Extrude Problem

Memnon

Hey guys,

I'm rather new to inventor and I've been fiddling around with Inventor 2008 (Student version from Autodesk)

I got used to some of the easy problems in the book I have for the school I'm going to. Seemed pretty easy, just draw some simple stuff, extrude and bickity-bap, done!

However I came across this problem yesterday when i decided to try some extra problems. The center keyhole is hollow. The center circular area is supposed to be 4mm thick. The outer ring area is supposed to be 6mm thick. All the holes in the outer ring area are through. The undulating surface of the outer ring was created by using circles and center line arcs arrayed in circular patterns.

My problem is when I go to extrude, I can't seem to select anything other than the keyhole area or any of the holes in the outer ring, the very things that are supposed to be hollow. I suspect it may be a constraint problem (these are still a bit confusing to me and I did read Mathers PDF file). When I try to use "close loop" I get messages saying something to the effect of the object being over constrained.

What am I doing wrong?

P2-16p60.zip

I got used to some of the easy problems in the book I have for the school I'm going to. Seemed pretty easy, just draw some simple stuff, extrude and bickity-bap, done!

But I'll bet all wrong judging from your attached file.

(these are still a bit confusing to me and I did read Mathers PDF file). What am I doing wrong?

Go back and read again. The center of your part isn't even at the origin.

I would recommend patterning features rather than sketches. What book are you using (I've seen this same problem come up serveral times)?

Do an experiment: Edit the sketch and Right Mouse Button select Show all Constraints. This is a disaster. And your sketch isn't constrained.

What book are you using (I've seen this same problem come up several times)?
Engineering Design & Graphics with Autodesk Inventor 2008 *custom edition*