.
    Personal Website: ( Updated 03/21/2014 ) ---> http://www.rdeweese.com/

    "Work Smart, Not Hard"

  8. #18
    Forum Newbie
    Using
    3ds Max 2011
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Posts
    1

    Default Easy Black & White Image

    Kinda late here, but a really easy way to get a black and white image in the 3ds max renderer is:

    1. Hit f9 to render
    2. Press the monochrome button (to the right of the RGB channel selector)
    2. Press the copy image button (next to the save image button)
    3. Open up Microsoft Paint (or whatever image editing program you have at your disposal)
    4. Press ctrl. + v to paste in your black and white image.

    Bam, black and white image.

  9. #19
    Super Moderator Cad64's Avatar
    Computer Details
    Cad64's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Profesional x64
    Computer:
    XI Computers
    Motherboard:
    Asus P8Z77-V Pro
    CPU:
    Intel Core I7 3770K 4.1 Ghz Quad Core 3rd Gen
    RAM:
    24GB DDR3 @ 1333MHz
    Graphics:
    Nvidia GeForce GTX 570 1280MB GDDR5
    Primary Storage:
    SATAII 500GB 7200 RPM
    Secondary Storage:
    Western Digital My Book Studio Edition II - 2TB capacity
    Monitor:
    HPf2105 21" LCD Widescreen & Cintiq 21ux
    Discipline
    Multi-disciplinary
    Cad64's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    Landscape Architect
    Discipline
    Multi-disciplinary
    Using
    3ds Max 2011
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    Southern California
    Posts
    9,073

    Default

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    Well, that's not really what the OP was trying to do. I know the title of this thread says "black and white image" but he wasn't really trying to get a black and white render. He was trying to get a contour line render.
    Attached Images
    Personal Website: ( Updated 03/21/2014 ) ---> http://www.rdeweese.com/

    "Work Smart, Not Hard"

Similar Threads

  1. Black-white reversed?
    By AutoNewbie in forum AutoCAD General
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 19th Nov 2008, 10:06 pm
  2. Black & White PDF
    By islandeast in forum AutoCAD Drawing Management & Output
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: 3rd Nov 2008, 07:30 pm
  3. how do I print in black & white?
    By gib65 in forum AutoCAD Beginners' Area
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: 28th Jul 2008, 01:23 pm
  4. Printing white on black
    By bsanderson in forum AutoCAD Drawing Management & Output
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 18th Dec 2007, 10:56 pm
  5. Printing white on black
    By NealV in forum AutoCAD General
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 23rd Feb 2007, 09:12 pm

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts